Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!!
I had just a hazy recollection of the Survivors tv series, but the little I could remember suggested me to buy this box set. And, man, was I right!
The show is simply extraordinary, its strenght being: realism, relevance to the present, and, of course, excellent screenplay and acting.
Just a few lines from the boxset:"Survivors combines traditional adventure...
Published on 16 Nov 2003 by Giorgio

versus
10 of 42 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars dated but good
excellent idea, hasnt travelled very well at all, acting is far to pretentious, and wooden, almost to the point where you actually see the actors waiting to say there lines, far to many long shots taking ages to get anywhere ig someone walking down the staircase then coming to the bottom to say 2 lines that have no relevance, much looking forward to the new remake though...
Published on 20 Dec 2007 by T.


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!!, 16 Nov 2003
By 
Giorgio (Como (CO), Italy) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Survivors: The Complete Series 1 [DVD] [1975] (DVD)
I had just a hazy recollection of the Survivors tv series, but the little I could remember suggested me to buy this box set. And, man, was I right!
The show is simply extraordinary, its strenght being: realism, relevance to the present, and, of course, excellent screenplay and acting.
Just a few lines from the boxset:"Survivors combines traditional adventure storytelling with a fascinating exploration of the social and cultural impact of the apocalypse: the absence of law and order; the importance of community and interdependence; and the sudden significance of self-sufficiency".
It's inevitable to identify ourselves with the survivors' state of mind, and wonder: what would we do in such a situation?
Just one remark: the lack of subtitles (even the english ones), which I found a shortsighted choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just as good as I remember, 12 Oct 2003
This review is from: Survivors: The Complete Series 1 [DVD] [1975] (DVD)
I loved this program as a child in the 70's. There was something so exciting about the idea of being a survivor in a brand new world. I got the DVDs delivered yesterday and I have watched the first 4 episodes today. It is just as good as I remember. I love how the program takes its time to tell the story. Perhaps it reflects how TV was then, compared to now with the flash effects and poor story lines. I think the reality is that the quality of the writing and the commitment of the actors really shines out. The DVD pack is top quality and it has obviously been put together with a great deal of care. Treat yourself to some great nostalgia but also to a superb piece of television drama.
Cheers
Tom Mcguire
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More relevant today then it was when it was made 32 years ago, 10 May 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Survivors: The Complete Series 1 [DVD] [1975] (DVD)
When this was broadcast in 1975 I remember being gripped by its frightening premise. 99% of the world's population is wiped out by a virus and those that are left - the survivors - have to deal with infinite problems in their new world. Discovering what those problems are is one of the pleaseures of watching this series.

Of course in some respects it has dated, not least because of its small budget compared to what we are used to seeing on T.V nowadays. Lack of production values is what many modern viewers see as a sign of poor quality, although really this series, just like'Thriller' and other 1970s shows, is far from amateurish. It has quality writing and acting and, unlike much of modern TV, its direction is never showy, pretentious and self-conscious, but restrained and correct. Also, there is no background music which I found a refreshing change .

That's not to say the series is without its problems, which first manifest themselves around episode 4. After a thrilling and classic first episode (written by series creator, Terry Nation), 3 survivors - Jenny, Abby and Greg - are established as the backbone of the series and the actors playing these parts contribute highly to the success of episodes 2 and 3. But then the writing starts to let them down. Episodes 4 and 5 concentrate far too much on survivalist and apocalyptic ideas and not enough on drama. Characters come and go around this point and the series looks to be losing its way. But don't worry, Terry Nation returns and drama is restored with 'Garland's War' and then its uphill all the way. (If you choose to skip episodes 4 and 5 then you will lose very little in story coherence in my opinion).

There is also a problem with the Jenny character who gets less significant as the series progresses. I'm not sure what her contribution is because she doesn't seem to do anything (something which, I understand, was a source of frustration for the actress herself). Abby and Greg are much more interesting and very well cast (Carolyn Seymour and Ian McCulloch). They play off each other well and need to because their disagreements (which usually centre around the battle between principles and survival) fuel the narrative with moral dilemmas and give it such dramatic impact. Despite both being strong-willed people who don't like to compromise in their views (Greg is a somewhat suspicious loner; Abby struggles to come to terms with her new life for a variety of reasons) the actors inject these characters with humanity and believability, making them sympathetic, compelling and watchable.

In episode 7 there is finally an attempt to establish more characters and stick with them and this is the main reason, in my view, for the improvement in the series from this point. Crucially, the writers brought back Tom Price, who appeared in the first few episodes but was noticeably missing when the series took its mini-nosedive around episode 4. Price is a vital character because not only is his misbehaviour and dishonesty responsible for so much drama (which is brought to a head in 'Law and Order', the best and most famous episode of the series) but the actor who plays him, Talfryn Thomas, gives an excellent, almost comic, performance.

The quality of this DVD is excellent. There are 13 episodes in all on 4 disks, commentary on 2 of the episodes, interviews with the director and 4 cast members (the actors who played Jenny, Abby and Greg and also one with Tanya Ronder who played the little girl, Lizzie) and an interesting booklet which details the history of the series.

All in all a highly recommended buy, especially if you remember and enjoyed the show from the 1970s. Those chilling opening titles (the premise established so economically) and that ominous music really bring the memories flooding back...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars stands the test of time - relevant even now., 12 Sep 2005
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Survivors: The Complete Series 1 [DVD] [1975] (DVD)
This TV series was a surprise to me. I never saw it when it originally aired in the 70s and I don't remember it ever being repeated in the years since.
99% of the world's population is wiped out by a virus. The survivors find they can't enter the large towns due to the sheer volume of the dead and decaying and are forced to scavange and go "back to basics" in order to keep on living.
This program addresses many practical issues survivors of such a disaster would encounter just living from day to day - in a world newly dangerous. This would have to be the most realistic series to approach these issues I have seen. Even after 30 years much of what it has to show its viewers still holds a deep relevance.
Certinally worth watching and much better than the movie "28 days" I think if you like disaster flicks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Long Overdue!, 14 Oct 2003
This review is from: Survivors: The Complete Series 1 [DVD] [1975] (DVD)
It's a real pleasure to finally see this out on DVD at last. Survivors is a thought-provoking and involving series that explores the aftermath of a man-made biological catastrophe that's even more plausible these days than it was back in the Seventies. Sound and broadcast quality of all the episodes is good and the accompanying booklet is especially informative and well-produced, with very useful background information and essays.
A special mention for the extras - two episodes (The Fourth Horseman, Law and Order) have excellent commentaries and the interviews with various stars of the show are also very good. There's also a useful photo gallery.
Highly recommended. Roll on Series 2!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good old survivors, 18 Feb 2005
By 
Chosroes "sassy" (chingford,london,uk) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Survivors: The Complete Series 1 [DVD] [1975] (DVD)
Still a good watch and beats most modern sci-fi by miles in a realistic depiction of human behavior under stress.
I always think that the episodes by terry nation seem to be the best - the first is a classic - low key and very effective.
All the leads are good - also believable - especially talfryn thomas as tom price. You would never get a character like that in a modern american sci fi serial. Too old, too ugly and far too REAL !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Survivors DVD set, 26 Feb 2004
This review is from: Survivors: The Complete Series 1 [DVD] [1975] (DVD)
I remember being introduced to this series in the late 90's when it was on UK Gold. I am VERY impressed with how the DVD offers much improved vision & sound improvements (particularly the sound). I had forgotten how harrowing this series was, introducing some very tense moments etc.
I've only got through a bit of the extra's so far but from what I've seen they are tops & will keep any Survivors fan fascinated. The DVD box is very well designed with some great pictures & text.
Well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Blast from the Past that still has the wow factor, 16 Jan 2004
By 
A. Parker (Basingstoke, England United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Survivors: The Complete Series 1 [DVD] [1975] (DVD)
I was worried that my experience of this would not be as powerful as it was when I was an impressionable teenager but I needn't have been concerned. The series still really challenges you on lots of different levels. I found it moving as well as exciting. I enjoyed the additional material but really it was the series itself that stood out for me. Please buy it because I am sure you will enjoy it and then they might release the other series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Survivors - revisit it!!!!!, 12 Mar 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Survivors: The Complete Series 1 [DVD] [1975] (DVD)
Well! As (only just) 40 year olds, we had frequently said "Do you remember...?" and one of those topics was the TV series "The Survivors"....it seemed to play a significant part of our pre-teens memories - maybe we were just reaching the age of thinking about our mortality in the event of a world disaster(?). We often asked why had series never been repeated on TV, so, when I saw that the DVD was available I just had to buy it, and - YES - watching the DVD was JUST as good as the first time around - OK, it is clearly 1970's ....but the plot and the relationships are so true to life - even for the 21st Century - Lets have Series 2 released as soon as possible!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars After 32 years it has not lost its punch., 4 May 2007
By 
Ms. K. Halstead Apps (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Survivors: The Complete Series 1 [DVD] [1975] (DVD)
It is strange to think that there has not been an improvement on this type of apocalyptic film in all these years. I watched this series when I was 23 and a radical anti nuclear protester, it was terrifying especially the later episodes. This was a time when the big picture was the bomb and germ warfare not so high on the agenda. It suffers somewhat from the current (at the time -1975) craze about self sufficiency and going back to nature that made it seem a bit cosy brown bread and sandals at times. The analysis of the differing reactions of the dominant people in the different groups however was very well thought out.

Now in the days of the invisible threat of global terrorism it seems not only was I watching a beautifully executed and reasoned series but one that was far seeing and accurate. Watch this if you dare.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Survivors: The Complete Series 1 [DVD] [1975]
Used & New from: £14.74
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews