Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece
I was lucky enough to have seen this on BBC live from the Royal Opera House and although it was many years ago it still remains a favourite of mine. Having the three wonderful sopranos as opposed to the usual one added a dimension note seen since, as far as I am aware. And Placido Domingo was at his best during this period. Excellent DVD.
Published on 2 May 2009 by C. K. Wilson

versus
6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed
I was looking forward to watching this opera for the first time and took guidance from the Amazon Reviews.
This DVD is actually awful. I'm sure the performances are more than adequate however the sound and picture quality
don't even reach the standard of a second generation VHS Tape.
Conclusion don't waste your money.
Published on 1 April 2012 by K. Davis


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece, 2 May 2009
By 
C. K. Wilson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Offenbach: Les Contes d'Hoffmann -- Royal Opera House/Pretre [DVD] [2001] [NTSC] (DVD)
I was lucky enough to have seen this on BBC live from the Royal Opera House and although it was many years ago it still remains a favourite of mine. Having the three wonderful sopranos as opposed to the usual one added a dimension note seen since, as far as I am aware. And Placido Domingo was at his best during this period. Excellent DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent !, 26 Aug. 2002
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Placido Domingo leads an all round excellent cast. The singing is of a very high standard, and it is very well staged and produced.
I would recommend this to any opera lover, even if they are unfamiliar with this work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of my five Hoffmans, 3 Dec. 2013
By 
I. Zaneres (west midlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Offenbach: Les Contes d'Hoffmann -- Royal Opera House/Pretre [DVD] [2001] [NTSC] (DVD)
I will start off with the bad news, the picture quality is not good, particularly in long shot, but this is a 1981 production. There is no booklet and the arias etc. are listed inside the sleeve. The notes on the rear cover are scanty and give poor credit to the excellent cast, and ignore most completely.
Now to the good bits, the sets and stagings are excellent, and the dolby sound is very good.
Domingo is the best Hoffman in the five versions that are in my collection, and the rest are not bad.
Claire Powell is an excellent Nicklaus, she has a very pleasing mezzo and despite this being a strong role she has no mention on the sleeve.
The set for the prologue is a rough and ready bar with a balcony and an exuberant set of students. Robert Lloyd also makes an excellent Councillor Lindorf, his costume and presentation are very impressive.
The set of act one, Spalanzis house is full of scientific symbols and charts , which as the act continues opens up to reveal an impressive house. This act belongs to Luciana Serra, her portrayal of Olympia is unequalled in automotive movement, and the bisque complexion is very good. Her song is definitely a highlight of the whole production.
Geraint Evans as Coppelius is of course quite brilliant and his costume a work of amusing art.
There are some beautiful costumes in the party scene, and one or two clever touches like the photographer.
Act two has a sumptuous set for the courtesans, Agnes Baltsa and Claire Powell perform a memorable Barcarolle. Domingo and Baltsa perform some impassioned singing. Nimsgern " the diamond " aria is also memorable. The act is well staged with some unexpected coming and going and a good swordfight.
The set for the house of Antonia and her father is a sombre affair, in keeping with the overall mood of act three. Ileana Cotrubas is in fine voice, Ghiuselev is a sinister Dr Miracle and makes some unexpected entrances and exits. Worthy of mention is the cameo of Bernard Dickerson as Frantz.
The epilogue is back in the bar, where Hoffmans dreams are explained. In a final moment of exquisite beauty Nicklaus is transformed into the Muse.
Even if you have other versions I suggest that you should add this to your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Justly famous production but pitiable programme notes, 24 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Offenbach: Les Contes d'Hoffmann -- Royal Opera House/Pretre [DVD] [2001] [NTSC] (DVD)
The many five star ratings for this production are amply justified. Production values(traditional), music and singing are at a very high standard. The direction for video is by the very experienced and capable Brian Large although this was quite an early outing for this master of the craft. The programme notes are minimal in the extreme. Fortunately there are at least chapter headings but there is only very limited information about the opera. Only the actual stars are named from the large cast and here serious omissions include Robert Tear as Spalanzini, Claire Powell as Nicklaus and Gwynne Howell as Crespel which are large parts.

Rightly Placido Domingo has received great praise for his fine central performance but the production is also well served by his three great loves. Luciana Serra delivers a beautifully sung and acted Doll's Song; Agnes Baltsa is totally believable as the courtesan Giulietta and Ileana Cotrubas brings a fragile vulnerability to the doomed Antonia. Among the great sopranos of the 1970s & 1980s this performer had few rivals in conveying pathos.

Trottman
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 19 July 2010
By 
Brian G. Muirhead "brian" (Oxfordshire GB) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Offenbach: Les Contes d'Hoffmann -- Royal Opera House/Pretre [DVD] [2001] [NTSC] (DVD)
Probably one of the greatest opera performances and recordings ever. I was not lucky enough to be there but instead it caught my ear as I was listening to the BBC Radio 3 live broadcast. Astonishing singing and great that there is at least a DVD recording as I cannot find a CD recording.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Baltsa crowns this masterpiece, 13 July 2012
This review is from: Offenbach: Les Contes d'Hoffmann -- Royal Opera House/Pretre [DVD] [2001] [NTSC] (DVD)
Shot in the days when we did not have sharp picture definition this production is a total triumph. I was at Covent Garden the first night it opened and it was the most electrifying production.
Agnes Baltsa for me is the supreme crowning achievement of this production. Every gesture, toss of the head and movement conveys the manipulation of Hoffman and the intoxifying mix of the bizarre and the human.
A triumph and don't let any one tell you otherwise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent Production, 6 Mar. 2012
By 
R. Bruce - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Offenbach: Les Contes d'Hoffmann -- Royal Opera House/Pretre [DVD] [2001] [NTSC] (DVD)
I cannot think of any weaknesses on the part of the cast performing this opera. One would not expect anything but a first class performance from Placido Domingo in the title role and he does not disappoint here. However, it is the supporting roles that make this B.B.C /Covent Garden production a gem. My only criticism is perhaps the picture quality, particularly the stage lighting that could have been better although it was recorded no doubt, on tape, some years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Serious opera, 4 July 2013
By 
Brian Pickering "bpick" (Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Offenbach: Les Contes d'Hoffmann -- Royal Opera House/Pretre [DVD] [2001] [NTSC] (DVD)
Offenbach is regarded as a composer of comic opera, Orpheus and so on. The Tales of Hoffman is sometimes put in the same box but it should be taken out wiped and put to sit beside The Magic Flute; sopranos get their moments in the spotlight in both works and the element of fun is prominent. Offenbach's talent for composing a strong melody made him a famous. His talent for producing lively shows made him rich. These are not the the qualities most admired in a creative artist nowadays. So enjoy a superior example of the pleasure of humming the tunes long after you put the DVD back in its box. It will remind you of more expansive times when you didn't wear jeans to the ball and "accessible" meant you could get through the door of the carriage without creasing your crinoline.
Brain Pickering
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unmisable, 17 Jan. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Offenbach: Les Contes d'Hoffmann -- Royal Opera House/Pretre [DVD] [2001] [NTSC] (DVD)
Skillfully directed and staged, with excelleny eye for detail. Superbly acted and beautifully sung. This Covent Garden production is unbeatable. Five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Opera lover, 9 Sept. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Offenbach: Les Contes d'Hoffmann -- Royal Opera House/Pretre [DVD] [2001] [NTSC] (DVD)
Lovely production and cast.

Fantastic performance and singing by Domingo.

The drawback of the opera is the 3 "flames" of Hoffman , especially Antonia, which in my opinion are not up to 5 star and nothing near the 2009 MET performance by Anna Netrebko. Therefore 4 star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Offenbach: Les Contes d'Hoffmann -- Royal Opera House/Pretre [DVD] [2001] [NTSC]
£14.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews