Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Family
All bands have a purple patch when they release one or two 'classic' albums. Family did better than most with at least four classic albums. 'Fearless' is perhaps their best (although 'Anyway' runs it very close).

This album isn't always as 'rocky' as previous albums but the diversity of styles that are played by 5 musicians of the highest quality and...
Published on 9 Jan. 2007 by N. Mason

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Victim of an Amazon Stitch Up!!! Half the product - we charge you anyway.
Waited nearly 2 months for a cd copy for this album which has never arrived. Still waiting.....
Its a 2 CD set, 1 cd studio, 1 live. The live cd wasn't available for mp3 download, the live isn't, but I foolishly downloaded the studio mp3 in advance.
After 2 months & knowing Amazon aren't short of a few bob, I decided to cancel the product. Unfortunately I had...
Published 18 months ago by Mr. P. Watson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Family, 9 Jan. 2007
By 
N. Mason (Taunton, Somerset United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Fearless (Audio CD)
All bands have a purple patch when they release one or two 'classic' albums. Family did better than most with at least four classic albums. 'Fearless' is perhaps their best (although 'Anyway' runs it very close).

This album isn't always as 'rocky' as previous albums but the diversity of styles that are played by 5 musicians of the highest quality and originality is staggering with not a bad track on the album. Don't expect to like it first time around - it is an album that rewards frequent listening.

'Between Blue and Me' is a great opener with some excellent (as always) guitar work from Charlie Whitney. The album then runs through numerous great songs, in particular 'Spanish Tide', 'Take Your Partners' and the wonderful 'Blind' before finsishing with the superb 'Burning Bridges'. The abiliies of all members of the band shine through with, of course, the truly original voice of Roger Chapman always a highlight.This album has a few extra tracks which also make it excellent value.

If you are going to buy one Family album this is not a bad one to have
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic That Never Was, 3 Mar. 2007
By 
Juan Mobili (Valley Cottage, NY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fearless (Audio CD)
As it has been said by many already, Family was one of the Brit Rock bands which received the least--of what would have been highly deserved--praise toward the end of Rock's most creative years. Released in 1971, the lineup had changed a bit since its early days, long gone was Rick Gretch--who had joined short-lived super group Blind Faith--yet his replacement, pre-King Crimson John Wetton , was a stroke of genius.

The whole album maintains a level of inventiveness and musicianship that is rare today and not a given then. More daring that classic Rock and not quite as experimental as some of the great Prog-Rock gestating at the time, Family did not fit in a specific camp which it may why it suffered unjustly from full recognition, given some groups that would receive it in those years.

From the gutsy "Between Blue and Me" and the Tom Waits-like feel of "Sat'd'y Barfly"--a song Tom could actually add to his repertoire--the band is off to the races, so to speak. Then comes one of my favorite, "Larf and Sing," unfortunately only 2:40 long in which Wetton shines and a chorus sectioon--Gentle Giant would patent it later--that takes the song even to further creative heights. Also worth mentioning are the sweet folkie feel of "Children" and "Save Some for Thee" which might make you think of a gutsier Traffic--circa "The Low Spark Of High Heeled Boys ..." era.

Last--best for last, if you will--and probably a voice even more neglected than the band he fronted, there is Mr. Roger Chapman, Family's lead singer and incandescent heart of the band. Chapman, gifted with pipes that could wrench your heart with his dramatic range at one point, rock like crazy or do justice to a soft lullaby, makes a great album simply extraordinary.

All in all one of the few albums of the early Seventies worth the price of an import, and capable of holding its own with any bands from those times as well as these.

FYI: make sure you get the edition that replicates the great packaging concept from the original vinyl edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fearfully Good, 17 Nov. 2010
By 
Huck Flynn "huckleberry" (northern ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Fearless (Audio CD)
Arguably the strongest family line-up and tragically short-lived, producing only one more album, the towering classic Bandstand. John Wetton on bass and a few vocals gave the group a more solid sound and the songwriting of chappo and charlie is as strong and adventurous as ever. Fearless features classic, "best of" selection tracks throughout - Between Blue and Me, Larf and Sing, Sat'dy Barfly, Spanish Tide, Take Your Partners, Burning Bridges - in a range of styles from acoustic ballad (Children), bar room honky tonk (Barfly), music hall (Larf and Sing), prog rock (Spanish Tide, Burning Bridges), blues rock (Take Partners) and jazz (Crinkly Grin - amazing). Whitney shows of his wide range of guitar styles, acoustic (superb on spanish tide) and electric (mandolin like on Bridges), chappo sings in mellow and demented styles and palmer is brilliant on keyboards and vibes. As you'd expect from Family their arrangements and ideas and overall musicality is incredible but never self indulgent, always accessible and focussed on making great music. Intelligence and ability far beyond most bands before, during or since. 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Peerless Fearless, 9 Mar. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Fearless (Audio CD)
I bought the original album in 1971 when i was a student; i think it was £sd in those days, im not sure. What I am sure is the utter beauty of this album, i have played it over & over again in the last 33 years & it still talks to me clearly. Just last weekend I played the CD version to a young friend who was staggered at the writing & production; it really holds comparison to anything produced today.
In the late 60's early 70's I was a Family nut, collected all their albums, singles, went to all the gigs. They made great music, Bandstand the album after Fearless this was nearly as good but on Fearless Chapmans voice & Whitneys playing was never better with Wetton & Palmer & Townsend they were my favourite family.
Listen to this album once & it will own you...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wearing Well, 25 April 2013
By 
A. Flynn "flynnt" (New Moston,Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fearless (Audio CD)
I first bought this as a vinyl album 42 years ago in 1971 which I still have and it still plays well,so I decided to buy the CD version which has the added bonus tracks.I agree with all the positive reviews on here about this classic album,stand out tracks of course are "Between Blue and Me", Spanish Tide", "Burning Bridges" and the acoustic gem "Children". The level of musicianship,inventiveness, and atmosphere on this album is excellent.
Anyone out there wanting to hear something different take a chance you wont regret it,this album has worn well over the last 42 years which is more than can be said for me !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ideal for Family Lovers!, 30 April 2009
By 
C. Moore (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fearless (Audio CD)
If you already like some of the Family music you've heard, you should try this one. I don't believe this sold as well as some of their other efforts, but it finds them in innovative and exciting mood and is really extraordinary for the time (it stands up pretty well in the present, too).Listen to 'Larf and Sing' for a taste of what made this band so special. Not sure the extra tracks add much, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Victim of an Amazon Stitch Up!!! Half the product - we charge you anyway., 25 Sept. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fearless (MP3 Download)
Waited nearly 2 months for a cd copy for this album which has never arrived. Still waiting.....
Its a 2 CD set, 1 cd studio, 1 live. The live cd wasn't available for mp3 download, the live isn't, but I foolishly downloaded the studio mp3 in advance.
After 2 months & knowing Amazon aren't short of a few bob, I decided to cancel the product. Unfortunately I had downloaded half of the product so I was faced with a charge, if I did so.

Suddenly 2 months down the line I get billed £7.49 for what digital airspace?

So I broke the terms & conditions of the "cloud player" but Amazon wrongly advertised this as a 2 cd set.
In Amazon's defense I get a thumb print picture now of the studio album, very clever, so you've wiped the original pic showing 2 albums, well don't want another headline do we?

Nice one Amazon a prompt refund is required because a) you false advertised the product without the live cd to download, b) I never got the cd (no explanation given & c) holding me to ransom for downloading half of the advertised product on the "cloud player".

I am disgusted & demand an extra credit to my account for the inconvenience.

I have a good mind to contact Watchdog.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Classic!, 19 Jan. 2010
By 
Blackbop "PAB" (Cambridge, MA United States) - See all my reviews
There's not much to say. This is a classic album from Family at their creative peak.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fearless
Fearless by Family (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews