Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A class of their own
Unusually for Rush, this is their second triple-live album in just four years (they tend to do them at the end of four-album cycles), follwing on from 1999s "Different Stages".
Recorded on their "Vapor Trails" tour of 2002, this see's Rush back in the limelight (sic) after their sabatical following drummer/lyricist Neil Peart's personal tragedies of losing his...
Published on 12 Nov. 2003

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing sound quality
By Rush's normally high standards, this CD is a bit of a let down. It sounds more like a decent bootleg recording rather than an official release. In places the relatively raw sound can be considered to be preferable to an overly-polished official live album, but for much of the time the vocals are too distant, the crowd a little too noisy and the drums lack "oomph"...
Published on 4 Nov. 2003 by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rush as awesome as ever, yet query setlist and mixing, 15 Dec. 2003
By 
B. Knapp "Bazzoid/Sazzles" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rush In Rio (Audio CD)
Having waited for the DVD since April, why did they have to wait until exactly one year after the show to release it!!!?, couldn't wait to get the CD.
The CD captures an awesome stage show but still suffers from the same faults as the DVD. I don't think it's the sound quality per se that's a problem - as some of the reviewers state - but the lack of distinction between the vocals and the guitars/sound in the mix itself.
Geddy's vocals disappear and a newcomer wouldn't appreciate the majesty of Neil Peart's words (WHY DON'T THEY SUBTITLE DVDs?) The sound merges into one and I hope this isn't due to Alex's input into the sound mixing.
However, the rest of the set is fantastic. Rush fans will notice the evolution of Neil's drum solo and the acoustic "Resist" is a revelation. The Driven/Ghost Rider/Secret Touch is a poignant combination too.
We certainly get an interesting insight into some of the guys' favourite songs.
Strange choice of songs in some respect. They tend to favour the first songs from each album? I've always found the first songs on each CD to be the singles/powerhouses but the crowd responded well to "Closer to the Heart" (OK that was a single way back), "Bravado" and "Roll the Bones"
Could have done with songs of more depth, largely a wall of sound. Why nothing from "Hold Your Fire", perhaps the guys fed up with synths.
That aside, the power and atmosphere of the performance come across - but I heartily recommend the DVD just to appreciate what's happening - and check on Geddy's washing!
I personally liked the crowd input - "Tom Sawyer" is massive in Brazil and audience was not exaggerated. It's nice to hear some feedback on live albums - shame the guys don't talk to the crowd more.
It would be great if their musicianship, integrity and style were to come 'round again - but this album won't break it for them or convince any of my friends - or my wife (but then she still says Status Quo have as many chords as Rush!!)
So excellent musicianship - but what else do you expect.
Query the song choice and the indistinct vocals/mix.
Against Rush's own high standards can only award a 4 though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Rampage in Rio, 27 May 2011
This review is from: Rush In Rio (Audio CD)
With the exception of the final two tracks ( from another show ), the entire set sounds like the opening to 'Teenage Rampage' by The Sweet! It was by all accounts a rowdy show but why then crank up the crowd noise? It's just unlistenable - much like canned laughter. Worse still the audio is so horribly compressed even the quieter sections [ + crowd mania ] never leave 0db. Guitarist Lifeson must have been struggling with the technology when he sanctioned this mix. Two stars are for the last 2 soundboard tracks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superb return to form, 28 Dec. 2003
By 
N Ganesh (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rush In Rio (Audio CD)
Listening to this CD set reminded me of why I fell in love with Rush all those (22) years ago. Power, unrivalled musicianship(these guys can really play- why are they so underrated?)and a bonkers Brazilian audience that makes you feel as if you were there (a cliche- I know). Recording quality isn't the best but that's a great part of its appeal. Rush lost their way somewhat in the late 80's and most of the 90's but if you were ever in any doubt that they're back on form listen to this! It's a tad rough but Geddy sings better than ever, you can actually hear Alex more clearly than for some time on a live Rush album and Neil is, er Neil (i.e. the best drummer on the planet. Buy it by the truckload- then they'll have to come back to the UK. As to whether it will convert newcomers? It might, but who cares- quality always shines through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great setlist, very poor mixing, 20 July 2006
By 
Francis King "Frank King" (Calgary, AB, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rush In Rio (Audio CD)
First off, this is a fine performance of the Canadian rock trio on their first tour in many years. As well, you get just about every Rush song you'd ever want in a live setting. BUT, what was guitarist Alex Lifeson thinking (or hearing) when he helped mix this thing? Singer/bassist Geddy Lee's vocals are so deeply buried that I found myself straining to hear them on almost every song. After awhile, this became so frustrating I stopped listening to the album and have traded it in at a used record store. For a far, far better listening experience, pick up the R30 DVD/CD concert package celebrating the band's 30-year anniversary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars what about the sound quality, 2 Nov. 2003
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rush In Rio (Audio CD)
Having not long bought Rush's last live cd "different stages" I was so looking forward to "in rio".I found my self a little disapointed,the songs are great ,Rush still prove they can rock bigtime on stage but the sound quality is not what it should be,at times Geddy's voice is very hard to hear.In the sleeve notes written by Neil it is said "a primitive recording truck" was used for this cd and boy does it show.If ,like me,you love Rush you will still buy it but dont expect too much.The songs on this live set are bang on,but if only the quality was the same as "different stages".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rush Live in Rio, 18 Sept. 2004
This review is from: Rush In Rio (Audio CD)
I bought this album about seven months a go and still it makes the hairs on the back of my neck stand up. what I found was that if you play it on a low grade system you get a poor confused sound. Play this CD on high end system and the atmosphere of the recording will leave you speechless(outstanding).
Every thing from Neils drum solo to Geddy's thundering bass lines and Alex's exemplery guitar work will leave you wanting more.
My wife Jack was not a great lover of live recordings until this album got under her skin, now its number one on our play list most weekends.
A mesmerising album of atmosphere, power, and peerless performances from the best live artists in the world!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Album Poor Production, 20 Mar. 2007
By 
Andy (Retford, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rush In Rio (Audio CD)
I would have given this album a full 5 star rating but for the lack of clarity in the recording. Rush themselves were brilliant, but the production quality is substandard. If I listen to it on my Ipod it is just passable, but in the car it distorts and becomes difficult to fully appreciate the instrumental excellence of this band. I don't own the DVD so I cannot tell whether the same problem exists with that. However, tagged onto the end of the third disc is a couple of songs from a different gig, 'Between Sun & Moon', and 'Vital Signs'. These come across clear as a bell, as well as being excellent tracks. All in all pretty good but if you insist on top production quality buy R30 instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rush for Everthing Rush, 8 April 2014
By 
C. M. Mckenna (Not specified) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rush In Rio (Audio CD)
Rush for Everthing Rush
Rush - Fantastic, nothing more to say. Have them all and love them all, at least until Geddy got his new teeth. Musically they continue to amaze and get better and better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just as expected, 3 Nov. 2003
This review is from: Rush In Rio (Audio CD)
Rush, with their reputation for meticulous recreation of studio material in a live setting, don't disappoint here. And really, who ever thought they would? Such a fantastic rock band deserve whatever praise is heaped upon them.
This one will be snapped up and devoured by Rush fans, who no doubt will dissect every last moment to find the tiny mistakes made by each musician. There are a few for the trainspotters, although the average listener would never notice.
Sound quality is superb, and the performance electrifying.
My only gripe is that new fans are unlikely to be converted when they see the dragon cover - any humorous intent will not be perceived and, in the mind of Joe Punter, this release will be lumped in with the sort of thing Dio was doing fifteen years ago. First impressions count, and Mr Punter will disregard the CD as an impulse buy without listening at all. Personally, I was surprised that they pushed the dragon to the fore, especially after the classy "Different Stages" cover.
Ah well, at least it'll make it easier for us to get Rush tickets when they ignore America and come to Aberdeen on the next tour <not holding breath> ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best live album yet, 7 Feb. 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rush In Rio (Audio CD)
I bought this after hearing good things about it, and it hasn't disappointed me! Along with 'Exit Stage Left', this is one of the better live albums, but this one has more of a 'live' sound than the other live albums. This is mostly due to the primitive nature of the recording equipment at the venue, and the fact that there seems to be very little overdubbing, which usually makes a live album lose its live feel.
The songs (plus 3 instrumentals) that the band have chosen to record are played with gusto and a feeling that they are very relaxed and comfortable with this gig.
There are some real standout tracks here, with excellent versions of some of their earlier material, including 'Tom Sawyer', 'The Trees', 'Red Sector A' and a very strange version of 'La Villa Strangiato' with Alex Lifeson adding 'vocals'...
At the price, this is a real bargain!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rush In Rio
Rush In Rio by Rush (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews