Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun Hearts
This compilation by the Steve Miller Band is very good to listen to. This cd has a very eclectic mix of fun songs to listen with the 22 songs that were chosen for this cd. My personal favorite songs on this greatest hits set are "Abracadabra", "Fly Like An Eagle', and "Jet Airliner". I enjoy the lyrics and the hard rock song of the guitars that are used in those songs. "I...
Published on 24 Mar. 2011 by Stella Carrier

versus
13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Avoid and look for the 1998 Greatest Hits release
A lifelong fan of Steve Miller and his music, this compilation while the most recent release of such greatest hits is I fear a very poor second compared to the Universal 1998 "Greatest hits", which I would suggest you try to seek out and buy in preference, as it is still available although now deleted.

The reasons for this recommendation are:

1. The...
Published on 7 April 2010 by Siriam


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun Hearts, 24 Mar. 2011
This review is from: Young Hearts: Complete Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
This compilation by the Steve Miller Band is very good to listen to. This cd has a very eclectic mix of fun songs to listen with the 22 songs that were chosen for this cd. My personal favorite songs on this greatest hits set are "Abracadabra", "Fly Like An Eagle', and "Jet Airliner". I enjoy the lyrics and the hard rock song of the guitars that are used in those songs. "I Want to Make the World Turn Around" and "Dance, Dance,Dance" are very great to listen to as well. What I enjoy the most about this greatest hits compilation by the Steve Miller Band is the positive message of making the best of your life regardless of what transpires. For example, to me "Fly Like an Eagle" symbolizes the unlimited possibilities of solutions available to make the world a better place (as exemplifed with the lyrics feed the babies, shoe the children, and house the people). "Fly Like An Eagle" also is a good concept for a musical reminder to always be aware of, and be open to following your dreams with lyrics used in the song such as: "Fly Like An Eagle, Let My Spirit Carry Me". I would say to definitely get this cd if you are open to listening to 70's rock music because the songs have a classic rock type of feel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Where's "Heart Like A Wheel"??, 15 Oct. 2003
By 
D. J. OConnor (Vegas) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Young Hearts: Complete Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
This would be a 5 star collection of great singles if they would have just included "Heart Like A Wheel"! What's worse, the U.S. version of this title has the identical track list and "Heart..." was a # 24 chart hit in America. Steve Miller must have an aversion to that track because he even left it off of his box set a few years back! Otherwise, there is an improvement in sound quality, due to a new remastering. A bunch of great songs, but definitely not "complete".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Young Hearts: Complete Greatest Hits, 3 Dec. 2009
By 
G. Hill (Reading UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Young Hearts: Complete Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Brilliant CD did have the Greatest hits on album, the CD has twice as many tracks on it and they are all digitally remastered. Well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Avoid and look for the 1998 Greatest Hits release, 7 April 2010
By 
Siriam (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Young Hearts: Complete Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
A lifelong fan of Steve Miller and his music, this compilation while the most recent release of such greatest hits is I fear a very poor second compared to the Universal 1998 "Greatest hits", which I would suggest you try to seek out and buy in preference, as it is still available although now deleted.

The reasons for this recommendation are:

1. The tracks here have been padded out with pre 1973 LP tracks which are out of context with the man's post 1973 music (great originals though they still are) and the group photo reflecting Capitol's slapdash approach in the liner notes is of the 1967/68 Steve Miller Band.

2. The 1998 release has great tracks from post 1973 not included here, notably 1977's "True fine love" and as another reviewer observes the later excellent "Heart like a wheel"

3. The replacements from more recent years "Who do you love" and "I want to make the world turn around" are simply not of the same calibre.

4. The liner notes make a big song and dance about getting Steve to include 1982's "Abracadbra" for the first time on a new greatest hits compilation after the earlier shorter "Greatest hits 1974-78" but that track was in fact on the 1998 release.

5. Finally the much trumpeted remastering does not add much having compared endlessly, mainly because this group has always followed high production values.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a great album - memories and revelations - turn up the volume, 16 Aug. 2006
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Young Hearts: Complete Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Steve Miller was one of the highlights of any school or Uni disco in the mid to late seventies for us rockers. All the classics and more - they sound as good now as they did then - smooth production, great rhythm, and a back beat to make you boogie.

Turn up the volume and tear up the carpet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Steve Miller Band Now Remastered., 20 May 2009
By 
J. Thompson "Willingale" (Essex UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Young Hearts: Complete Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
This has all the hits I know and some I don't and it's nearly all essential.
There's no question whoose band this is, Steve leads with brash confidence.
Top of the pile is Abracadabra, including some influence from Jimi Hendrix, followed by a cheeky The Joker, the raucous Take The Money And Run and Fly Like An Eagle.
Love that voice and guitar playing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Guitar Man Rocks!!!, 11 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Young Hearts: Complete Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
The best SMB compilation by a mile. All the hits are here. Worth seeking out by the die hard fans and those wanting an introduction to the Guitar Man. Great band great songs great guitars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the tin, 9 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Young Hearts: Complete Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Great compilation, all the hits plus some good ones I hadn't heard before, a great blast from the past, thoroughly enjoying listening to it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Music makes the world turnaround, 20 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Young Hearts: Complete Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Product arrived within schedule well packaged and undamaged. Steve Miller is cool and can make the world turn around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 18 July 2014
By 
Bendy "Robert" (Co. Down. N.Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Young Hearts: Complete Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Really glad I chose this compilation. I think it gives you everything and is a perfect Steve Miller collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Young Hearts: Complete Greatest Hits
Young Hearts: Complete Greatest Hits by Steve Miller Band (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews