Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fame Academy - Bee Gees Special
Just what we wanted. Really great listening from the Fame Academy stars. It was the greatest show from beginning to end, and so hard to choose form all the great talent, we pray that it will continue after 2003. There is very little to beat Fame Academy's aspirations and help given to young talent, alongside voters participation. I as a voter have learned a lot from...
Published on 6 Oct. 2003 by Shandy

versus
8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Mixed Bag
Being a huge Bee Gees fan and owning nearly all their tribute albums, I have to say I have very mixed feelings about this collection. It's great to hear young artists cover classic songs from the last forty years and it's fun to hear new arrangements. However, there isn't much soul or feeling in these renditions. All of them sound like enhanced karaoke. That's not...
Published on 11 Sept. 2003 by Martin A Hogan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fame Academy - Bee Gees Special, 6 Oct. 2003
By 
Shandy (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fame Academy - Bee Gees Special (Audio CD)
Just what we wanted. Really great listening from the Fame Academy stars. It was the greatest show from beginning to end, and so hard to choose form all the great talent, we pray that it will continue after 2003. There is very little to beat Fame Academy's aspirations and help given to young talent, alongside voters participation. I as a voter have learned a lot from watching Fame Academy, about what is out there, what is needed, and what can be given.... and I am 55 years old!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars From the sublime......, 1 Dec. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Fame Academy - Bee Gees Special (Audio CD)
As a huge Bee Gees fan I was instantly drawn if only out of curiosity to this album.
Generally, it's pleasant enough. In parts it is verging on the dire (Got to Get a Message to You by Gary Phelan - soulless and performed by a guy far too young to put in the required depth; Massachussetts by Peter Brame - what's that all about then?) through OK performances (Words by Alex Parks - powerful but monotonous) to the sublime (Guilty by Carolynne Good - flawless and powerful voice; You Should Be Dancing by Paris Campbell-Edwards - the most true to the original but with a modern edge; To Love Somebody by Alistair Griffin - one of the few displays of vocal emotion on this album that gets better as the song progresses and to my ears far superior to the over the top Michael Bolton cover).
All in all, not a bad Bee Gees tribute by group of talented, some very talented, budding artists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fame Academy Rocks, 1 Oct. 2003
By 
David Nicholl "A sound of music fan" (Stirling, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fame Academy - Bee Gees Special (Audio CD)
This album is a collection of songs from the 13 students from Fame Academy 2. I am very muych impressed with the students form this years fame academy. my favourites on here are louise (too much heaven), lorna (islands in the stream), audley (you win again)and alistair (to love somebody). my least fave is james with more than a woman. Great album though! Can't wait for DVD release of 2nd series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fabulous fame academy, 1 Sept. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Fame Academy - Bee Gees Special (Audio CD)
As a 16 yr old i havnt really heard any bee gees music but recently finished listening to the fame academy bee gees special and i can honestly say it brilliant. The fame academy students funk up the bee gees tune and you cant stop singing along to them.
The best songs are definatly massachusetts sung by sexy peter and heartbreaker sung by sassy simone.
Well done students!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Mixed Bag, 11 Sept. 2003
By 
Martin A Hogan "Marty From SF" (San Francisco/Oakland, CA.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fame Academy - Bee Gees Special (Audio CD)
Being a huge Bee Gees fan and owning nearly all their tribute albums, I have to say I have very mixed feelings about this collection. It's great to hear young artists cover classic songs from the last forty years and it's fun to hear new arrangements. However, there isn't much soul or feeling in these renditions. All of them sound like enhanced karaoke. That's not necessarily a bad thing, but if you listen to cover versions by some of the greats (Al Green, Nina Simone, Michael Bolton, Barbra Streisand), you'll hear the inflection of real emotion and vibrance. I wouldn't steer anyone away from this collection, but I just love the originals too much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, 26 Aug. 2003
This review is from: Fame Academy - Bee Gees Special (Audio CD)
Well what can i say? Fame Accademy is back and its better than ever! this is a collection of songs taken from the show one night when once again these young hopefulls tried to gain our vote. I have to say i do have my favourites on here such as Alex's version of words and Nick's version of Tradgedy. If you want my advice get this album you wont be dissapointed i assure you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fame Academy - Bee Gees Special
Fame Academy - Bee Gees Special by Bee Gees (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews