Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars15
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£38.00+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 November 2003
The Beiderbecke series,affair,tapes,connection, is a unique & often sureal set of adventures. Starring the brilliant james bolam & barbara flynn.Also with dudley sutton of 'lovejoy'fame adds sparkle.This is a must have in any collection as it's top rate viewing.The 'Connection' isn't so good but still has that blend which works well.The DVD's themselves are poor with no special features,no chapter points,and don't seem to have been re-mastered. And 'Tapes' has been edited into a 150 min movie unlike the VHS issue in two parts thus only (4 stars).
0Comment|42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2003
I am so glad this has finally been given the DVD treatment. Way back in the 80s I came across this wonderful comedy drama and lost my heart forever. Nothing nasty ever happens in any of these stories. The wrong kind of records are delivered and a meeting is cancelled but that's as dramatic as it gets. That's not the point though. It's a character driven gem. I could rave about James Bolam and Barbara Flynn until the cows came home but there isn't anyone in here who falls short of perfection. All the characters are wonderful, from Sergeant Hobson to Big and Little Al.
I still rate it as Alan Plater's finest moment ever. Only the second series wavered in quality at all when they take the dreaded school kids to Amsterdam (if I remember correctly) but even that was great.
This is a collection to make you smile and give you a warm squishy feeling inside. I can't recommend it enough.
Remember, "We are on the brink of a new era, if only..."
0Comment|37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2003
Nice to have this available on DVD. It's gently paced, but wonderfully funny. Pity about the quality though. It's not just that it has not been remastered, but the quality of the print and the sound is very dubious at times. In the very first episode there is a clearly visible hair in the projection gate.
Persevere though, it's worth the hassle.
0Comment|35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2006
Comedy doesn't get more laid back than this. A fantastic reminder of pre "Rat Race" England. While I was never quite convinced by James Bolan in the lead role, the supporting cast was perfect. All the characters were totally believable.

I loved the graduate police detective. The typical school swat, alone and lost when confronted with the real World. The use of Duddley Sutton for comic interludes was pure genius.

Be warned "Biederbeck Connection" is disappointing. The second sequel was unnecessary and simply doesn't work.

I found nothing wrong with the picture quality or sound. I was

dissapointed by a complete lack of extras.

Highly recommended to anyone 40+ born outside of planet London.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2004
This is a lovely comedy series - gently twisted, sardonic, and refreshing. I have longed to get the series again after half my VHS set was lost. The DVD's fill the bill nicely, although, technically, they do not make use of many possible DVD features.
Still, if you enjoy comedy, and the triumph of the little person against the organisation, get these asap.
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 15 July 2007
Ok, maybe a bit far fetched to make that comparison because Dudley Sutton would make a poor Max and there isn't much 'Moider'.

I fell in love with The Beiderbecke affair, quite literally due to a schoolboy crush on Barbera Flynn (although she had an overtly more sexy role in A Peculiar Practice). I'm over that now, but that means I can appreciate the subtle plot twists and dialogue (yes there is some, honest).

The music is something I've always appreciated as a backdrop to the story. I'm not that much of a jazz fan, but it does match the pace of the plot and the scenery!

Worth buying the whole set, although I note there is another box set with a free CD as this one is no longer available.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2004
The Beiderbeck series is an excellent example of a good script and acting. However, when they transfered the show to DVD they did it in the cheapest manner they could. The quality of the picture is slightly fuzzy, but the sound is poor, particularly in the first episode of the Beiderbeck affair. They have taken a quality show and made it hard to watch.
0Comment|33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2013
Even though the series wasn't made all that long ago, it's a trip down memory lane. Its very interesting to see how Leeds has changed since that era. Mass -so-called- slum clearance that ended up destroying communities.
The Beiderbecke Affair is really good, but the other two programmes aren't as enjoyable. Of course that's a matter of taste and others may disagree.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
A classic gentle comedy that was very much of its time.

It does now look rather dated.

Very enjoyable and the interaction between the two lead characters is superb.

Well written and acted.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2014
I enjoyed this series when it was originally on TV, and although by todays standards, it may seem a little "dated" in some respects, it is still a very enjoyable series.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)