Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heretic - Someone who does not conform with an established attitude, doctrine, or principle.
This album saw Morbid Angel turn in yet another direction, still very much death metal, but wildly different to the two albums preceding it (Formulas... and Gateways...) and for me this album is a crowning achievement. The first Track "Blade of Elohim" is a furious aural assault that harks back to the song construction style used on Blessed are the Sick, the first riff is...
Published on 16 Nov 2009 by Amazon Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
If you like this album go listen to "Harnessing Ruin" by Immolation, they are very similar sounding albums.
Published 4 months ago by Eames


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 4 July 2014
This review is from: Heretic (Audio CD)
If you like this album go listen to "Harnessing Ruin" by Immolation, they are very similar sounding albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heretic - Someone who does not conform with an established attitude, doctrine, or principle., 16 Nov 2009
This review is from: Heretic (Audio CD)
This album saw Morbid Angel turn in yet another direction, still very much death metal, but wildly different to the two albums preceding it (Formulas... and Gateways...) and for me this album is a crowning achievement. The first Track "Blade of Elohim" is a furious aural assault that harks back to the song construction style used on Blessed are the Sick, the first riff is simply amazing and flows into an immense, churning confrontational feel that continues throughout the album. The low point of the album is probably the next track "Enshrined by Grace" I'm not quite sure why, but it doesn't seem to have the vigour or the soul of the other songs on this album, it's still a good death metal tune, don't get me wrong, but the weakest of the pack, the runt of the album if you will. Beneath the Hollow is a slower paced and utterly jaw dropping account of how to use two guitars in death metal, it simply beggars belief and defies any meaningful explanation. "The Stricken Arise" and "God of our own Divinity" are another two pinnacles of death metal achievement, sandwiching between them two excellent instrumental tracks that are genuinely creepy.

Trey Azagthoth's guitar work on this album is simply stunning, the tone suits the heavy, dark riffing perfectly and as far as solos go; this is the best death metal album by the best death metal guitarist. (If you can, you should get hold of the bonus levels disk and listen to each of the solos solo, it really helps you to understand them.) Karl Sanders also has a guiest slot at the end of "God of our own Divinity" which is short, but very cool. The most impressive thing about the guitarplay however is (as a mentioned earlier) the interplay between the two guitars, this is exemplified in "Beneath the Hollow" but continues throughout the album.
Pete "Commando" Sandoval is an absolute machine, I mean there are drummers who are faster, or play with more feeling, or call him a cheat for using triggers(???), but at the end of the day it doesn't matter, Morbid Angel could not be the monstrous and hideous beast they are without Pete Sandoval, and this album shows his tallents to all but perfection, the only complaint I can make about Pete Sandoval is that of his snare sound, It's better on this album than any of the others, but still it seems to be missing a little something, the sound of the rest of the drums and cymbals however is utterly brilliant, they sound vibrant, alive, and really really fast. I know he uses triggers, but I imagine they will have recorded the samples themselves, so credit for that still goes to Morbid Angel and Juan Gonzalez (the producer.) Also, Drum Check is a classic MA tune in it's own right, not many people truly understand the raw sexuality and the potent musicality of blastbeats, but if anyone does it's this man.
Steve Tucker is formidable again infront of the mic, and the lyrics are once again; powerful, emotive, furious and seething, not quite up to the viciously high standard of wierdness set on "Formulas Fatal to the Flesh" but still pretty quirky. The Bass playing is steady and solid, exactly what is needed in the situation.

All in all, this album is stunning, I adore Morbid Angel in all their facets, and there's no way I could list their albums in order, but if I tried, I'm sure Heretic would be near if not at the top, I truly commend this album, it is a masterpiece of death metal supremacy, go forth and buy it, raise your being to life, Become the same as a God!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Return of the Sludge, 8 Jan 2004
This review is from: Heretic (Audio CD)
From reading the previous revieew, you may think that 'Heretic' is worse than Morbid Angels last effort, 'Gateways to Annihilation'. Thankfully its not. The first thing I noticed and welcomed was the return of the sludgy guitar sound as per 'Domination', and that the drums sounded real again, after 'Gateways', in which Pete Sandoval's incredible speed sounded in parts more like a drum machine.
Musically this album is pretty intense, much like anything else by Morbid Angel, with Trey still managing to come up with those hypnotic droning riffs and psychotic solos, and Petes drumming sounding as damn impressive as ever. In terms of direction, it is a step backwards in some respects, sounding like what should have come between 'Domination', and 'Formulas Fatal to the Flesh'(though not as good as either).
For any fan this is a must buy, if for no other reason but to here Pete's Drum Check. It's not their best album, but it is a good one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still Pushing the Boundaries, 5 Jan 2005
By 
Mr. SCM Bell "Black Cat Theory" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Heretic (Audio CD)
To me after almost a decade without hearing a single song by Morbid Angel when I stumbled upon them again at the release of the new album Heretic they sounded stronger and more guttural than ever. Heretic was also something of a test for me as it was the first time I had ever heard them with Steve Tucker filling the colossal shoes David Vincent. Although from the outset his inferior diction and more limited range of vocal techniques doom him to failure this album is none the less a testimony to Morbid Angel's continual evolution and ongoing development.
In some senses heretic is a step backwards. Gone is the glossy, fat Morrisound Studios production that graced every one of their previous albums. And ushered in is a raw, tightly rehearsed, guitar dominated mix helmed by 'Punchy' Gonzales, the band's long standing live sound engineer. However in other ways heretic is a definitive step forward. Although it grinds and batters at a ludicrous speed there are frequent and conspicuous moments of melody, textural modulation and invention. Azagthoth's guitar playing is more polyphonic than ever, presented, almost constantly in two stereo parts and there are frequent sequencer/sampler driven interludes penned by both Azagthoth and the amazing Pete Sandoval.
While the 7 string guitar powered Gateways to Annihilation, like the downtuned Domination offered a heavier sound at the expense of a slower pace Heretic is a pure off-kilter speed assault. Its nice to hear tunes like Stricken Arise which hark back shamelessly to Altars of Madness nestle alongside the likes of Enshrined by Grace which boast a much more contemporary feel. It's a very mixed bag which takes the bolt step of having a first half dominated by the more aggressive tracks and a second half which is much more atmospheric, featuring instrumentals and more textural tracks.
Morbid Angel are a key band in the rock music landscape and I sincerely hope that with records as fresh and inventive as this one they are still making music ten years from now. If they are, I will still be a fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars awesum*, 21 Nov 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Heretic (Audio CD)
Being a great morbid fan, Heretic is not morbid at its best! It's worth a collection for a hard core death lover!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars An absolute disgrace, 9 Aug 2006
By 
D. R. Silvester "Clandestine Knowledge Seeker" (Birmingham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Heretic (Audio CD)
I own all of Morbid Angel's releases from Altars Of Madness through to this piece of trash.

The move away from Earache Records seems a woefully ill advised action given how purely abysmal the production is on Heretic. Which parts stand out prominent in the mix? Drums? Guitar? Bass? Vocals? The answer is none. I've heard much better production on black metal albums aplenty....

Paradoxically the high tempo, perpetual blastbeats, and direction changes sound like Morbid Angel, but also nothing like the Morbid Angel that gave us Altars, Blessed Are The Sick, Covenant, Domination, Gateways, Formulas. The whole thing sounds like a worn out, tired formula being dragged out with any conviction or innovation. It just sounds so flat and laboured. I feel sure there are Morbid Angel tribute bands that would refuse to play this!

The only vaguely redeeming feature I could find was the instrumental Place Of Many Deaths.

Everytime I see this CD in my collection I feel sad. Sad that the band that has produced awesome death since back in late 80s onwards, the band that developed my love for death metal could turn out something as weak and pathetic as this.

My their own high standards this is nothing short of a disgraceful travesty and a stain on their legacy. Interestingly the band has not recorded anything since Heretic was released nearly 4 years ago.

Do they know deep down that they can no longer keep pace with death metal's finest such as Drawn and Quartered and Immolation?

One thing is for sure, if this is all that is left from Morbid Angel, I sincerely hope they do not record again.

I choose to remember the great death metal of Morbid Angel prior to this dribble of effluence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Suprisingly good, 2 Mar 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Heretic (Audio CD)
After the last album, I wasn't really looking foreward to this (I thought the vocals were terrible and it generally sounded crap) however this is actually a pretty good album. It has everything you would expect from a Morbid Angel CD - heavy, fast, evil. It's a long way from their earlier albums, but it is still a worthy album if you are a Morbid Angel fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Heretic
Heretic by Morbid Angel (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews