Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good horrer worth watching
good horrer film about a women who was beatern and burned by the locals of the town because they thought she killied some kids but she never and years on she comes for local kids and adults in the present town she can only get them if its dark and they look at her good creepy film for a night in with the lights off worth getting
Published on 11 Jun 2011 by mrs m

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Cheesy but effective
Th+is is a bit of an old potboiler but the scary moments in some places work well. Th+is has a great many cliches in it but serves ok as undemanding Friday night fare.
Published 12 months ago by D.G.


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good horrer worth watching, 11 Jun 2011
This review is from: Darkness Falls [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
good horrer film about a women who was beatern and burned by the locals of the town because they thought she killied some kids but she never and years on she comes for local kids and adults in the present town she can only get them if its dark and they look at her good creepy film for a night in with the lights off worth getting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars darkness falls, 21 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Darkness Falls [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
love this film. not well known. quality purchase from this dealer as usual. always look at this dealer first. Great film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Impressive, 24 Feb 2007
By 
This review is from: Darkness Falls [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I went down to the Pheonix DVD hiring store and saw some 'buy' movies at a really cheap price. My mom picked this up and showed it to me, not as i had even heard of the movie before. Anyway i became tempted to buy it as it looked really good and i wasn't losing out if i didn't like the film as it was so cheap!

Well it's certainly one film i actually did enjoy! I usually dislike many that i hire and finding a good thriller can be hard. However this has some great effects inside it. If you have a surround sound in your home all the more you would enjoy this. It's a movie you either hate or you love basically but i don't really understsnd why a lot rated this fairly low because there isn't so many bad points to this film. The acting was good, the plot/storyline were too (although a little pathetic). It's not scary as such but has some jumps inbetween which keep the movie good.

It's well worth the hire, though i do say young ones should probably stay away from this because it can give out bad nightmares.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, 13 Mar 2004
This review is from: Darkness Falls [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I first saw this in the cinema, it looked pretty good and after watching it I wasn't disappointed. The sounds of the women are enough to scare you, if you have surround sound then this is certainly the film for you, if not- it is still a great film however you may not experience the whole Darkness Falls experience.
I recommend this to any Horror Film lover.
The only bad thing I see about this film is that it does loose some of it's excitement after maybe the 3rd time in seeing it, however it is still a good film. And hey, it's a good film to watch with you friends if you've seen it...I guarantee they facial expressions will amuse you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another one of the usual horrors!, 2 Jun 2014
By 
Mr. M. K. Johnson (Norwich,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Darkness Falls [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I bought this for my daughters friend who likes scary films with a difference -this one offers just that,so i have been told! I like the films that always thinks of new stuff to scare You-it is obvious that they are finally finding it,at long last! I have seen plenty of the usual teenage slasher films,and they are OK,but I do like something different-this film offers that! If You want something different,then this one is for You. get it,and prepare to be scared!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars scary, 16 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Darkness Falls [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
this film scared me senseless when I first saw it. it's full of jumpy bits in it, which I loved!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Life for a tooth., 11 Aug 2011
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Darkness Falls [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
As a young boy, Kyle Walsh {Chaney Kley} claims to have seen the fearsome Tooth Fairy kill his own mother. He also claims that having seen her, she wont stop until she kills him also. Years later, and still haunted by the experience of that night, Kyle must return to Darkness Falls to aid his childhood sweetheart Caitlin Greene {Emma Caulfield} and her kid brother Michael-who seems to be at risk from the Tooth Fairy this time around. Can Kyle confront his fears and end the 150 years of terror that has blighted Darkness Falls?

Pretty much despised by the discerning horror-phile, Darkness Falls, to me at least, is a creepy, interesting and totally enjoyable thriller/ghost picture worth reappraisals. From the excellent, and chilling opening credits {where we nicely have a back story to work from}, to the final confrontation, Darkness Falls ticks most of the ghostly requisites that is asked of it. Scary demon, troubled children {night terrors should be explored more in cinema I feel}, cannon fodder bullies, cannon fodder obnoxious coppers and a constant sense of unease and dread. All of which is provided in Jonathan Liebesman's {The Texas Chainsaw Massacre: The Beginning} film. It's with the sense of dread that I feel Darkness Falls deserves a better reputation. Hand on my heart I know the film isn't a scary boo jump picture, something that is unforgivable to many genre supporters, but atmosphere goes a long way to creating a good thriller/ghost picture. Darkness Falls has it in spades. It's also a film that is a nice antidote to the blood beast torture sub-genre of film's that seep out from the multi-plexes on a seemingly weekly basis.

Any expectation of an outright horror film should be quickly extinguished prior to a first time viewing, and if noise annoys and staccato editing bugs you? Well stay away. Also don't line up if one demands great acting in a budget restricted piece such as this, since both Kley & Caulfield are adequate at best. But give it a go if you understand that a preposterous plot, and preposterous set pieces are a pre-requisite for horror films of this type. I say that since I've seen many comments decrying Darkness Falls for it's unbelievable elements-only to then search their other comments to find praise for even more ludicrously plotted pieces! Or give it a go knowing it's more about the creeping stalking menace side of horror, or that it's also an action thriller as well as an uneasy story. Maybe just maybe you will enjoy it for what it is? Otherwise I guess you will be looking forward to Hostel 22 or another Jason Attacks The Eiffel Tower movie....... 7/10

RIP Chaney Kley, aged just 34.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Cheesy but effective, 8 July 2013
By 
D.G. (Manchester) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Darkness Falls [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Th+is is a bit of an old potboiler but the scary moments in some places work well. Th+is has a great many cliches in it but serves ok as undemanding Friday night fare.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nightmares, 1 Jun 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Darkness Falls [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I first watched this film when i was about 10 and even 8 years on it results in many night hiding under the duvet.

The film is essentially a twisted tale of the toothfairy but instead of taking your tooth and leaving money, she takes your life instead.

Whilst being original, the film is actually quite scary with many jumps and scares throughout. Although now ive watched it at a mature age, its not the night terror causing movie i once thought it to be.

Overall a good horror movie but there are better out there althought for a low price such as this its worth the investment. Avoid showing it the young children
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not scary, 27 Dec 2011
By 
C. K. Lee "highwayUnicorn`" (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Darkness Falls [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I watched this film when I was little and I remembered that this film is really horrifying, so I bought this to watch it again. However, its not that scary and I would recommend this to younger children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Darkness Falls [DVD] [2003]
Darkness Falls [DVD] [2003] by Jonathan Liebesman (DVD - 2005)
6.74
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews