Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not To Be Taken Seriously....
I have a great deal of affection for this film, which I first saw as a teenager when it came out. Not the typical Corman adaptation of Poe, but I very tongue in cheek (and very nearly camp) version. Vincent Price, Peter Lorre and Boris Karloff shamelessly ham it up and spoof their own images and careers. A very young Jack Nicholson is as wooden as he is straight and never...
Published on 27 Oct 2003 by Cowboy Buddha

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia goggles!
Not as good as I remembered, but still enjoyable to watch.

The sets and photography are wonderfully sumptuous. The acting hammy - though, in this case, it adds to the charm. Besides, this is a tongue-in-cheek horror/comedy.

It's always nice to see the stars of old - they had charisma by the bucketload. And then there is the gorgeous Hazel Court - she...
Published 7 months ago by P. Harrison


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars GOOD, 3 July 2014
This review is from: The Raven [DVD] (DVD)
GOOD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good ole vinnie, 13 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Raven [DVD] (DVD)
mr price was/ is/ always will be/ the master of his craft. and this movie is indeed proof. i have always been a fan of vincent price and always will be. and if you, the reader, have not seen this....you are in for a treat!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia goggles!, 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Raven [DVD] (DVD)
Not as good as I remembered, but still enjoyable to watch.

The sets and photography are wonderfully sumptuous. The acting hammy - though, in this case, it adds to the charm. Besides, this is a tongue-in-cheek horror/comedy.

It's always nice to see the stars of old - they had charisma by the bucketload. And then there is the gorgeous Hazel Court - she certainly had the bosom for those period costumes!

As I said, enjoyable, but be sure to wear your nostalgia goggles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of My Favourite Vincent Price Films, 28 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. A. R. Banyer "Tony Banyer" (Gt. Yarmouth , UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Raven [DVD] (DVD)
A Very "tongue in cheek" adaptation of the Edgar allen Poe , Poem , The Raven .
A superb cast , Vincent Price , Peter Lorre , Boris Karloff (all 3 of which can also be found together in "A Comedy of Terrors" - also Hilarious).
You will also see a very young Jack Nicholson as Peter Lorre's Son.

Buy it or miss out
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Most people mght feel it is vey dated, 17 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Raven [DVD] (DVD)
However it has a certain charm and quirkiness i personally have always liked about old horror movies.

Jack Nicholson in his early days even appears.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars old films, 13 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Raven [DVD] (DVD)
view of good old days .came in time aloud in good order but not as good and has aged to in my mind
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining Romp, 25 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Raven [DVD] (DVD)
Not a film to be taken seriously, it's a great romp and it's obvious that all concerned were enjoying themselves hugely when they were making it. It goes well with the Roger Corman box set of Vincent Price movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fun, fun, fun, 29 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Raven [DVD] (DVD)
Not seen this since I was a young un, loved it then and love it even more now..the cast is great and the story funny throughout..beats the most modern flick hands down and well worth a punt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 6 May 2013
By 
Mrs. P. A. Wheatley (Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Raven [DVD] (DVD)
They don't make movies like they used to and this is a classic. I have been waiting for the price to come down, so when it was reasonable I bought it. Just love it, Vincent Price and Peter Lourrie, fab
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Never more!!!, 23 April 2013
This review is from: The Raven [DVD] (DVD)
Being a Fan of Rodger Corman Movies, Loving Vincent Price, Boris Karloff and Jack Nicholson, plus a Reader of Edger Allan Poe, this Movie for me is a No Brainer full stop! I remember seeing this as a Kid, and it stayed with me ever since. I simply Love this old Movie, the style, look, acting and of course Humor. It is a Classic piece of Movie Camp! total Fun!!! I only wish these types of Movie were still made today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Raven [DVD]
The Raven [DVD] by Roger Corman (DVD - 2003)
£4.30
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews