Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


69 of 73 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb Christmas present from Cliff
It has taken Cliff twelve years to come up with a follow-up to his last Christmas-themed album. "Cliff at Christmas" is certainly worth the wait! This album contains 17 tracks and while you may have some of the songs already, here they are digitally remasted and sounding just great. The big chart-toppers "Mistletoe and wine", "Saviour's day" and "The Millennium Prayer"...
Published on 17 Nov 2003 by William Hooper

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Over dubbed
I am not a particular fan of Cliff and bought this for the Christmas songs. His original stuff is great but, oh dear, the cover versions…

are mostly overlaid with too many tracks – and the arrangements are too “poppy”. Where the cover versions do work is where Cliff is singing with a simple backing. There’s nothing wrong with...
Published 12 months ago by Dr. Michael J. Atkins


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2.0 out of 5 stars Over dubbed, 24 Dec 2013
By 
Dr. Michael J. Atkins (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cliff At Christmas (Audio CD)
I am not a particular fan of Cliff and bought this for the Christmas songs. His original stuff is great but, oh dear, the cover versions…

are mostly overlaid with too many tracks – and the arrangements are too “poppy”. Where the cover versions do work is where Cliff is singing with a simple backing. There’s nothing wrong with Cliff’s voice (he IS a great musician) but if only an R&R man could re-edit theses tracks! The less is the more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A sumptuous Christmas treat - WOW!, 19 Nov 2003
By 
Louise Lacaille "Cliff fan" (Amersham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cliff At Christmas (Audio CD)
What a pity I can't give Cliff more than five stars! Because he deserves it. WOW! Nine Cliff classics; eight new recordings. This truly is a scrumptious Yuletide treat and the best gift you could wish for. The forthcoming single, "Santa's List", is a new song and it's the true Christmas song of 2003 and our troubled times. A peace song that tells us we don't need a merry Christmas, the only wish this year on Santa's List is that one day, there will be peace on this earth. It's a stunner. A gentle but beautiful and exotic sounding mix, with vocals first wispy and ethereal, then tingly and soaring; then huskier and more rocking. Just classy production. This ought by rights to be this year's Christmas no 1. Another new song is "Christmas Is Quiet", a mellow ballad with Cliff's wonderfully sensual butterfly vibrato floating up scale. A real reminder of the true meaning of Christmas. The other new songs are covers of Christmas classics, which, far outshining the flat and synthy arrangements of 2001's dull "Wanted", exploit the full vocal range of the songs and breathe new life into them with imaginative blends of instruments and really superb vocals. He is in sensational, awesome, amazing voice! "Winter Wonderland" is a smooth jazz vocal; the best ever version recorded in my opinion, "Mary's Boy Child", a duet with the great Belgian singer Helmut Lotti is sensual and funky and surpasses Boney M easily; "Walking In The Air" sounds stunning with a jazz piano and brings out the best in Cliff's voice. "Come To Us" is richly harmonic...I could go on! The classics too sound wonderful digitally re-mastered - the sumptuous, bounteous, glorious "Mistletoe and Wine"; the sweeping rock/dance anthem "Saviour's Day"; the sexy "We Should Be Together", the rousing "Millennium Prayer". This Christmas extravaganza will afford you years of Yuletide joy. Unforgettable, magical, magnificent! You've got to get it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love of Christmas, 17 Nov 2003
By 
Ulla M. G. Sorensen "greenbaek" (Bording, Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cliff At Christmas (Audio CD)
If you love Christmas this album is definitely a good choice, to buy. It has it all. something new and something recognize of the already know song from Cliff. With small chance in the picturs of the sound. That justify each track. Without to much suger sweet. Jingle bells and such.
Here you get. 8 new track and 9 old ones. The new one mix genle in the rest of the collection of the songs. So it does not look as much as the tradition greatest Hits album that you can find a lot of in Christmas time they try make us buy.
It is definitely bring you in spirits of Christmas even in November. I'm not said this because I'm a big fan of Cliff. But because Christmas should bring peace on this earth which we all need more today than ever.
This should definitely give you some peace in mind. I look forward to Christmas. Like a child. God bless you all love Ulla
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ok, 12 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cliff At Christmas (Audio CD)
if you like cliff then this one is for you it includes all his Christmas hits and more I like it a lot
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cliff does it again!, 18 Nov 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Cliff At Christmas (Audio CD)
I looked forward to this with anticipation and I was not dissapointed!
Its a great mixture of old favourties like Saviours Day, Litte Town, and Millennium Prayer, together with some new re-releases of old songs and brand new songs, although Santas List was brought out as a single, I did in fact prefer Cliffs duet version of Marys Boy Child that was just great.
Well done Cliff, and like all your previous christmas releases you have portrayed in the words the real meaning of Christmas!
I have no hesitation in recommending this album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars christmas gift, 13 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cliff At Christmas (Audio CD)
good product easy getting it sent straight to sister for Christmas ,haven't heard it but am sure its ok thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good xmas cd, 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cliff At Christmas (Audio CD)
Bought this cd partly for only one of his songs but found that I like the whole cd. Good mixture of songs, some old and some that I have not heard of before. All the family liked it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cliff Richards, 18 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cliff At Christmas (Audio CD)
As I have always said before, Cliff Richards is great and always will be,so again he is on my list for Christmas next year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Oh dear!, 16 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cliff At Christmas (Audio CD)
The CD is fine, but unfortunately the plastic cover sleeve came in 2 half's! it is broken so I must look for another to keep the CD safe
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars for a friend., 4 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cliff At Christmas (Audio CD)
bought it for a friend as she likes Christmas songs by Cliff. But she does not go to his concerts
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cliff At Christmas
Cliff At Christmas by Cliff Richard (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews