Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The definitive recording of a great work, 11 Aug 2005
By 
Mr. AJW Hegarty (Stockton-on-Tees) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Puccini: La Fanciulla del West [DVD](1982) [2001] [NTSC] (DVD)
Anyone interested in buying Puccini operas on DVD should look no further than this disc of 'La Fanciulla del West'.
The DVD quality is excellent and I had no hesitation in discarding my old video version. The production is superb: set design, costuming, and direction are all spot on. In Domingo, we have a genuine star in his absolute prime, nothing less than perfect as Dick Johnson. Carol Neblett really does look the part as Minnie and copes admirably with the very difficult passages towards the end of Act 1 and her acting and singing in the climax of Act 2 could scarcely be bettered. But in many ways, the real stars are the Covent Garden company, with Bob Lloyd, Gwynne Howell, and Francis Egerton delightful in the minor roles.
It's a real shame that there aren't more live performances of 'La Fanciulla del West', because it really does prove Puccini's mastery of dramatic musical theatre. The score is full of little musical gems and you really do see something new in this production each time you watch it. Thanks to this DVD, we can enjoy the definitive performance of this work over and over again. Take a chance and buy without hesitation - you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chemistry in Spades, Diamonds Hearts and Clubs!, 13 Nov 2007
By 
This review is from: Puccini: La Fanciulla del West [DVD](1982) [2001] [NTSC] (DVD)
An absolutely fabulous production down to domingo's chaps! Acting is supreme, staging is excellent little details are fantastic. I saw the Miller/la scala production before this one and came away from that one feeling a little miffed. This is a hundred times better!
The chemistry between these two is magnificent. I would heartily recommend it pardners!

The kiss in Act II with the door blowing open, genius and the card game with the unconcious domingo, Classic!

I have not seen the Met Production yet but will no doubt in the next few weeks! If you have not already bought this production, treat yourself for Christmas!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece, 3 May 2007
By 
maximus (manchester, uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Puccini: La Fanciulla del West [DVD](1982) [2001] [NTSC] (DVD)
I had heard the CD version from a library many years ago. The DVD is even better. The music in this Opera is much more flowing and integrated with the plot than earlier Puccini operas. Domingo is very handsome and dashing in this, and Neblett is very feisty in the leading role. I'll watch this version a few more times I am sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars absolutely marvellous, 9 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Puccini: La Fanciulla del West [DVD](1982) [2001] [NTSC] (DVD)
This is a truly inspired opera with some wonderful music that to my mind admirably evokes the wild west. A soaring performance by the 3 principals, supported admirably and with considerable charm by the supporting cast. I can't stop watching it. An absolute must to purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great Covent Garden evening, 21 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Puccini: La Fanciulla del West [DVD](1982) [2001] [NTSC] (DVD)
In the age when opera is cursed with the pernicious presence of that Reggie Theater geezer, Faggioni's production of Fanciulla still shines like a beacon in the dark. This revival with the original cast is magnificently captured on DVD. I was at this performance and it was moving, exciting, dramatic and heartwarming. This performance draws you right in to this world of hope, sacrifice, human passions and a glorious pre-hollywood happy ever after, nostalgic climax. Carol Neblett had given birth only 6 weeks previous but refused to cancel. It is a stunning singing acting performance - tireless at the very demanding top of the role. Domingo looks perfect for the part, was in his vocal prime and is perfectly idiomatic . Close ups in no way embarrass his acting either. We also have the advantage over the cd recording, of Silvano Carolli's, darkly sung Jack Rance (rather than the generic Milnes performance). The convent garden ensemble are simply marvellous. In the pit, Santi is less exciting in the prelude than Mehta but he soon develops the tension and momentum of the piece, bringing the bonus of a true italianate sweep and portamento. Not HD of course but the 80s technology does Faggioni's great realisation excellent service. Keep a box of tissues next to the sofa!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great opera not often performed, 11 May 2014
By 
Roy Spackman (Wales U,.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Puccini: La Fanciulla del West [DVD](1982) [2001] [NTSC] (DVD)
I needed to have some idea of what it was all about before seeing it at Salford I had a recording with Renata Tebaldi but had not seen it live. A dear friend Alwyn Mellor was singing Minnie and what a performance she gave too A truly wonderful experience
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As good as it gets, 12 Jan 2014
By 
J W Snowball (Auckland 0602 New Zealand) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Puccini: La Fanciulla del West [DVD](1982) [2001] [NTSC] (DVD)
The five star rating is given for the performance and production, which I assume is the reason for any stars. The singing is fine, the only difficulties lie with the libretto itself, which even this oustanding cast can do little to remove. The "let's all be friends chaps" conclusion to me seems unreal given those trigger happy times out in the wild west gold rush era. Nor is it one of Puccini's best scores. Apart from a couple of well known arias,he seems to attempt to satisfy the leads with regularly placed ringing top notes. They do not add to the drama nor do they move the audience to anything other than admiration for the particular voice concerned. But that is well earned. The setting is appropriate and the costumes are more than adequate. Given the climate of modern operatic production, that is saying a lot.

Warrick Snowball
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pleasant, 26 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Puccini: La Fanciulla del West [DVD](1982) [2001] [NTSC] (DVD)
A very pleasant production. The opera itself is nothing startling - afterwards I can never recall any particular passage, there aren't any spectacular arias. (Seems a shame to use a star like Domingo in something verging on the pedestrian!) However having watched and listened once I no doubt will do it again once or twice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Puccini: La Fanciulla del West [DVD](1982) [2001] [NTSC]
10.88
In stock on July 18, 2014
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews