Customer Reviews


130 Reviews
5 star:
 (64)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally Brutal
This game is fantastic. I don't believe this game is to blame for people doing bad things. They were already disturbed before they played this. I do think the game can make you cringe though. Some of the violence is extremely graphic and very realistic.
Anyway, people will harp on about the violence and ignore the great game play and graphics this game has...
Published on 19 Nov 2004 by Martin Grune

versus
14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Think Before You Speak
I continue to be amazed by the ignorance of people who truly believe video games incite violence.
I doubt the majority of people who want to ban them have even played or know anything about them. If proof is needed that critics and lawyers have no idea what they are talking about, take the example of GTA being described as "A training simulation for murder", the...
Published on 5 Aug 2004 by K Hendry


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally Brutal, 19 Nov 2004
This review is from: Manhunt (PS2) (Video Game)
This game is fantastic. I don't believe this game is to blame for people doing bad things. They were already disturbed before they played this. I do think the game can make you cringe though. Some of the violence is extremely graphic and very realistic.
Anyway, people will harp on about the violence and ignore the great game play and graphics this game has. Fighting the last Boss is one of the most frightening things I've ever seen. I sat with three mates while doing this and we were all scared stiff.
Not a game I'd play again and again but I did love playing it once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rockstar make a ace game (again), 16 Dec 2003
This review is from: Manhunt (PS2) (Video Game)
The story
You play as James Earl Cash, a mass murderer sentanced to death. On his way to excecuted he falls unconsious. He wakes up to a strange voice talking to him via a earpiece. This Man calls himself the "Director", his aim is to make the goriest Reality show ever, and your the star. He's bribed the authorities and bought a deserted city, then he's put hunter in the city to, If you cant guess, hunt you down. The direstor isn't your enemy though, he's your only hope of surviving the night. He watchs you via security cameras and guides you to your next kill. The nastier the kill the more he likes it.
The Gameplay
This aspect of the game works extremely well thanks to the superb graphics and sound, which create an intense level of tension, so that when you mistakenly knock into an abandoned shopping trolley and alert a hunter, it's really quite terrifying. The combat is very well tweaked, the main emphasis is to sneak up on your victim and do a silent slash, but some times hand to hand combat is unavoidable. When you do have to face a foe like this it gets quite messy, the only thing you really can do keep hitting the attack button or run like a woman, i'd suggest the latter. In gameplay terms the only real fault with Manhunt is a lack of variety, unlike GTA you only really have two aspects to this game - stealth and shooting, both a joy to do but some sniping or driving levels would of been appreciated. This game is definately not for anyone who doesn't like blood, you're hacking off heads every 5minutes, but it adds so much to the game. In other games killing isn't a major thing you aim, you fire and he's dead! But in Manhunt you really get a sense of what it would be like to kill someone, with a gruesome close up shot of the final kill. The Daily Mail is gonna hate this but aslong as you know whats real and whats not this game wont affect you.
The Graphics
Nothing about this game is pretty, The walls are covered in blood, Sweat, and various other parts of the body. This makes the game very atmospheric. It does look like GTA but thats not nessarcarly a bad thing. The game goes through one night so Rockstar have been able to spend all of their time on Lighting and shadow effects. It's very helpful to be able to pick out shadows to hide in easily.
The Lifespan
I played this on normal difficulty and completed it in under 5 days. Thats just going through the game doing the minimal, if you want to unlock cheats, extra videos and other cool stuff you'll have to put alot of effort in. To earn this stuff you have to complete levels with a five star rating - killing all the hunters, doing it quickly, and doing it in a stylish way.
Overall
This game takes gaming a step further, By using atmospheric surroundings, gore, and a good, original story Rockstar have made another must have. If you like stealth, Action, and blood this is for you!
94%
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is the game i reviewed unlike GAMER, 3 Aug 2004
This review is from: Manhunt (PS2) (Video Game)
I am sick of people slating this game,because some kid may have copied it,play the game its great true testimony to Rockstar games,thank you AMAZON for giving the sensible gamer a chance to buy this title,a credit to you for giving us a choice.
So a gamer,you have not played it so dont review it,
The game if you ignore stupid hype is a good surval game,if you like resident evil and GTA,i am sure you will enjoy this,play it dont listen to the people who dont play it find out yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Psychopath mad man on a mission to kill everyone in his path... sounds like fun!, 4 Jun 2006
By 
J. LAW (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Manhunt (PS2) (Video Game)
It took me a little while to get hold of this game, with it being banned and all. But after I got my hands on it and had a good old play on it, I realised why it got banned.

Your name is James Earl Cash, and you have been on death row for a while. But to survive you have to do everything a certain man tells you. He is called the 'Director' and he commands you to kill thugs around Carcer City whilst being watched by a CCTV video camera. Sounds fun hey!? There are plenty of different methods of killing, using plenty of different weapons. Including, plastic bags, glass shards, shotguns & steal baseball bats.

This game is definately NOT recommended for children under the age of 18. Mums and Dads don't be stupid and perchase this for your children, it really is sickening... but in a fun way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Pioneering game for Rockstar, 7 Jan 2004
By 
Mr. Damian J. McGrath (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Manhunt (PS2) (Video Game)
Rockstar, publishers of the excellent and hugely popular Grand Theft Auto series, have returned, with another controversial title. Grand Theft Auto provoked reactions from parent groups about its content, and this game will definitely provoke some more.
Basically, the plot of this game is that you play a criminal by the name of Cash, who had been sentenced to death for his crimes. After a wait on death row, he was taken to be killed, but unbeknown to him and the entire world, his lethal injection had be changed with a strong sedative, by the mysterious Director.
Cash wakes up sometime later, surprised to be alive, and with everyone thinking he's dead. However, it isn't all good news, as he finds himself in a strange place - a place called Carcer City. The city is littered with thousands of CCTV cameras, controlled by the Director, and the city is also home to many dangerous and violent gangs, each with their own unique style and weapons.
The Director, in return for saving your life, has decided to use you for his own perverse pleasure, by forcing you to star in his very own movies, where the gangs stalk Cash, and Cash is forced to either kill everyone, or die himself. Whatever the final outcome, a death is guaranteed, and this pleases The Director, since his film will sell well.
In order to survive, Cash must use stealth, and a plethora of unique weapons, such as plastic bags, glass shards (which you can create by smashing glass windows), and a whole host of extremely violent weapons such as chainsaws, meat cleavers, scythes, and a range of guns. Cash must please the Director by killing gang members in as brutal way as possible (each weapon can be used to kill people in 2-3 ways, ranging between Level 1 kills and Level 3 kills. Level 3 is exteme violent, whereas Level 1 is fairly violent). Only by pleasing the Director will Cash ever leave this city.
The kills in the game are breath taking in their detail and violence. For example, using certain weapons, you can actually rip off the head of a gang member, and throw the severed head to create noise, which attracts other gang members, allowing you to isolate them, making kills easier. You also need to dump the dead bodies in the shadows, so that the alive gang members dont get suspicious.
All in all, this game is a masterpiece in making you feel extremely tense, just like you would if it was a real situation. You cannot fail to be shocked by the kills, and even my hardened 18 year old brother winced as the hammer decapitated a gang member.
The game also features some unique touches, such as the ability to connect a USB headset, and whisper into it to attract the attention of gang members, so that isolating them and killing them becomes easier, and also it adds a sense of realism. Imagine sneaking round a corner, creeping up behind a heavily armed gang member, with you only armed with a plastic bag, and accidentally saying something. The USB headset will make the gang member hear this, and turn round, leading to your untimely demise. Excellent realism.
As with all Rockstar games, it is easy to control, although some of the more technical aspects of the hand to hand combat sections take time to master, although this is not neccessarily a bad thing. Easy to pick up and play, and also easy to become unhealthily engrossed in, this game now sits as #1 on my pile. The weapons become increasingly more powerful (with the kills becoming increasingly awe-inspiringly graphic) as the game progresses, and the levels are nicely split between stealth and silent kills with quiet weapons, and all out gun blazing warfare.
Graphically, its stunning, and I honestly cannot think of a single criticism.
All in all, a hugely enjoyable game, and a masterpiece that everyone (over 18) should play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sick and twisted and BRILLIANT!, 11 Jan 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Manhunt (PS2) (Video Game)
Ever have one of those days when you are afraid to look at people incase they spontaneously combust under your gaze?

Days when the meat cleaver in the kitchen feels abnormally good in your hand??

Days when you wish you could bring torture and death to those who have wronged you???

If so- YOU NEED THIS GAME.

It is my absolute favourite game because it allows you to purge all those pent up emotions of rage and violence, and it's all very cathartic and you feel great afterwards.

You play a ex-con turned vigilante of sorts who has to hack and strangle his way through a compound filled with the vilest specimens of humanity that ever existed (including white supremists and murderers). The things you do to them are messed up, yes sir, messed up big time, but you know it's only justice and it's either you or them. Strangely the game never becomes repetitive and is genuinely scary, sometimes you sneak up on someone with your wire, ready to do the job and one of them sees you and boy oh boy do they chase you and shriek with hysterical glee...that freaks me out.... The only negative thing about this game is although it is long, it ends fairly abruptly and the end 'level' or 'boss' if that's what you want to call him, isn't as much of a challenge as your other enemies. Although in a way it is really satisfying to just 'sort him out' without fuss, it's a little bit of an anti-climax.

But don't let that put you off, I highly recommend this game (just don't let nippers play this. I know some people let kids play older games cause the games aren't that bad but THIS ONE IS.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well done Rockstar!, 3 Aug 2004
This review is from: Manhunt (PS2) (Video Game)
Manhunt has to be one of the most violent games i've ever played. Saying that, i don't condone it, im positive there are extremely violent movies etc out there.
The game is mainly a stealth-em-up, as you have to sneak up on hunters to perform executions. However you can kill said hunters the old fashioned way with your fists, but it's not recommended as they usually call for backup and swarm you.
The character models are taken from Grand Theft Auto 3 & VC and given an upgrade, as the graphics are crisp, and there is little if any slowdown throughout the game.
The Voice acting is good, albeit coarse and the different tones in the hunters voices allow for easy indication of a hunters mood, which is a nice touch.
The executions are performed by holding x or square and the longer you hold the button the more violent the execution is. The weapons available allow for a wide variety of executions however, for example, there are different types of baseball bats such as metal and wooden which both perform the same executions. It would have been nice to have more variety such as metal bats doing more violent executions than a regular bat.
There is plenty of blood and gore and it definately earns its 18 rating as one would expect. When an execution is performed a cctv style camera shows the execution from different angles which is very well done and gruesome.
The story puts you in the shoes of a man called James Cash who was supposed to be executed, but he was given a second chance for entertainment of a man called Starkweather who wants Cash to kill Hunters to please the "audience". The location of the game is Carcer city, which was referenced in GTA3. Carcer city is a dark run down city where anything goes and the city itself is very well presentated with smooth textured environments.
The hunters are the people that are after Cash due to the large reward placed on his head by Starkweather. The Hunters are very intelligent, for example, if you make a noise such as knocking a trash can about which would usually cause you to be found, the Hunters wouldn't charge at you straight away, but wait in the shadows until you came close enough for them to attack. If you try to run away they will give chase and if you manage to lose them they will search for you until they either find you or get bored.
In conclusion i would recommend this to people who like the GTA series, although be warned, It isn't for people of a nervous disposition or people who don't like excess blood and gore. All in all a well presentated game!
€PLث€
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Immoral, maybe. Fun, definitely, 4 Aug 2004
By 
Matt (Bolton, Greater Manchester, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Manhunt (PS2) (Video Game)
When I first got this game I thought it would be ridiculously violent. Harming anyone or anything in sight. But thats only half true. This isn't like other "immoral" games. In Manhunt the aim isn't to kill or maim innocent bystanders of your dirty deeds. It is to dispose of FICTIONAL gangs in a corrupt city. The members of these gangs are scum. Wastes of space. A disease of the city, and you are there to clean up this once prosporous area. Yes its violent. Yes its bloody, and in some places extreme, but it is clearly marked as an "18" certificate. These games are entertainment, not brainwashing. I've played through this game a number of times and I can honestly say that I do NOT get sudden urges to stick crowbars in peoples necks or suffocate people with plastic bags. Games like this show the people who buy them what it is like to be out of control. To do what they want when they want. So they show the consequences of their actions. Kill someone, you get jailed, beat to death or shot. Killing isn't always a necessity in Manhunt anyway. There are many areas where the player can use stealth and diversion to avoid gang members. I admit that killing is a major part of this game, but it isn't like we don't hear of/see pain and suffering in the news EVERY day. Iraq, Sudan, Afghanistan. These are permitted for the public to view and some may say they are infinitly worse than computer games, because these are REAL people, not a bunch of polygons on a CD. Anyway, back to the game, the controls are easy to learn. Within 5 minutes you should be sneaking in and out of shadows like a pro. The graphics are dark and moody, adding to the atmosphere of this once great city. The storyline is easy to understand, as tougher, more violent gangs appear as you make your way through the unique and creative areas. This is a truly amazing game. If you're after something immersive, that makes you think laterally and strategically then this could be just for you. Be warned though, that this GAME contains scenes of explicit violence and gore and contains extremely harsh language. Still, anyone old enough to buy this should be mature enough to enjoy it without mixing fiction with real life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this aint jus a gory game, 3 Aug 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Manhunt (PS2) (Video Game)
this game has cum under much criticism lately under suspicion that a boy killed his friend after playing and bein influenced by this game. now obviously this is a tragic incident but blamin a game is jus an easy way to get to the bottom of the problem. it is a pathetic accusation and any one this easily influenced must have psychological problems. this isnt just about killin people, this game has an in depth story line that keeps the player gripped all the way through. it is a dark portrayal of a man forced to carry out executions in order to save his family and himself from the evil hands of "the director". this is a great game and now that the threat of it bein banned has cum about, sales will sky rocket. get this game NOW!!! before its 2 late...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Manhunt PS2, 14 April 2004
By 
B. Legg "Ben" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Manhunt (PS2) (Video Game)
This game is brutal, there's no other way to describe it, and I love it. The graphics are great, the controls are easy to get the hang of and the sound is frighteningly realistic. I found the levels well laid out and the gameplay is quite simply superb, it's beats Vice City hands down in my book. Plus I've got some great new idea's for things to do to people on a Saturday night in town (joke!!).
People moan about lack of variety, well I haven't encountered it, I think you are only limited by your own imagination. The most terrifying thing in the game though was some of the comments from the "director", he seems to enjoy some bits a little too much if you take my meaning.....
6 of us took it in turns playing this game with some beers on a Saturday night and we all agreed it was the funniest night we've had since we first saw Texas Chainsaw Massacre!!
If you own a playstation and are over 18 then do yourself a favour and get this game, you won't be dissapointed.....trust me!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Manhunt (PS2)
Manhunt (PS2) by Rockstar (PlayStation2)
10.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews