Customer Reviews


131 Reviews
5 star:
 (65)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally Brutal
This game is fantastic. I don't believe this game is to blame for people doing bad things. They were already disturbed before they played this. I do think the game can make you cringe though. Some of the violence is extremely graphic and very realistic.
Anyway, people will harp on about the violence and ignore the great game play and graphics this game has...
Published on 19 Nov 2004 by Martin Grune

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Manhunt or mind numb?
Right then, if you don't know about this game then you must have been on mars for the past 6 months.
The latest offering from those "oh so nice people" at Rockstar is, now how shall I put this, a rather messy affair.
Heres the deal;
You are a criminal,sentenced to death, given a supposed lethal injection (on live TV, of course) but then you find you have...
Published on 2 Mar 2004 by thfcmark


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally Brutal, 19 Nov 2004
This review is from: Manhunt (PS2) (Video Game)
This game is fantastic. I don't believe this game is to blame for people doing bad things. They were already disturbed before they played this. I do think the game can make you cringe though. Some of the violence is extremely graphic and very realistic.
Anyway, people will harp on about the violence and ignore the great game play and graphics this game has. Fighting the last Boss is one of the most frightening things I've ever seen. I sat with three mates while doing this and we were all scared stiff.
Not a game I'd play again and again but I did love playing it once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rockstar make a ace game (again), 16 Dec 2003
This review is from: Manhunt (PS2) (Video Game)
The story
You play as James Earl Cash, a mass murderer sentanced to death. On his way to excecuted he falls unconsious. He wakes up to a strange voice talking to him via a earpiece. This Man calls himself the "Director", his aim is to make the goriest Reality show ever, and your the star. He's bribed the authorities and bought a deserted city, then he's put hunter in the city to, If you cant guess, hunt you down. The direstor isn't your enemy though, he's your only hope of surviving the night. He watchs you via security cameras and guides you to your next kill. The nastier the kill the more he likes it.
The Gameplay
This aspect of the game works extremely well thanks to the superb graphics and sound, which create an intense level of tension, so that when you mistakenly knock into an abandoned shopping trolley and alert a hunter, it's really quite terrifying. The combat is very well tweaked, the main emphasis is to sneak up on your victim and do a silent slash, but some times hand to hand combat is unavoidable. When you do have to face a foe like this it gets quite messy, the only thing you really can do keep hitting the attack button or run like a woman, i'd suggest the latter. In gameplay terms the only real fault with Manhunt is a lack of variety, unlike GTA you only really have two aspects to this game - stealth and shooting, both a joy to do but some sniping or driving levels would of been appreciated. This game is definately not for anyone who doesn't like blood, you're hacking off heads every 5minutes, but it adds so much to the game. In other games killing isn't a major thing you aim, you fire and he's dead! But in Manhunt you really get a sense of what it would be like to kill someone, with a gruesome close up shot of the final kill. The Daily Mail is gonna hate this but aslong as you know whats real and whats not this game wont affect you.
The Graphics
Nothing about this game is pretty, The walls are covered in blood, Sweat, and various other parts of the body. This makes the game very atmospheric. It does look like GTA but thats not nessarcarly a bad thing. The game goes through one night so Rockstar have been able to spend all of their time on Lighting and shadow effects. It's very helpful to be able to pick out shadows to hide in easily.
The Lifespan
I played this on normal difficulty and completed it in under 5 days. Thats just going through the game doing the minimal, if you want to unlock cheats, extra videos and other cool stuff you'll have to put alot of effort in. To earn this stuff you have to complete levels with a five star rating - killing all the hunters, doing it quickly, and doing it in a stylish way.
Overall
This game takes gaming a step further, By using atmospheric surroundings, gore, and a good, original story Rockstar have made another must have. If you like stealth, Action, and blood this is for you!
94%
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Immoral, maybe. Fun, definitely, 4 Aug 2004
By 
Matt (Bolton, Greater Manchester, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Manhunt (PS2) (Video Game)
When I first got this game I thought it would be ridiculously violent. Harming anyone or anything in sight. But thats only half true. This isn't like other "immoral" games. In Manhunt the aim isn't to kill or maim innocent bystanders of your dirty deeds. It is to dispose of FICTIONAL gangs in a corrupt city. The members of these gangs are scum. Wastes of space. A disease of the city, and you are there to clean up this once prosporous area. Yes its violent. Yes its bloody, and in some places extreme, but it is clearly marked as an "18" certificate. These games are entertainment, not brainwashing. I've played through this game a number of times and I can honestly say that I do NOT get sudden urges to stick crowbars in peoples necks or suffocate people with plastic bags. Games like this show the people who buy them what it is like to be out of control. To do what they want when they want. So they show the consequences of their actions. Kill someone, you get jailed, beat to death or shot. Killing isn't always a necessity in Manhunt anyway. There are many areas where the player can use stealth and diversion to avoid gang members. I admit that killing is a major part of this game, but it isn't like we don't hear of/see pain and suffering in the news EVERY day. Iraq, Sudan, Afghanistan. These are permitted for the public to view and some may say they are infinitly worse than computer games, because these are REAL people, not a bunch of polygons on a CD. Anyway, back to the game, the controls are easy to learn. Within 5 minutes you should be sneaking in and out of shadows like a pro. The graphics are dark and moody, adding to the atmosphere of this once great city. The storyline is easy to understand, as tougher, more violent gangs appear as you make your way through the unique and creative areas. This is a truly amazing game. If you're after something immersive, that makes you think laterally and strategically then this could be just for you. Be warned though, that this GAME contains scenes of explicit violence and gore and contains extremely harsh language. Still, anyone old enough to buy this should be mature enough to enjoy it without mixing fiction with real life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I liked it, but it's not for everyone, 1 Feb 2004
This review is from: Manhunt (PS2) (Video Game)
Many people will be put off by a game that deals with such a taboo subject in such a graphic way, but for me, this is exactly what I go for. Whilst I personally don't condone acts of violence such as those depicted in the game, I definitely enjoyed playing this game. Whilst many people will point out that the game is very repetitive and the levels are very linear, forcing you to go one way to achieve your aim, this is precisely the point. The whole idea of the game is your character is a prisoner who must kill to survive, but cannot escape his environments without going in the specific direction.
There are enough bonuses to achieve to keep the player interested for a fair amount of time and the various weapons and technique available to the player keep the gameplay varied enough. the only major problem I had with it was the difficulty. I felt it got too difficult too soon, but then I am sure there are those who felt it was to easy.
This game will certainly not be for everyone, so if you're unsure, rent it first before buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Manhunt PS2, 14 April 2004
By 
B. Legg "Ben" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Manhunt (PS2) (Video Game)
This game is brutal, there's no other way to describe it, and I love it. The graphics are great, the controls are easy to get the hang of and the sound is frighteningly realistic. I found the levels well laid out and the gameplay is quite simply superb, it's beats Vice City hands down in my book. Plus I've got some great new idea's for things to do to people on a Saturday night in town (joke!!).
People moan about lack of variety, well I haven't encountered it, I think you are only limited by your own imagination. The most terrifying thing in the game though was some of the comments from the "director", he seems to enjoy some bits a little too much if you take my meaning.....
6 of us took it in turns playing this game with some beers on a Saturday night and we all agreed it was the funniest night we've had since we first saw Texas Chainsaw Massacre!!
If you own a playstation and are over 18 then do yourself a favour and get this game, you won't be dissapointed.....trust me!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is the game i reviewed unlike GAMER, 3 Aug 2004
This review is from: Manhunt (PS2) (Video Game)
I am sick of people slating this game,because some kid may have copied it,play the game its great true testimony to Rockstar games,thank you AMAZON for giving the sensible gamer a chance to buy this title,a credit to you for giving us a choice.
So a gamer,you have not played it so dont review it,
The game if you ignore stupid hype is a good surval game,if you like resident evil and GTA,i am sure you will enjoy this,play it dont listen to the people who dont play it find out yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exploring the depths of human depravity, 11 Aug 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Manhunt (PS2) (Video Game)
Way back around the time of E3, you may recall that Take Two(The people behind Grand Theft Auto:Vice City) announced a game called Manhunter. Without going into detail, the press release referred to a game that "explored the depths of human depravity" and, judging by the exceedingly nasty details we've happened upon, they weren't just whistling Dixie, muchachos.
Manhunt concerns itself with the exploits of a horrendous psychopath known only as "The Director". This pompously titled buffoon gets his kicks by taking control of an entire, derelict city, letting loose some hapless slob in said urban rathole, and watching as everyone else attempts to murder the poor sap. The poor sap naturally being you.
Yep, like some mutant hybrid of Escape From New York, The Game, and Surf Nazis Must Die, you play the lonewolf hero stumbling through a nightmare world of crazed gang-members queuing up to cut you a new one. Gameplay is said to resemble the stealth-stylings of Metal Gear Solid, though with considerably more brutal action.
You play convicted murderer and presumed good 'ol boy James Earl Cash who's whisked from Deathrow at the last minute to provide sport for the Director, who watches the action via the various CCTV cameras posted around the city. Apparently sound is at least as important in dodging your pursuers as vision; you can throw objects to send them off to investigate, and an on-screen sound meter shows just how much noise you're making; even your footsteps can give you away if you're not careful.
In a twist worthy of an episode of 24, you'll also be given codec style hints and advice from - The Director! That's just crazy.
On top of such post-modern prankery, Manhunt sounds to be riddled with quite the queasiest, most disturbing examples of casual violence we've seen since, well, ever.
Guns figure in the game, naturally, but apparently they're tricky to get your hands on, which means that for most of the game you'll be battering your enemies into submission with baseball bats and suchlike.
Suchlike being, reportedly, plastic bags with which to suffocate people, and shards of glass for those days when you're fresh out of flickknives; the killing is even shown from a grainy, CCTV footage viewpoint. Lovely stuff.
This game is not for kids!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this aint jus a gory game, 3 Aug 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Manhunt (PS2) (Video Game)
this game has cum under much criticism lately under suspicion that a boy killed his friend after playing and bein influenced by this game. now obviously this is a tragic incident but blamin a game is jus an easy way to get to the bottom of the problem. it is a pathetic accusation and any one this easily influenced must have psychological problems. this isnt just about killin people, this game has an in depth story line that keeps the player gripped all the way through. it is a dark portrayal of a man forced to carry out executions in order to save his family and himself from the evil hands of "the director". this is a great game and now that the threat of it bein banned has cum about, sales will sky rocket. get this game NOW!!! before its 2 late...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well done Rockstar!, 3 Aug 2004
This review is from: Manhunt (PS2) (Video Game)
Manhunt has to be one of the most violent games i've ever played. Saying that, i don't condone it, im positive there are extremely violent movies etc out there.
The game is mainly a stealth-em-up, as you have to sneak up on hunters to perform executions. However you can kill said hunters the old fashioned way with your fists, but it's not recommended as they usually call for backup and swarm you.
The character models are taken from Grand Theft Auto 3 & VC and given an upgrade, as the graphics are crisp, and there is little if any slowdown throughout the game.
The Voice acting is good, albeit coarse and the different tones in the hunters voices allow for easy indication of a hunters mood, which is a nice touch.
The executions are performed by holding x or square and the longer you hold the button the more violent the execution is. The weapons available allow for a wide variety of executions however, for example, there are different types of baseball bats such as metal and wooden which both perform the same executions. It would have been nice to have more variety such as metal bats doing more violent executions than a regular bat.
There is plenty of blood and gore and it definately earns its 18 rating as one would expect. When an execution is performed a cctv style camera shows the execution from different angles which is very well done and gruesome.
The story puts you in the shoes of a man called James Cash who was supposed to be executed, but he was given a second chance for entertainment of a man called Starkweather who wants Cash to kill Hunters to please the "audience". The location of the game is Carcer city, which was referenced in GTA3. Carcer city is a dark run down city where anything goes and the city itself is very well presentated with smooth textured environments.
The hunters are the people that are after Cash due to the large reward placed on his head by Starkweather. The Hunters are very intelligent, for example, if you make a noise such as knocking a trash can about which would usually cause you to be found, the Hunters wouldn't charge at you straight away, but wait in the shadows until you came close enough for them to attack. If you try to run away they will give chase and if you manage to lose them they will search for you until they either find you or get bored.
In conclusion i would recommend this to people who like the GTA series, although be warned, It isn't for people of a nervous disposition or people who don't like excess blood and gore. All in all a well presentated game!
€PLث€
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great game., 3 Aug 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Manhunt (PS2) (Video Game)
Firstly i'll say that i'm appalled at the way this game has been treated by parents. They constantly moan about the kid who murdered his friend, and how a computer game was the sole purpose. I've never seen such a scapegoat situation in all my life. This game was rated an 18! Should the kid have been playing it? No, and who's fault is it the kid got his hands on the game? The parents. If you don't want your kids to play this game, then don't buy it. I seriously don't know what's wrong with parents nowadays.
Now onto the game. Yes it's very violant, and should only be played by adults, but i think it is a fun game. Great graphics, great concept, music is good, and it delivers what is promised. Rockstar has done itself proud again.
To anyone considering purchasing this game. i STRONGLY advise you do. Don't let the media frenzy stop you. It is a great game, and it deserves to be played, and for the parents who whine about this game being too violant, it's simple, don't let your kids play it, and stop ruining the fun for everyone else. Do you stop your kids from watching movies late at night, like hell you do. You've blamed video games for obesity, laziness, truency, dropping marks in schools, now murder. When will you learn to take proper care of your children? Seriously, some people don't deserve children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Manhunt (PS2)
Manhunt (PS2) by Rockstar (PlayStation2)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews