Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this redefines emo
well where to start, the whole emo thing is going crazy at the moment it looks set to be the new nu metal if that makes any sense, which i find is a shame since ive been a fan of the emo screamo scence for a long while, any way, this album really does rock its kind of like the used in places only abit toned down which is no bad thing my personal favourites are 'the hero...
Published on 2 Nov 2003 by Mr. David J. Keyte

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bland and derivative
Looking at the reviews for this album, you'd think it was a revolutionary album set to change the face of the genre that spawned it forever. It isn't. Well then, you'd at least expect it to be an album that sets this band apart from all other bands of their kind and establishes them as leaders of the "emo" explosion. It doesn't. It just sounds exactly like everyone else...
Published on 30 May 2004


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this redefines emo, 2 Nov 2003
By 
Mr. David J. Keyte "dead on arrival" (U.K Worcestershire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Page Avenue (Audio CD)
well where to start, the whole emo thing is going crazy at the moment it looks set to be the new nu metal if that makes any sense, which i find is a shame since ive been a fan of the emo screamo scence for a long while, any way, this album really does rock its kind of like the used in places only abit toned down which is no bad thing my personal favourites are 'the hero will drown' and 'anthem of our dying day'
i recomend this to fans of; my chemical romance, taking back sunday, finch, the used and this day forward
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brand New/Moneen/Funeral For A Friend, 22 Feb 2004
By 
G. Nechvatal "Grenecher" (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Page Avenue (Audio CD)
Wat can i say, this album is one of many kinds. Emo at the moment is exploding, so many bands producing some fantastic music. SOTY are just incredible, thanks to a few clicks around the Linkin Park, i found myself jumping around to 'Until The Day I Die' which was being previewed on the site. From then on i was hooked, i had to have this album, it just sounded so imense. Wel im not disapponted, the album is incrdible, track after track, it just gets better. I hope emo can carry on for a few more years so we can recieve bands like SOTY. If u r also into this kind of music, i recommend Brand New and Moneen. Happy listening and ROCK ON!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Debut Album, 27 Dec 2003
This review is from: Page Avenue (Audio CD)
This debut album by Story Of The Year gets straight to the point with the most exciting track on the album, 'And The Hero Will Drown', the pace drops after that, this isn't a bad thing though. 'Until The Day I Die' is a catchy track that will probably attract people to this album. Other highlights of this album include the touching 'Anthem Of Our Dying Day' and 'In The Shadows'. This album is best compared to The Used's self titled album, this may be down to the fact it was produced by John Feldmann, the producer of The Used's album. Story Of The Year are bound to be a big power in the rock/emo scene in 2004.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars grating against your ears drums in all ther right ways, 4 Jun 2009
SOTY is not different form other bands its' just not the same as them and this album really emphasis this. it screams we are other than the norm and actually pulls it of reasonably well, something so many have failed at in the past.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Album arrived in a fine condition, haven't had any problems with it, 30 Sep 2014
This review is from: Page Avenue (Audio CD)
Album arrived in a fine condition, haven't had any problems with it.
The album itself is fantastic, definitely a new favourite of mine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bland and derivative, 30 May 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Page Avenue (Audio CD)
Looking at the reviews for this album, you'd think it was a revolutionary album set to change the face of the genre that spawned it forever. It isn't. Well then, you'd at least expect it to be an album that sets this band apart from all other bands of their kind and establishes them as leaders of the "emo" explosion. It doesn't. It just sounds exactly like everyone else. Imagine a cross between Finch and The Used. Now I'm not going to deny those are two fantastic bands that put their own stamp all over a sound that's become really overdone in the last year or two, but a mix between their sounds wouldn't exactly create something mind-blowing would it? And that's exactly what Story of the Year do.
Okay, maybe I'm being a bit harsh; there's some elements of Thursday here as well. Really though, if you love bands like The Used, Finch, Thursday, Funeral For a Friend et al, you might quite like this. But unless you've never heard another remotely "emo" record before, this really isn't going to blow your mind. When the "emo" explosion eventually runs of steam, expect Story of the Year to join nu-metal dunderheads like Adema and Coal Chamber in the "Whatever Happen To..." file. Until then, you might as well buy this CD, or if you're a bit strapped for cash, put on your Finch or Used CDs, because either way, you'll be basically listening to the same thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Band of the year more like!, 5 Feb 2004
This review is from: Page Avenue (Audio CD)
Wow. Wot can I say? I am truly amazed. This is the best album i have bought for a long time. I 1st heard about them when I listened to "And the hero will drown" on a festival album of some sort and I woz blown away. This song is brutal and is the heaviest on the album. not that the rest is any less good. There really isn't a bad song on there.
The most refreshing thing tho is that the singer can actually sing well. Whereas bands like Glassjaw employ sum pillok that's tone deaf, story of the year don't. The songs are well written with highlights including "dive right in", "razorblades", and the beautiful acoustic track "sidewalks". FANTASTIC!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not as good as it could be..., 23 Dec 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Page Avenue (Audio CD)
Don't buy this album based off the opening track, the majority of the songs here are of a slower more emo tone, kind of like a softer version of Thrice's new albums.
This is still a solid emo album showing a lot of talent, memorable lyrics and top quality production but it's disappointing that none of the other tracks can touch And The Hero Will Drown. If you want something softer and slower, go for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars story of the year.., 10 Sep 2003
This review is from: Page Avenue (Audio CD)
This cd is amazing, check it out! Until the day i die is insane!! Buy this cd!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Page Avenue
Page Avenue by Story Of The Year (Audio CD)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews