Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Watch it!
I just wanted to add a comment because I think this film deserves so much more attention!I liked this film. It is very quiet and slow but there is this tension from between the woman and her husbands friend (and her former boyfriend), and the emotions expressed more through the acting and not so much through words. You can't help but feel for all the characters.
Published on 28 Nov. 2005 by banana_milkshake

versus
1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars lovely, but ...
Lovely, particulary the scenes and use of lighting, but the story goes a little bit dull and adds very little to the old story of love and search for happiness.
Published on 5 April 2006


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Watch it!, 28 Nov. 2005
This review is from: Springtime In A Small Town [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
I just wanted to add a comment because I think this film deserves so much more attention!I liked this film. It is very quiet and slow but there is this tension from between the woman and her husbands friend (and her former boyfriend), and the emotions expressed more through the acting and not so much through words. You can't help but feel for all the characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful film, 15 Aug. 2009
By 
Dr. I. Donald (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Springtime In A Small Town [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
This is a slow paced film, but one in which the pace perfectly fits the mood. The husband is slightly irritating in his self-indulgence, but it is still easy to empathise with hi as well as the other characters. The wife provides subtle - and less subtle- glimpses into what lies beneath the surface; the fun she longs for a seeks in her ex-lover. The film also engenders a good deal of tension as the story unfolds. Well worth taking the time to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good things come in small packages, 29 Feb. 2004
By 
Josh MacNab (Tunbridge wells, Kent United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Springtime In A Small Town [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
Originality is a hard thing to come by nowadays with many American blockbusters basing real life incidents into the films albeit with minor alterations. All re-makes are given a different look because of the new Directors attitude to the base of the film and upon watching the documentary that accompanies the film it's interesting to hear Tians views on such matters. On to the film, it's very good. Indeed, it's excellent. The acting is superb so much so that the absence of music easier to accept. As with a lot of Chinese films the budget isn't so big but this works well here as the director uses intimacy to get his point across (it is a love story after all) and the narrow surroundings give the atmosphere a cosy, intimate atmosphere. This film is one for romantics everywhere that's not to say it's a chick flick mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Truly the best film from China that I have ever seen, 8 Aug. 2014
By 
Peter M "cinerama" (Sydney, NSW Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Springtime In A Small Town [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
Truly the best film from China that I have ever seen. An absolute masterpiece and totally flawless in every way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very very slow... very very Zen. ..., 21 Dec. 2014
By 
Helmut V. Bakaitis "uncle crash" (SydneyAustralia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very very slow ... very very Zen ... not a match on the original, sadly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Springtime In A Small Town [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
Lovely thoughtful film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars lovely, but ..., 5 April 2006
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Springtime In A Small Town [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
Lovely, particulary the scenes and use of lighting, but the story goes a little bit dull and adds very little to the old story of love and search for happiness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Springtime In A Small Town [2003] [DVD]
Springtime In A Small Town [2003] [DVD] by Zhuangzhuang Tian (DVD - 2003)
£24.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews