Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best rally game ever!
I'm a rally fan. I'm a games fan. I've been both for over 20 years and only now, after 2 decades, someone has finally created a game that delivers the real experience for console.
In short, WRC3 is staggeringly good, in fact "good" doesn't even begin to describe how wonderful this is. The handling is up there with GT3 and makes a mockery of Colin McRae 4. The...
Published on 5 Dec 2003 by A. Taylor

versus
16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars WRC 3 vs Colin McRae 4
It's winter again, and here come the next release of Codemaster's McRae and Sony's WRC. Last year I sold CM3 for WRC2, but this year, in a reversal of fortune I shall be selling WRC3 for CM4! I think the best way to compare two games is to go through each of the things that makes a rally game great:
Graphics: CM4: gorgeous, a definate improvement to CM3. Realistic...
Published on 4 Dec 2003 by Mr. D. Haylett


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best rally game ever!, 5 Dec 2003
By 
A. Taylor (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: World Rally Championship 3 (Video Game)
I'm a rally fan. I'm a games fan. I've been both for over 20 years and only now, after 2 decades, someone has finally created a game that delivers the real experience for console.
In short, WRC3 is staggeringly good, in fact "good" doesn't even begin to describe how wonderful this is. The handling is up there with GT3 and makes a mockery of Colin McRae 4. The graphics are simply beautiful despite occasional glitches and the stages are massively varied and utterly exhausting to drive. Everything about it is leagues above everything else out there.
Ignore the review stating WRC2 is better. It isn't. It isn't even in the same ballpark. The only flaw in the handling occurs if you use an external view when the steering is too sensitive, but using this view is to miss out on the most absorbing and visceral rally physics model you'll have experienced. Use the bonnet or drivers view and the handling is phenomenally realistic, yet not so much as to be unplayable. In short, this is to rallying that GT3 is to circuit racing...yes, that good!
If you're a rally fan, or a games fan, or both, you have to own this game.
God only knows how they'll improve on this, but I suspect they will...roll on the PS3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars WRC 3 vs Colin McRae 4, 4 Dec 2003
This review is from: World Rally Championship 3 (Video Game)
It's winter again, and here come the next release of Codemaster's McRae and Sony's WRC. Last year I sold CM3 for WRC2, but this year, in a reversal of fortune I shall be selling WRC3 for CM4! I think the best way to compare two games is to go through each of the things that makes a rally game great:
Graphics: CM4: gorgeous, a definate improvement to CM3. Realistic backdrops, highly-detailed cars, impressive particles (like dust, mud, sparks) WRC3: not quite as good. not even as good as WRC2 for some reason! doesn't seem quite as realistic.
Detail: CM4: loads. trees, bushes, ruts in the track, fences, realistic buildings, basically there's stuff on-screen that you'll never even get to see. WRC3: compared to CM4 - bland. the odd tree here and there, the flat road, the detail-less mountains in the background which seem to be one polygon with a muddy texture. A step back from WRC2!
Sound: CM4: the engines sound gruff, realistic and different between cars. bangs, bumps and rattles are also very good. WRC3: the engines sound a bit too smooth and rev too freely, and sound too similar between cars.
Co-driver: CM4: no disrespect to the veteran Nicky Grist, but I think I've heard just a bit too much of his voice. Thankfully there is a new (Scottish) voice. The calls are good, with corner sharpness, distance, and other pointers like "turn right at tree". WRC3: a bland voice of a guy who doesn't really sound like he wants to be there. too quiet even with volume turned up. sometimes you miss something he says. doesn't tell you distance to next obstacle (as CM4 does).
Handling: CM4: an improvement to CM3. not as arcadey but still not too realistic. quite fun and easy to pick up. not frustrating at all. car feels like it's planted on the road. vibration through gamepad really takes you in. WRC3: an improvement to WRC2 which was far too realistic, WRC3 takes a step towards fun so that CM4 and WRC3 meet somewhere in the middle. having said that the car doesn't 'feel' like it's in the game at all. it's like you're navigating the course and theres a picture of a car stuck in the middle of the screen and there's no correlation between the two. too smooth, and sometimes you can't brake hard enough. frustrating at times.
Variety: CM4: 7 base cars, with ability to unlock 'dangerous' Group B cars, plus fun cars like a transit van. mini-games take the form of parts testing where you are supposed to wreck part of your car (like suspension or tyres) to get an upgrade. 8 countries (all very different) and 48 tracks. WRC3: 7 base cars, with ability to unlock extreme versions with double the horsepower, plus the odd hidden car like Mits. Pajero. 14 countries (although some look the same in ways) and 125 tracks.
Verdict: Buy Colin McRae 4 in preference to WRC3 if you like rally games. CM4 is more fun, looks better, feels more real, and gets you involved. WRC3 is plain, harder to control, a step BACK from WRC2 (!) and tends to rely on the licence to sell (to the extent that the title on the side of the game is: WRC3(TM): The Official Game of the FIA World Rally Championship). There are loads of video clips of drivers and cars and so on, but you're there to PLAY the game not watch it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!!!!!!, 29 Dec 2003
This review is from: World Rally Championship 3 (Video Game)
I just received this as a gift from my girlfriend for Christmas, and have to say I have found it difficult to stop playing it. I also own CM4 and in my opinion they are not in the same league. I like some others who have reviewed this title am a rallying fan in fact a car nut in general, and think that this is the best rallying game there is. I can only think that the people who reviewed the game and gave it a poor rating are not rally fans and could not appreciate the way the cars handle in true rally style. I would recommend anyone who likes rallying to buy this game and I am sure it will give you hours of enjoyment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Rally game - by an SSS, 4 Oct 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: World Rally Championship 3 (Video Game)
Having had the opportunity to play this game I can honestly say that it is the best rally game to ever grace a game console. The sense of speed is amazing and the draw distance quite sublime, you can literally see for miles. All of the official WRC cars and drivers (bar one Scottish driver) are available to use and, of course, every WRC rally including the newly added Turkish rally.
If you own a PS2 this game is an absolute must buy, you will not regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Good but not as good as WRC2 extreme, 2 Dec 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: World Rally Championship 3 (Video Game)
Sorry guys. the steering is 'floaty' the car seems to be missing it's 300bhp judging by the rather slow acceleration and the graphics are a bit on the glitchy side.
On the plus side the level of detail on the graphics is very good and if you hit a rock at the side of the road, you know all about it.
For my money WRC2 Extreme is still the best Rally game for the PS2 (although haven't tried the latest Colin Macrae outing yet). The speed of the game is very fast indeed and very exciting to play. It's slightly let down by unreallistically forgiving handling on the rough stuff, but is great fun to play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Probably the Best of the WRC Games on the PS2, 2 Dec 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: World Rally Championship 3 (Video Game)
The WRC series in its PS2 incarnation was the official game of the World Rally Championship, and was developed by Liverpool-based Evolution Studios, from the original World Rally Championship in 2001 to WRC: Rally Evolved in 2005. Originally released in Europe back in November 2003, WRC3 is based on the 2003 WRC season.

When you start up WRC3 and get to the main menu, you're presented with the option to view the high scores, alter the audio/visual/control options, start a full championship season, do a time trial on specific stages, or start a quick race (random car, random stage).
The audio options offer the chance to change the pacenote style (number representing severity of corner/description of corner shape) and of course alter the volume of the co-driver's voice, sound effect volume and music volume. The visual options include unit display (kph/mph), tachometer display (analogue/digital), and the ability to turn on and off the various parts of the in-game display (split times/overall time/co-driver arrows/current country and stage/progress and split indicators/tachometer/speedometer/current gear). In control options, you can turn analog buttons on or off, adjust the level of force feedback, choose automatic or manual gears, and view the controller configuration for each player (though there's no option for custom button mapping, unfortunately).
Time trial is the usual affair of racing against the clock on a stage of your choice, and it's possible to have up to four players taking turns or two players in simultaneous head-to-head.
In the championship menu, you can choose to undertake a full season (you can even enter up to four players here!), compete in a single rally, or have a burn round the test track (which is an enjoyable mish-mash of a skid pan, jump section, hairpin section, chicane section and high-speed oval for testing top speed).

The overall look has been changed so that it no longer ties in with the TV coverage of the time, so gone are the Eurosport-esque Jeremy Hart-narrated intros to each country, to be replaced with a menu. Here you can select 'Country Postcard', 'Rally History', 'Environment' and 'Rally Location'. All are self-explanatory, save for maybe 'Country Postcard', which is a twenty-second introduction to the rally using in-game graphics and a voiceover by Jon Desborough. Once you proceed from there, it's on to shakedown, where you can test different setup combinations by driving on a small section of the upcoming rally as many times as you like, and once that's done it's on to the rally itself!

The in-game graphics are a leap forward after the previous games, and must've been among the best on the console in 2003 (they still look good in 2013, too). Like the two games preceding WRC3, the draw distance is something to behold and there isn't even a hint of slowdown. This time however, the visuals are much sharper and there's a vibrancy to the colours that wasn't there before. The cars are wonderfully modelled and shine and sparkle as they speed along, and the addition of a free explorer where you can view each car from all angles, open and close the doors and look under the bonnet in the car select section was also a nice touch. The driver and co-driver appearances are also faithfully rendered.
The cars take damage in a much more realistic way than in the previous two games, with it being very easy to smash up your car in a number of ways, from windows smashing, to the bonnet flying open and the windscreen getting cracked (both of which serve to obscure your view), to the gear box jamming and experiencing a loss of overall engine power. Your co-driver will inform you when a key component gets damaged in a big way, although it's never possible to damage the cars to the point where they won't run anymore, which might disappoint some!

In the previous two games the stages for each country seemed to be kind of 'generic', that is to say there were different corners coming at you all the time, but the scenery looked the same throughout. This time, however, Evolution Studios clearly went to town on making the stages as interesting as possible, and the game has you passing through towns, over bridges, ploughing through watersplashes and speeding past road signs that are specific to each country. The huge long flags being held aloft over the stages in Finland are also worthy of mention. There are also now surface changes within stages, so you get the proper asphalt-snow combination in Monte Carlo (rather than just asphalt roads with snowy scenery like before), a mix of snow and ice in Sweden, different types of gravel in Turkey and various hard surfaces in Germany.

Purists will be disappointed to hear that the complex setup options from WRC II Extreme have been done away with for something a lot more simple. What we're left with is just Suspension, Brake Bias, and Gear Ratio, with three settings for each. This isn't a gamebreaker, but more in-depth setups would've been nice.

The handling is a huge improvement on the previous two games. Gone is the digital steering, and though it still feels overly-light and not too realistic, the changes are welcome after the sometimes out-of-control feel of the cars in the previous game. Gone too are the "magnetic barriers" of WRC II, where contact with any kind of barrier at the side of the road was certain to latch on to your car and flip you round in the opposite direction. Unfortunately though, there's no option for adjusting steering sensitivity, though it is possible to switch between the d-button for slower steering and the left stick for faster.

The sound is something of a mixed bag. The engine sounds have been faithfully recreated from samples taken from each real-life World Rally Car, and the ambient noises provided by the crowd and such help add to the atmosphere. The pacenotes however, are something of a weak point. This time they were recorded by Petter Solberg's then-co-driver Phil Mills, but they come off sounding like a cut-and-paste job. They're very choppy and stilted, and can be hard to follow as a result. When playing other rally games, I always turn off the co-driver arrows to add to the realism, but find it best to keep them on for this game (incidentally, this was a problem present in all the games in this series).
As far as music goes, in the first game you got a couple of tracks by Faithless and in WRC II Extreme the Chemical Brothers also provided two (including the sublime Star Guitar, which worked perfectly as the menu theme). This time Primal Scream do the honours with as many as eight songs, though you won't hear the majority of them if you keep the 'in-game music' option on its default 'off' setting.

One criticism levelled at the game is that the jump in difficulty on championship mode from 'Novice' to 'Professional' is too great, though this can be countered with the evolutions that are unlocked for each car in the WRC class the more distance you drive in each one. There are five in total for each car, and each improves certain aspects of the car's performance, mainly speed, handling and durability (as in harder to damage).
On top of the evolutions of the standard World Rally Cars, there are 'extreme' concept versions of each WRC that have been designed by their respective teams. There are also further concept cars to unlock, with Peugeot having a rally version of the 406 Coupe, Ford presenting the Fiesta Rallye Concept, Mitsubishi chiming in with the Pajero Dakar, Subaru the B11S, and Skoda bringing the Superb Sonic to the table.

But the real thing that sets WRC3 apart from the games that came both before and after it is the fact that each of the fourteen rallies has a whopping *nine* stages to blast through. This will delight the rally enthusiast who wants to experience the endurance aspect of a full season (the increase to sixteen ralles for the 2004 season meant that WRC4 dropped the number of stages per rally to six, and Rally Evolved lowered it further to a very disappointing three). It also helped that there were as many as seven different teams competing in 2003, with Peugeot, Ford, Subaru, Hyundai, Skoda, Citroen and Mitsubishi all present and selectable (the real-life Mitsubishi Ralliart team actually only entered three of the fourteen rallies in the 2003 season, but through the magic of games you can give them the full season they never had).

In short, WRC3 is content-packed enough that those who're into driving games in general should find it enjoyable indeed. It also does things differently enough that those who swear by the Colin McRae Rally series should give it a chance. It's cheap enough nowadays that you won't lose much either way!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Simply the best", 16 Nov 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: World Rally Championship 3 (Video Game)
When i first played it on a demo i thought it was alright because i only got 2 levels to play but once i bought it i was amazed i couldn't put it down, i must of played it non-stop for around 15 hours!
If your looking for a Rally game but with a bit more spark..... you've found it, WRC III is "THE" rally game it's better than it's predecessors WRC I and II it's got a better range of cars (my personal favourite the Subaru Impreza prototype) and courses.
If you have a chance to get it- get it! The qraphics and gameplay are great, i took it round a friends and he thought it was really good.
This is a much better game than Colin McRae rally 04 i rate it 5/5!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Supermarket Sweep, 4 Dec 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: World Rally Championship 3 (Video Game)
Shopping trolleys. They infuriate you, don't they? Cumbersome things with poor handling - causing you to knock into things; making you to perspire with embarrassment. No, never had that common problem down the local supermarket? Well buy this and you will experience something similar.
At times, this game is very frustrating, the cars - on certain occasions - have a will of their own and you will find yourself careering into a mound of strategically placed rocks or trees and then getting hopelessly stuck. Now, I bet your thinking this is because I'm very bad at this game - maybe you're right - but I've been playing it for a week and at this point I am leading the Championship at Professional Level with only three rallies to go - not bad eh for carting around in a wonky trolley. ...
Graphically this game is excellent, there is some pop-up - but nothing alarming - some of the buildings can look a bit, well, blocky - not much detail, which does let the general scenery down. Sound FX are good ....
It would have been good if gamers had more choice of trolleys, e.g. an MG Z-thingy, a Saxo or even a Vauxhall Nova with transfers stuck on it .. also, if you could enter yourself as a driver rather than having to select a 'real' one!
This game is worth buying as it is fun, but I think once you've completed the World Championship you will want to have a go at the real thing .. so pop down your local store and see how you get on ....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must have game! Can't wait for WRC 4, 23 Aug 2004
By 
A Harrington "Racing Driver" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: World Rally Championship 3 (Video Game)
This game is very good indeed. I Really can't wait for WRC 4 to come out in November but you must buy this! Graphics are an improvement to the MUST HAVE WRC II which I only have a demo of. My gamester dual force wheel responds perfectly which doesn't happen with my other racing games. If it doesn't respond with F355 a game i'm getting tommorow and played in arcades. 10/10. WRC 2 Extreme is nearly as good though 2 star reviewer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not as good as WRC4 for PS2, 23 Jan 2013
By 
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: World Rally Championship 3 (Video Game)
this game is very poor in comparison to WRC 4 so dont expect it to be in the same class as that because it is not, the tracks are far too wide, its very boring game, PS3 versions are far better
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

World Rally Championship 3
World Rally Championship 3 by Sony (PlayStation2)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews