Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not To Be Taken Seriously....
I have a great deal of affection for this film, which I first saw as a teenager when it came out. Not the typical Corman adaptation of Poe, but I very tongue in cheek (and very nearly camp) version. Vincent Price, Peter Lorre and Boris Karloff shamelessly ham it up and spoof their own images and careers. A very young Jack Nicholson is as wooden as he is straight and never...
Published on 27 Oct 2003 by Cowboy Buddha

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia goggles!
Not as good as I remembered, but still enjoyable to watch.

The sets and photography are wonderfullysumptuous. The acting hammy - though, in this case, it adds to the charm. Besides, this is a tongue-in-cheek horror/comedy.

It's always nice to see the stars of old - they had charisma by the bucketload. And then there is the gorgeous Hazel Court - she...
Published 2 months ago by P. Harrison


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not To Be Taken Seriously...., 27 Oct 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Raven [DVD] (DVD)
I have a great deal of affection for this film, which I first saw as a teenager when it came out. Not the typical Corman adaptation of Poe, but I very tongue in cheek (and very nearly camp) version. Vincent Price, Peter Lorre and Boris Karloff shamelessly ham it up and spoof their own images and careers. A very young Jack Nicholson is as wooden as he is straight and never stands a chance against three veteran scene-stealers. There are also a couple of forgotten starlets who were hired more for their cleavages than any other talent. The budget is low, the effects prehistoric, but the performances, script and direction more than make up for it. This film could only have been made in the Sixties. If the three stars were slightly past their peak, they are still full of fun and mischief. Vincent Price in particular seems to be forever saying to the audience: "I know it's nonsense and you know it's nonsense, but it's fun, isn't it?" Even so, it is Peter Lorre who gets some of the best lines. When entering a crypt, he looks around at the dust and decay and cobwebs and comments dryly: "Hard place to keep clean, huh?" Not a horror film (unless you count Nicholson's horrible acting), not one for Poe purists, but much more a very offbeat entertainment. Get out the popcorn and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars e.a. poe meets harry potter, 2 Mar 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Raven [DVD] (DVD)
If you've never seen this film, you must. If you like Roger Corman/1950-1960's schlock horror, you must see this film. I've always been a fan of Vincent Price, Boris Karloff and Peter Lorre. What a bonus, a film with all three! And to top it all, it's based on an Edgar Allan Poe tale (okay, so it is very loosely based). The film tells the tale of 3 wizards, Peter Lorre is sort of the bait, with Vincent Price and Boris Karloff pitting their magical knowledge against each other - yes, the good guy does win! Also appearing in one of his very early roles, is a very young Jack Nicholson (as he did quite often in early l960's Corman films) as Peter Lorre's son. Great viewing - a pleasant time is guaranteed for all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Raven, 7 Oct 2003
This review is from: The Raven [DVD] (DVD)
I first saw this film about 8 years ago it wasn't a great copy,one we had taped from the tele but i loved it.At the time i thought it was really scary and being only 10 could not work out how they do all the (special effects) and i do use this term loosely. However i really enjoyed the film and it became one of OUR regular saturday night in movie.Untill our video player blew up ruining the film. Since then i have been searching everywhere for it, with no luck untill now. I reccomend this film to anyone who doesnt mind ancient effects and a bit of gore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comic Relief in a rather bleak film repetoire, 10 Sep 2008
This review is from: The Raven [DVD] (DVD)
I must have seen all the Roger Corman horror films - Pit and the Pendulum, the Fall of the House of Usher, The Masque of the Red Death instantly come to mind. The colour to these films was vivid, I felt that I was watching them in colour on a black and white tv set. These films were classic horror films mostly with the melodramatic leads played skilfully by Vincent Price. They were atmospheric, gothic and quite bleak. Yet in The Raven we have a great deal of comic relief all provided by Vincent Price, Boris Karloff and Peter Lorre. It was great fun to watch and I thought Boris Karloff was brilliant and indeed I did detect a sparkle in his eye when he was fighting the magical duel with Vincent Price. I particularly liked the part when Boris hurled magical daggers at Vincent Price and Vincent drew magical disks to block the target. So much for CGI, (you can tell when a film has overdosed on this abomination to special effects). Great entertainment for all the family, I first saw this film when I was aged 10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Raven, 1963; 2004 MGM release - A classic, a veritable classic., 22 Feb 2010
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Raven [DVD] (DVD)
Starring three of the Horror genre's finest - Karloff, Vincent Price and Peter Lorre (along with a very young Jack Nicholson), directed by Roger Corman and `based' on a tale by Edgar Allen Poe, you might be expecting something a bit special when you watch this. And you won't be disappointed. Just don't go expecting anything that resembles Poe's classic poem...

This is a classic bit of comedy horror, with brilliant turns from each of the three principles. Very loosely based on Poe's poem (A raven does indeed come rapping, rapping at the chamber door, and there is a character called Lenore), around which a tale of doublecross and betrayal has been woven, it's a bit dated, it's very corny, and it seems to have been filmed on a budget of about two dollars. A charming and entertaining film has resulted, mainly due to the performances of Karloff, Price and Lorre. Especially Karloff, who shows just why he was a fixture in Hollywood for so many years. Watch it just fo the Wizards duel towards the end - I defy you to not enjoy it!

In line with Roger Corman's usual ethos when making films, this DVD release is a pretty basic affair. The pnly extra is the theatrical trailer. The film is in widescreen with mono sound only. There appears to have been little or no resoration of the sound or picture, but both are acceptable quality.

Highly recommended to all fans of gentle comedy and classic horror.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars price and corman at their best., 4 Aug 2006
By 
Mr. A. E. Ward Davies (Canterbury , England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Raven [DVD] (DVD)
this is without a doubt one of the best collaborations between vincent price and director roger corman.

playing "the raven" for laughs was an inspirational idea and it works wonders. price is very well supported by peter lorre and boris karloff, especially by lorre in their early scenes together. the script is brilliant, price's mugging is very funny, the film sets are great as always and the climax is the best i've seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly bewitching, 21 Oct 2007
By 
John Ryan (UK, Manchester) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Raven [DVD] (DVD)
This film is excellent. It stars Vincent Price, Peter Lorre, Boris Karloff and the lovely Hazel Court. The story is slightly silly, but very entertaining. The transfer is nice and crisp with excellent colour. This is one of my best buys this year, highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Peter Lorre is a puddle of jam, 24 Jan 2006
This review is from: The Raven [DVD] (DVD)
Rating Explanation
I watch and own a huge number of films and can sit through most
dross. My ratings are based on my personal response to films,not
any standard of quality. Therefore:
1 star : So awful I walked out/switched off/fell asleep
2 stars: I managed to watch all of it, but it was painful
3 stars: It's OK - quite good, but I probably wouldn't watch it again
4 stars: It's good and/or enjoyable. I could happily watch it again
5 stars: These are special. My desert island films
Lovely and hilarious. Price sending up the whole of the rest of his career is even better than when he is playing it straight.
Notable for raspberry jam, dodgy effects and a very, veeeery young Jack Nicholson.
Maybe a bit dated for modern tastes, but my kids loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great B-movie!, 8 July 2005
By 
Kurt A. Johnson (Marseilles, IL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Raven [DVD] (DVD)
The Raven stars Vincent Price, Peter Lorre, and Boris Karloff as three wizards. It has everything a B-movie needs: terrible dialog, special effects that border on non-existence, and much more. It is highly entertaining, and a great laugh (even though it is billed as "the macabre masterpiece of terror!")
As a special extra, a very young Jack Nicholson plays Peter Lorre's bumbling son! THIS IS A MUST-SEE!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic horror spoof, 14 May 2010
By 
This review is from: The Raven [DVD] (DVD)
A really wonderful send up of the old Gothic Horror genre with all the old stalwarts hamming it up for all they're worth along with a very young Jack Nicholson - he looks like he's just finished his homework before coming on to the set. Great stuff with the lovely Hazel Court as an added bonus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Raven [DVD]
The Raven [DVD] by Roger Corman (DVD - 2003)
5.21
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews