Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars445
4.9 out of 5 stars
Price:£24.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 August 2009
My old aluminium one turned into a receptacle for catching used engine oil without my knowledge or consent so no, I didn't want it back. This one is a treasure, bigger than they used to be, capacity markings on the inside and angled so that the sugar thermometer stands virtually upright without slipping. The handle stays firmly upright too and is tall enough to be lifted with bare hand without burning or resorting to obscenity or blasphemy. Whilst you still need protection in the hand holding the other handle, the pouring lip is correctly shaped for splash free pouring into the funnel which allows all the jars to be filled before the cooked jam actually freezes. The cooking heat is evenly distributed so you can move more than two feet from the cooker without the jam catching and producing those interesting carbon chunks so endearingly reminiscent grandma's jam forced down in childhood.
1212 comments|222 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2010
The Maslin pan is very good quality, and made 12 pounds of marmalade with no bother.I have an induction hob and was pleased with the price as often, equipment for an induction hob is very expensive. A great product, especially as I've seen the same pan in the shops for 50% dearer.
0Comment|43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2009
I've made two lots of jam and some tomato chutney in my Maslin pan - and so far, so good! Although it has good, even heating properties, the main handle remains cool enough to lift the pan without using a cloth or oven glove.

I had previously tried to make chutney in an ordinary stockpot, and it was obviously too tall and narrow to cope with cooking off the excess liquid. If you're seriously considering making preserves, this pan will likely be a godsend. Great if you grow your own fruit and veg and have a glut of produce to use up. I've made marrow, ginger, lemon and brandy jam - a great way to use up marrows, and fantastically and surprisingly good tasting too! This pan will be used a lot on the run-up to Christmas, as friends and family will be getting homemade food gifts this year; how about that for truly personalised, money-saving gifts during this credit crunch recession?
11 comment|31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2009
absolutely perfect for homemade chutneys,pickles, jams and marmalades, this one is for a wedding present, for my future sister-in-law, who also makes her own cider,
0Comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2009
Never used a maslin pan before - absolutely brilliant - can't wait to try chutney in it - well worth buying.
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2009
Stainless steel is what you need for a decent preserving pan (not copper or aluminium), but it can be costly, so finding this was a real bargain.
0Comment|32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2009
Brilliant - perfect heat distribution results in great jam every time. Useful handle on the side helps with pouring the jam out when it's done. Good price, too :)
0Comment|40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2009
as the advert says, it does what it says on the tin!. my only criitiscm is that it could do with an extra handle for the weight.
11 comment|25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2009
If you are serious about making jam, chutney or preserves it is worthwhile investing in a decent maslin pan such as this one. It does a good job and I,for one, am well satisfied.
0Comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2009
This is a really great quality piece of cookware. Love making my preserves in it. It looks great is sturdy and so easy to clean. They have thought of eveything and its very safe to handle.
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 11 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.