Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Playboys Review
Now if you listened to this album straight after hearing Dead Letters, like me you wouldn't believe it's the same band. Filled with Ska funky trumpet rapping filled music it's completely differnt, but over time it is in a good way. It takes time to adjust to this different sound if it's not used to the sort of genre of music you listen to (especially if you were a fan of...
Published on 17 Mar. 2008 by Ms. K. Bagshawe

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Playboys
If you're a fan of 'Dead Letters' and are thinking of sampling a little of The Rasmus's aural history, you could do worse than to listen to 'Playboys'. Like the two other albums in their back catalogue, its nowhere near the musical standard of 'Dead Letters', being a very young and naive amalgamation of influences with little of their own sound. However, it is an...
Published on 10 Dec. 2004 by catskii


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Playboys, 10 Dec. 2004
This review is from: Playboys (Audio CD)
If you're a fan of 'Dead Letters' and are thinking of sampling a little of The Rasmus's aural history, you could do worse than to listen to 'Playboys'. Like the two other albums in their back catalogue, its nowhere near the musical standard of 'Dead Letters', being a very young and naive amalgamation of influences with little of their own sound. However, it is an entertaining and diverse little number which, although maybe not musically astounding, will give a valuable insight into what makes The Rasmus's songwriting so good on the latest album. It has none of the darkness of 'Dead Letters', but plenty of the charm. Ranging from pop to rock to ska and back, this CD will put a big fat smile on your face - but you'll be laughing WITH Lauri and the boys, not AT them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Playboys Review, 17 Mar. 2008
This review is from: Playboys (Audio CD)
Now if you listened to this album straight after hearing Dead Letters, like me you wouldn't believe it's the same band. Filled with Ska funky trumpet rapping filled music it's completely differnt, but over time it is in a good way. It takes time to adjust to this different sound if it's not used to the sort of genre of music you listen to (especially if you were a fan of Dead Letters or Hide From the Sun which is a more rock gothic sound). However deep down this album has some fun sing along songs such as the opening song 'Playboys', the strange dog sounding 'Sophia' and the anthemic rap along to 'Ice' but even now The Rasmus can perform these songs on stage and do them justic. 'Well Well' has signs of a more rockier darker sounding whereas 'Carousel' is a fun comical song of not being old to get into bars. 'Violence' again is another fun filled rap song and 'Panda' ends the album perfectly with a more calmer almost instrumental sound. The song that definitely stands out on this album to me however is 'Jailer', its acoustic sound calms things down for a few minutes and the lyrics show more depth and meaning and it is the type of song that can easily be transferred onto a modern day Rasmus album. I'm not sure if you'd appreciate an album like this if like I said before you rarely listen to skater genre of music and would rather listen to The Rasmus' lastest two offerings. However if you are open minded and are willing to give this album a chance then I definitely recommend it. Plus many hardcore Rasmus fans love the first three albums just as much as the most recent three, so being lucky to getting the older songs at gigs it shows these first three albums including this one is definitely not forgotten.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 27 May 2004
This review is from: Playboys (Audio CD)
This is album No.2 from „Rasmus"(today „The Rasmus") dating from 1997. The four guys have developed quite a bit since "Peep" but still have a great variety in their music. "Playboys", a nice, rocky song with an in-going melody, is really a good song. "Blue" is also a very good song with fairly tranquil and rocky moments. "Ice" is one of the highlights on this album. A really fantastic song, great melody, great arrangement and a strong tendency to make you head bang and sing with it. "Sophia" is another wonderful piece of music with nice up going elements. "Wicked Moments" is a harder and darker song. "Wellwell" is maybe even harder, but shows a great melody through the rock - a great song! "Sold" is what I call a hey-ho song - it's quieter, but it's fun to listen to and fun to sing the parts you can. "Carousel" is really cute, a rock song with seemingly childish elements which ends up in a fantastic song. "Jailer" would remind a bit of Robbie Williams - but it is older than Robbie's songs. Mainly a normal guitar and the Lead singer's voice make a wonderful song. "Kola" returns to the hard side, containing a lot of "shouting" and "rap". "Raggatip" is song to listen to when you're longing for summer and sunshine - or when you've got them. It's a really nice Reggae-type song with a tiny bit of Finnish melancholy. "Violence" reminds the listener of "Ghostbusters", it's made in a similar style. "Panda" is a very nice song, more quiet again, with a fantastic melody and a great voice. A song that will stay in your mind!
So, "Playboys" is a really great album, its style is far away from the most recent album (Dead Letters) but it's great, just a completely different album. Enjoy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a great, 6 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Playboys (Audio CD)
revelation, a great record
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disapointed, 21 Sept. 2004
This review is from: Playboys (Audio CD)
Well where do I begin ? I bought this album because of the rave reviews off Amazon. I received it today with (Hell of a Taster) and put it straight into my CD player. What did I hear ? A band that sounded badly like Busted ! but alot worse !!!
I realise that from the reviews that this album was 'different' from Dead Letters, but being a diehard fan of The Rasmus I purchased it, and what a big mistake it was. If you're a teenager I guess that this album and previous one's 'might' appeal to you,but for the more mature audience of The Rasmus I would advise for you to not buy this at all costs !
I am just glad that The Rasmus changed their style of music (Dead Letters) to something that is VERY well worth listening to than this load of rubbish !
Go buy DEAD LETTERS !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 1 Aug. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Playboys (Audio CD)
This second album from The Rasmus has a lot of variety in its songs, from the quieter 'Jailer' to harder songs like 'Wicked Moments' and 'Kola'. It is different from their albums released after 'Playboys' in the style of the songs, as some of them are definately harder than more recent songs but still really good to listen to. Its hard to pick the best songs but I think 'Wicked Moments', 'Sophia', 'Kola', and 'Ice' are contenders. I would definately recommend this if you want to hear something a bit different from The Rasmus and/or are interested in their previous work. Overall a very good listen and definately worth buying!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unique!, 29 July 2004
This review is from: Playboys (Audio CD)
Wow! And I meen it. What a different album! I am a big fan of The Rasmus and after listening to the Dead Letters album I was addicted. When I heard that there was a new album coming out, I jumped to the mouse and pre-ordered it off amazon. When i got it I ripped it out the box and started to listen to it. This album is NOTHING like Dead Letters. It's just as good if not better! It's such a different album and I love it! Different instruments and songs, they rock! I've now lost count of how many times i've listened to it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Playboys
Playboys by Rasmus (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews