Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Little Known Gem
Surprisingly good Romantic Western made for cable TV.
A widowed Christian woman,Rebecca Yoder (Naomi Watts)takes in a wounded drifter and nurses him back to health,little knowing that he is notorious gunfighter Johnny Gault (Timothy Daly). Great subtle performances from the beautiful Naomi Watts and Tim Daly (an actor too long underrated)...
Published on 1 Jan. 2007 by M. Brennan

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars it was well acted and put together nicely. Some nice cinematography for a TV movie
Not your typical western. More of a slow burning romance story. Mills & Boon anyone! Still, it was well acted and put together nicely. Some nice cinematography for a TV movie. Not a lot of gunfire sadly. I had read the reviews which seem to all be for the region 1 offering and wrongly assumed this to be the same. Sadly it's not. It's a French release. No extras and the...
Published 3 months ago by Grampa


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Little Known Gem, 1 Jan. 2007
By 
M. Brennan (Cookstown,, Tyrone. Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Outsider [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Surprisingly good Romantic Western made for cable TV.
A widowed Christian woman,Rebecca Yoder (Naomi Watts)takes in a wounded drifter and nurses him back to health,little knowing that he is notorious gunfighter Johnny Gault (Timothy Daly). Great subtle performances from the beautiful Naomi Watts and Tim Daly (an actor too long underrated). Story,direction,cinematography and score,beautifully handled.
DVD is excellent quality,Picture format is 4:3, extras include filmographies of principal players and an interview with actor Tim Daly.
For those who appreciate a romance or good western, in all a great purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth it, 1 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Outsider [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
I ordered this dvd on the strength of the other reviews ,and was not disappointed.A lovely romantic film,hard to find these days.Tim Daly and Naomi Watts are excellent in their roles and deliver a first class love story,even my husband enjoyed it.Why this film is only available on region 1 is beyond me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the outsider, 25 Dec. 2009
By 
E. Toeroek (Hungary) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Outsider [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Excellent film. Great performances by Tim Daly and Naomi Watts. Do not miss to watch this film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant western romance!! Sadly rarely available, 22 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Outsider [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Amazon are missing a trick here by not making this film available to UK market. I have seen it but would purchase except it is only available in Region 1. Very under rated romantic western which I just happened to come across on youtube. Great acting by Tim Daly and Naomi Watts who were both entirely convincing in their roles. A shout out too for actor who plays Rebecca's (Naomi Watts) son. The sort of film which takes a very long time to tire of watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One hell of a good DVD, 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Outsider [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
I bought this DVD because I have a Bush DVD Video recorder that plays in both Region 1 and 2 and it is possible to change from one to the other so that both regions can be used.This was a remarkable film and as I am a born romantic I fully enjoyed It. It also showed the harsh realities of living in the eighteen hundreds. Tim Daly and Naomi Watts were very good in it. One could only imagine how tough life would have been for a women living on her own at that time. Dave Bogg
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Outsider, 3 Mar. 2005
This review is from: Outsider [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
The first time that i saw this film i completely loved it.Tim daly's caracter in the movie is just amazing. he's the one who is carrying this movie all the way. what i loved about this movie is the way he falls in love with a an amish widow Rebecca{Naomi Watts}because jhonny is a shooter and he gets wounded thats how he meets rebbeca.she accete to help him and take care of him. slowly she also start to falls in love with him.specially when the people in her community tells her to stay away from him but she just dosen't listen. Rebbeca's eight year old boy also consider jhonny goult{Tim Daly} as a good role model. this movie is just so passionate and so romantic you have got to see it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Outsider, 4 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Outsider [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
This is a wonderful film - The music, the background shots a\re beautiful, the story is good and shows the difficulties faced by the early settlers, particularly the Quakers.

Naomi Watts was surely Oscar standard, and Tim Daly and the young boy gave excellent support
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars it was well acted and put together nicely. Some nice cinematography for a TV movie, 10 Dec. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Outsider (DVD)
Not your typical western. More of a slow burning romance story. Mills & Boon anyone! Still, it was well acted and put together nicely. Some nice cinematography for a TV movie. Not a lot of gunfire sadly. I had read the reviews which seem to all be for the region 1 offering and wrongly assumed this to be the same. Sadly it's not. It's a French release. No extras and the English soundtrack version had French subtitles burnt in. Didn't matter what I did, I couldn't get rid of them. A tad annoying. I should have paid more attention when I was reading the spec's. My bad! Anyhoo, it will kill a rainy Sunday afternoon no problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pleased with quality of the DVD, 9 July 2014
This review is from: The Outsider (DVD)
Pleased with quality of the DVD, the price and the speed with which it was delivered. I would buy from this seller again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a fantastic film, for the first in a long time an actor with the abilitiy to act, Tim Daly is v/v/good., 1 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Outsider [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
I am a western fan through and through, and have many in our collection, but this film brought a lump to my throat, what a great
western with a difference. A western romance with not to much gun fire, but a good story. Watched it 3 times so far, great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Outsider [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
£5.96
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews