Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jezza's Round Up of the Best Sports Cars of 2003
This is Jezza's 2003 round up of the best new cars of that year. He matches up a Lotus Elise, Vauxhall VX220, and TVR 350C on the race track. The sound of the TVR 350C is so sexy (what an amazing noise!!), that it almost makes you want to go out and buy one, except common sense tells you that would be a bad idea. He assesses an early Bentley Continental GT as...
Published 1 month ago by William Mason

versus
17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Big Disappointment
Maybe my expectations where too high. 2002's No Limits was good. It had kind of a story to it. This didnt. At least JC's top 100 cars had a strucutre, and head to head. Head to head was very good. What made them good? Well special guests, innovative ideas etc. Tiff, Colin Macrae, Niel McKenzy etc. Rally car v F1 v Road car. That kind of thing.
So shoot out then? No...
Published on 12 Nov 2003 by C. Coney


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jezza's Round Up of the Best Sports Cars of 2003, 13 Sep 2014
By 
William Mason (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Clarkson - Shoot-Out [DVD] (DVD)
This is Jezza's 2003 round up of the best new cars of that year. He matches up a Lotus Elise, Vauxhall VX220, and TVR 350C on the race track. The sound of the TVR 350C is so sexy (what an amazing noise!!), that it almost makes you want to go out and buy one, except common sense tells you that would be a bad idea. He assesses an early Bentley Continental GT as "Blenheim Palace going sideways". He reviews an Aston Martin DB7, slating the interior but raving about the driving experience. He assassinates a Chrysler Crossfire (I bought one because my girlfriend loved the looks, but it was a total dog's breakfast of a machine). Best of all, which he leaves until last, is his review of a Pagani Zonda (I saw one of these at the MPH show at the NEC a few years ago, it's surely the sexiest sports car of all time). To my mind, these old Clarkson shows are brilliant if you're in the market for a second hand super car, the sort of vehicle which might have cost £80K ten years ago, but which you can buy for sub £30K these days. Even if you're not, and you're just dreaming about owning one of these vehicles, this show is a good way to indulge your fantasies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Big Disappointment, 12 Nov 2003
By 
This review is from: Clarkson - Shoot-Out [DVD] (DVD)
Maybe my expectations where too high. 2002's No Limits was good. It had kind of a story to it. This didnt. At least JC's top 100 cars had a strucutre, and head to head. Head to head was very good. What made them good? Well special guests, innovative ideas etc. Tiff, Colin Macrae, Niel McKenzy etc. Rally car v F1 v Road car. That kind of thing.
So shoot out then? No special guests, no fancy experiments and alot of humourous comments taken from Top Gear road tests. Blemin Plaace going sideways? Ive heard that before and there are lots of repeats like that, which if you watch top gear, you will notice.
Next there is too much footage of power slides, wheel spins etc with just music playing. The clips are not excessively long, but there are lot of them, which wastes time on a DVD i paid £15 for. I bought this no questions asked on the strength of No Limits and unfortunately, when JC releases his next DVD, im gonna hesitate to buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars If you don't watch Top Gear it is better!, 17 Nov 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Clarkson - Shoot-Out [DVD] (DVD)
Too much like Top Gear, so there is nothing different that usually makes JC's videos stand out. I have bought all of JC's previous videos and enjoyed watching them over and over, however with this one you feel you have already watched it the first time you see it, mainly because if you are a Top Gear fan you have, right down to the destroying of the caravan. Finding the best or most fun car of 2003 is what Top Gear does, so what's the point? Just about every car has been on the new style Top Gear. Don't get me wrong it is still fun to watch but on top of being almost identical to Top Gear it has no classic moments or quotes ("Titchmarsh GTI" still makes me laugh) so if you are expecting Corvettes to be shot by helicopters, 911's to be dropped on caravans and Volvos crashed in to trees because JC can not stand to drive it a moment longer you will be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Better if you don't watch Top Gear, 17 Nov 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Clarkson - Shoot-Out [DVD] (DVD)
Too much like Top Gear, so there is nothing different that usually makes JC's videos stand out. I have bought all of JC's previous videos and enjoyed watching them over and over, however with this one you feel you have already watched it the first time you see it, mainly because if you are a Top Gear fan you have, right down to the destroying of the caravan. Finding the best or most fun car of 2003 is what Top Gear does, so what's the point? Just about every car has been on the new style Top Gear. Don't get me wrong it is still fun to watch but on top of being almost identical to Top Gear it has no classic moments or quotes ("Titchmarsh GTI" still makes me laugh) so if you are expecting Corvettes to be shot by helicopters, 911's to be dropped on caravans and Volvos crashed in to trees because JC can not stand to drive it a moment longer you will be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shoot Out, Gun Fight at the OK Coral, 1 Nov 2006
By 
J. Harrison "Lionsmaine" (Victoria, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Clarkson - Shoot-Out [DVD] (DVD)
Wow, what can i say?? 71 minutes of pleasure as Geremy shows us the best cars from 2003, probably the best year for the motor vehicle. The cars he is looking for are the most fun to drive and i particulally liked the drag race between the Subaru Impreza and the Mitsubishi EVO V111.

I think Geremy is still smiling even now.

Well worth the purchase and would make an excellent present for the blokes girls if you're stuck for Christmas or birthdays.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Clarkson The Legend, 8 Mar 2011
This review is from: Clarkson - Shoot-Out [DVD] (DVD)
Great DVD and I highly recommend you read his book "Don't Stop Me Now" which are all the columns he wrote in the Sunday Times (2003) about the cars in this DVD. Clarkson's individualism and thought provoking comments shine through once more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A bit of a disappointment!, 29 Dec 2003
By 
Lesley and Simon (Cranleigh, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
My partner and I have bought every JC video in the past and we
looked forward to watching this one on Christmas morning. However we were a bit disappointed. It's fairly boring; the others have all been fun and we've watched them over and over until they're nearly worn out. It's just like Top Gear without the fun and laughs; I suppose JC has done everything on Top Gear this year and ran out of ideas. Well I think I might be dropping this DVD from a great height or blowing it up in the true JC tradition!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What's Went Wrong?, 8 Mar 2005
This review is from: Clarkson - Shoot-Out [DVD] (DVD)
I might be a fan of the Clarkson DVD's, but, why is this one so poor. For example, why is there a Smart Car in it? We are used to seeing clarkson in Ferrari's and Aston Martin's. Buy it if you want but my advice is to stay clear and buy his new DVD: Hot Metal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Clarkson - Shoot-Out [DVD]
Clarkson - Shoot-Out [DVD] by Jeremy Clarkson (DVD - 2003)
£1.96
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews