Customer Reviews


102 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greatest horror films of the decade!
Good horror makes a return with WRONG TURN. Although the storyline has been done before (a mixture of TEXAS CHAINSAW MASSACRE & THE HILLS HAVE EYES), this is one of the best horror films I have ever seen. Destined to become a classic horror, this is was up there with the forementioned TEXAS CHAINSAW MASSACRE. A must-see!
Published on 30 May 2009 by dosn't matter who I am

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not bad
i was surprised that this film really did scare me, in fact i had to turn all the lights on in the middle of the night after watching it because i dint want to sleep in the dark!this may not be a classic but its definately getting up there with the scary films we all love to watch!
Published on 16 Jan 2008 by Ms. F. I. Macdonald


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not bad, 16 Jan 2008
This review is from: Wrong Turn [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
i was surprised that this film really did scare me, in fact i had to turn all the lights on in the middle of the night after watching it because i dint want to sleep in the dark!this may not be a classic but its definately getting up there with the scary films we all love to watch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greatest horror films of the decade!, 30 May 2009
This review is from: Wrong Turn [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Good horror makes a return with WRONG TURN. Although the storyline has been done before (a mixture of TEXAS CHAINSAW MASSACRE & THE HILLS HAVE EYES), this is one of the best horror films I have ever seen. Destined to become a classic horror, this is was up there with the forementioned TEXAS CHAINSAW MASSACRE. A must-see!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I think this is the bathroom...., 28 Jan 2014
This review is from: Wrong Turn [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Chris Flynn is driving for a job interview in another city.

However, an accident with a truck blocks the highway and Chris looks for an alternative route through the mountains..

Due to a lack of attention, he crashes another car parked in the middle of the road.

Chris meets a group of friends, who intended to camp in the forest, and they decide to leave couple Francine and Evan with the car, while Chris, Jessie, Carly and her fiancé Scott tries to find some help.

They find a cabin in the middle of nowhere, where three cannibalistic mountain men live....

Although we had the genre defining Scream a few years before, this is still a refreshing entry into the horror cannon, despite the predictable narrative and plot points.

But the film entertains due to the good characters and great acting from Harrington, Dushku, and Sisto.

It starts with a sort of horror James Bond opening scene, and it really sets the mood for the rest of the film. The cannibals look amazing, and it's thanks to executive producer Stan Winston.

So all in all it's a great horror movie, and it's proving very popular, mainly thanks to the ever decreasing quality sequels...

Well worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wrong Turn - Horror is back!, 1 Nov 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Wrong Turn [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Wrong Turn marks the return of hard core horror films, reminiscent of those that graced cinema screens in the 70's and early 80s (The Texas Chainsaw Massacre (1974), Friday The 13th etc). Had it not been for Wrong Turn, I doubt that "Cabin Fever" would have been such a big hit, along with the new "Texas Chainsaw Massacre" remake. It's good old fashioned horror at it's best, with all the gore thrown in that Scream like slasher films of the 90's such as "Urban Legend", "Urban Legends: Final Cut" and "Valentine" decided not to use, ultimately aiming horror films of recent years to a younger crowd and taking away the edge they once had. Wrong Turn isn't toned down for a 15 certificate in the hope of making more money at the box office, it's a real horror film that delivers the suspense, scares and gore that we horror fans have been dying for!
Chris (Desmond Harrington), Jesse (Eliza Dushku), Carly (Emmanuelle Chriqui), Scott (Jeremy Sisto), Francine (Lindy Booth) and Evan (Kevin Zegers) are six twenty something's stranded in the woods of West Virginia. In search of a phone, the group stumbles upon a house that belongs to a trio of inbred cannibals, who would like nothing more than to prepare them for dinner. What follows is a struggle for the group to make it out of the woods, as the cannibals hunt them down and kill them off in a grisly fashion.
Yes, hardly an original concept, but it's executed very well and creates genuine scares and a hell of a lot of suspense (particularly in the scene where the cannibals come home). As the plot is simple, it is evident that more attention was given to the situations that the characters end up in, and the ways in which they are dispatched. They end up in several different scenarios, some of which have never been done before. This makes it harder to predict what will happen as you have never seen it happen in a previous horror film. The plot may not be original, but the events themselves sure are! For once you may find that you CAN'T guess what exactly will happen next, and this is a refreshing change for the psycho slasher genre. The deaths are creative and very gory, and some of them come as a real surprise (jump out of your seat moments).
The characters are enjoyable to watch, with Eliza Dushku once again playing the strong female (like Faith in Buffy the Vampire Slayer), and Jeremy Sisto playing Scott with a Jeff Goldblum like quality. For me, the real star in the film was Emmanuelle Chriqui playing Carly. She is probably the most developed of the characters, as the audience get a bit of insight into her personal life. We also see how her character changes as the film progresses. Not only does she go from fun loving to petrified (as most characters do in these type of films), but we see her go beyond this. She shows real emotion for others in the group as they fall prey to the killers (how often do we see this?!!), and then later she seems as though she's not quite with it anymore, being driven to insanity by fear. You really feel for the characters in this film, which just makes it more enjoyable to watch as you wonder who will make it to the end.
The film is also very well made. The direction is top notch and the use of light and shadows give an eerie feel to particular scenes. The beautiful scenery is also captured by the camera. It is impressive how the film manages to look so professional and have such good production values, but also remind the audience of the cheap backwoods slasher flicks from over 20 years ago that so many of us have come to love. Stan Winston (he did the special effects for Jurassic Park!) is on board to bring the cannibalistic mountain men to life, with extremely realistic make up effects. The script is witty on occasion, and only once is it self referential like the Scream films (one character mentions the film "Deliverance"). With a cast full of fresh faces, good acting, likeable characters, suspense, jumps, gore, great special effects, a well written screenplay, fantastic direction and a musical score that is very fitting to the film's main themes, you should find something you like about Wrong Turn. If like me, you like all of these things, you should fall in love with it instantly! For so long I had been making trips to the cinema, hoping to be scared by a film so much that I would be tearing the fabric from the arms of the chair and shouting at the screen, and finally it happened when I went to see Wrong Turn. This is horror at its best, so buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Nice DVD, 16 Feb 2004
This review is from: Wrong Turn [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Wrong Turn is a very good movie and I would recommend it to anybody who is looking for a 'different' horror film.
The movie in itself is very pleasing. I noticed the time reading on my DVD player showed 00:03:15 and my heart was already racing. I do not scare easily and the fact that I was even vaguely scared three minutes into the film was a very good sign. The film stars 6 main characters who, like in all slasher movies, are killed off one by one until only a fraction remain. Unfortunately, like with many films, it becomes quite clear who will survive and who will die by simply looking at the box. As a general rule, characters in the foreground tend to live whilst those further back are less likely to survive. However, the deaths are executed (excuse the pun) very well in the film; original and gruesome - just the way I like 'em! Instead of spending too much time on the deaths to scare the audience, however, the film concentrates on the predicaments the characters get into which builds great tension, including silently escaping a building while the villains sleep and climbing among tree branches whilst trying to not be noticed. The use of darkness and shadows as well as a tense score make this movie one of the more memorable slasher flicks.
The transfer to DVD is good and the picture and sound quality is superb, in my opinion. The special features are quite minimal with a few featurettes and an audio commentary; there is also a poster gallery which is unnecessary. Although the extras are small, considering the price of this DVD (only £11.99) this is very good value for money.
Although the special features are limited, the movie quality and low price mean a good all-round DVD which is well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wrong Turn, 25 Oct 2008
By 
C. Boyes - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wrong Turn [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
The simplest way of describing the plot of this film is The Hills Have Eyes set in the woods. All the characters are there from the creepy petrol station attendant to the mutated cannibals.
The difference is that the cast are 'young and hip' and the characters are all of the same age group, it is a bit more sexed up than The Hills Have Eyes and is more likely to appeal to the teenage market than that film did.
This is not a contradiction, as The Hills Have Eyes is one of the best horror films ever made.

There are alot of scenes designed especially to make you jump and is better watched in the dark with a group of people. There are some amazing death scenes and the acting cannot really be criticised.. if you like bloody horrors then this is definately worth a watch, just don't expect a plot which is amazingly original.
There are clearly alot of twists and unexpected moments which make it stand out on its own as one of the best horrors of its time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Wrong Turn" (1, 2 and 3) on BLU RAY - Compatibility Issues With The 'US' Discs..., 16 Mar 2014
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Fans should note that the 'American' 20th Century Fox BLU RAY of the horror flicks "Wrong Turn" and its 2 and 3 sequels ("Dead End' and "Left For Dead") are all REGION A LOCKED.

None will play on our UK machines unless they're chipped to be 'all regions' (which few are).

The 1st film is available as a `UK' release - but 2 and 3 are not.

Check your machines Region Coding before buying any of them...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It fits a certain criteria, but it's really same old same old formula., 11 Oct 2011
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Wrong Turn [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Wrong Turn is directed by Rob Schmidt and primarily written by Alan B. McElroy. It stars Desmond Harrington, Eliza Dushku, Emmanuelle Chriqui and Jeremy Sisto. Plot finds a group of pretty young adults being menaced by inbred critters in West Virginia.

Clocking in at under one hour and twenty minutes in length, Wrong Turn doesn't have time to become boring, that is; it doesn't become boring for the easily pleased stalk and slash fan. Film wastes no time in getting to the nitty gritty of its being, no time for character build up, our group of models, excuse me, characters, are stuck in the wilderness and most of them will meet a horrible death. Who will survive? If anyone? Will you care either way come the end? Well it seems many people were happy with what they saw, for although it flopped at the box office, film gained a big fan-base upon its home format release. So much so it has spawned three sequels thus far!

Wrong Turn isn't an awful movie, it's just a very unadventurous one. A number of screenwriters were attached to it, and it shows, because it seems that each one plucked out an idea from a favourite horror movie of yesteryear and filled out the running time with formula, Hills Have Eyes: Check, Texas Chain Saw Massacre: Check, Deliverance: Check....... Granted there's some good moments of tension, and one particularly excellent kill up in a tree, but the whole thing is distinctly unfresh so as to be annoying. Cast are fine, given the staid direction and dullard screenplay they are working from, though they make laughably bad decisions and do implausible stuff. One sequence involving leaping from a building onto a tree is so bad, particularly Dushku's side on approach, I'm surprised Schmidt wasn't sacked for incompetence!

It rounds out about average and is a decent enough time filler for the slasher faithful, but if you are looking for anything new and exciting you best steer down a different road. 5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars you'll never want to go into the woods again!, 23 Jun 2009
This review is from: Wrong Turn [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
This film is definately one to watch! The storyline is very gripping and is one of the few horror films where you get extremely attatched to the characters, before having to watch them die one by one. Each of the deaths are perfectly executed, with a unique twist not seen before. Where else fo you see an axe chop right through the mouth, or an arrow shoot directly through the eye? The only critisism I have is that there are not very many jumps, however the feeling of suspence greatly makes up for this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'WRONG TURN' : A 'RIGHT' GOOD FILM !! !! !! !!, 19 Jan 2006
By 
M. Western "Zombie" (Wakefield, West yorkshire, Enagland, Eurpoe, Earth, Some random 'milky way') - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wrong Turn [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Wrong Turn was a big surprise to me when i saw it, i was expecting a copy of the Texas Chainsaw Massacre and a crap copy at that but instead i got this, a really good movie and in my opinion nothing like The Texas Chainsaw Massacre!
Wrong Turn comes into the class of a Thriller but is a pure horror film and if you like Cannibal films then i guess it comes into that category too! The main surprise about this film is that it was actually quiet scary at times which is very good for a cannibal film thats classed as a thriller!
The film also includes some violent scenes and if thats a thing you look for in a film then you should engoy this films blood and tense moments! (The part where a womans gorged in the mouth with barbed-wire is good)
This also has a decent story for a cannibal/horror film and has some very tense and frightening situations that the characters get into! The film also cuts right to the chase from the very start! As soon as the film starts therse some action to get you interested and there arent many, if any, parts where the characters are just talking, therse always something happening to keep you on the edge of your seat!
I would highly reccomend this to any horror or cannibal film fans and even people who just watch the odd horror every now and then!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wrong Turn [DVD] [2003]
Wrong Turn [DVD] [2003] by Rob Schmidt (DVD - 2004)
£2.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews