Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


56 of 57 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sophisticated and witty
Script is amazingly witty, and director holds it all together - gags, music, dancing, romancing - with expertise and musicality, and always with an idea for the unexpected twist and turn. Astaire is unfailingly elegant, especially in his solos and never more so than in the fiery, dynamic rag that he does with the band in the slammer, great scene! Hayworth is divine, no...
Published on 30 Nov 2003 by Michael Bo

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No classic but the stars shine
This cross between a backstage musical and a service comedy isn't one of either star's greats, but it nestles rather comfortably in the middle of their cvs as the kind of glossily executed forgettable studio fayre that fills in an hour-and-a-half pleasantly enough. The title sequence is probably the most memorable thing about it - the credits appearing as roadside...
Published on 16 May 2011 by Trevor Willsmer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

56 of 57 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sophisticated and witty, 30 Nov 2003
By 
Michael Bo (Frederiksberg Denmark) - See all my reviews
This review is from: You'll Never Get Rich [DVD] [1941] [2003] (DVD)
Script is amazingly witty, and director holds it all together - gags, music, dancing, romancing - with expertise and musicality, and always with an idea for the unexpected twist and turn. Astaire is unfailingly elegant, especially in his solos and never more so than in the fiery, dynamic rag that he does with the band in the slammer, great scene! Hayworth is divine, no less, sophisticated like no one's business, sexy, piquante. Cliff Nazarro is hilarious as the Swivel Tongue, a private who talks smoothly all the time, yet nobody understands a word he is saying. I wasn't prepared for the greatness of this film that, in the annals, does not stand out as the classic it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rita Hayworth bonds with Fred Astaire wonderfully, 29 Nov 2007
By 
Rama Rao "Rama" (Annandale, VA, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: You'll Never Get Rich [DVD] [1941] [2003] (DVD)
This is an excellent musical starring Fred Astaire with Rita Hayworth. Rita Hayworth proves that she is as good as Ginger Rogers in matching the dance steps or singing with Fred Astaire; the chemistry is great in spite of the fact there is 19 years of age difference. Rita and Fred look adorable in the dance picture, which won the hearts of Time magazine and they printed that on the cover page. The movie is well directed by Sidney Lanfield, and strongly supported by the music and lyrics of Cole Porter. There are two numbers of much interest: Astaire's solo dance in the guardhouse with a black jazz chorus called the Delta Rhythm Boys and "Since I Kissed My Baby Goodbye." The other number is Astaire and Hayworth's dress rehearsal "So Near and Yet So Far," which shows Hayworth in a sheer black gown: They look beautiful together. The big finale is the "Wedding Cake Walk" with a chorus of war brides and soldiers, and Astaire and Hayworth dancing on top of a huge tank.

The plot of the movie is not so interesting; it shows Astaire as Robert Curtis, a Broadway dance director leaves the stage when he is drafted into the army. Rita Hayworth plays as Sheila Winthrop, a dancing partner of Curtis, and engaged to a captain in the army. Both her fiancée and Curtis serve in the same army camp. When Curtis realizes that he is in love with Sheila Winthrop, hatches a plan to marry her. In the big number "Wedding Cake Walk" the two is supposed to marry on stage and the wedding ceremony is conducted by a real justice of the peace. The trick works and Winthrop suddenly becomes Mrs. Curtis for real, and she accepts that! This somewhat unrealistic considering the fact Sheila is engaged, and in love with her fiancé, Tom Barton (John Hubbard), but she is glad to become the wife of Robert Curtis!! The main attraction of the movie is not really the story but the dance and music of the two stars of the story. This movie is highly recommended to all fans of Fred Astaire and Rita Hayworth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rita Hayworth AND Fred Astaire - worth every penny!!, 19 Nov 2005
By 
M. Porter (Chattanooga, TN) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: You'll Never Get Rich [DVD] [1941] [2003] (DVD)
I fell in love with Rita Hayworth more years ago than I care to remember, being dragged to watch these films with my mother. Now, far older, I can enjoy the splendid dancing of these two stars. I like Ginger, I love Cyd, but I adore Rita - would that she made more films with Fred. He is, of course, brilliant (as always) and she dances magnificently. The story isnt up to much but the tunes are all strong with a couple of standards. Black and white yes, perhaps not the best quality picture and sound, but still a marvellous treat for lovers of music and dance. I would recommend this strongly to anyone who wants to see the breadth of talent available in Hollywood at that time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glorious surprise, 31 Oct 2007
By 
Partisan (West Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You'll Never Get Rich [DVD] [1941] [2003] (DVD)
I bough this DVD because, as a devoted fan of Fred Astaire and Ginger Rogers, I was keen to see other dance movies in which Fred starred. Fred Astaire is, as ever, unmatched but the glorious surprise is Rita Hayworth - utterly, utterly stunning and dances with a grace, precision and sheer enjoyment that left me breathless. Why oh why didn't they make more films together. Buy this and revel in skill and beauty way beyond anything available today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No classic but the stars shine, 16 May 2011
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: You'll Never Get Rich [DVD] [1941] [2003] (DVD)
This cross between a backstage musical and a service comedy isn't one of either star's greats, but it nestles rather comfortably in the middle of their cvs as the kind of glossily executed forgettable studio fayre that fills in an hour-and-a-half pleasantly enough. The title sequence is probably the most memorable thing about it - the credits appearing as roadside signs - and the initial mistaken identity plot could have just as been tailored for Fred and Ginger, but Hayworth is particularly stunning to look at and Robert Benchley offers good comedic support as our hero's duplicitous producer. Columbia's general stodginess with musicals is not quite so apparent here, although with the exception of a guardhouse solo the numbers do lack the panache of the RKO or MGM films. Nonetheless, it's still light and amiable formulaic entertainment.

Columbia's DVD has a decent but not outstanding print and includes the original theatrical trailer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can Rita Hayworth Dance? Yes, 11 Mar 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You'll Never Get Rich [DVD] [1941] [2003] (DVD)
Wow, this is great example of the best of the dancing I have seen for a while, Rita Hayworth really dances well, she is funny, charming, and Fred Astaire looks like he is having a ball. Worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My Star!, 17 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You'll Never Get Rich [DVD] [1941] [2003] (DVD)
I love Fred Astaire films.
I was brought up on Fred Astaire as well as Ginger Rogers musical style films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice film, 22 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You'll Never Get Rich [DVD] [1941] [2003] (DVD)
This had some great dancing in it by Fred Astaire and Rita Hayworth. The story wasn't so great but the dancing made up for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good for Fred, Rita and Columbia, 25 Nov 2013
By 
Eric Mascarin Perigault (Panamá) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: You'll Never Get Rich [DVD] [1941] [2003] (DVD)
This is the first film of Fred and Rita. They made two. For Columbia, of course. The second is better. Fred is very comfortable with Rita. It seems that of all is dancing partners was the most pleasing to him. She was not a dancer but she did very well. And acted better than any of his peers. Is that Rita had tremendous energy. Cole Porter's music is good but does not compare to the Kern in the second film. The choreography by Robert Alton is very good. To me it seems better than the usual Hermes Pan. Only thing that jars is seeing Fred in his underwear. But the film is very good and the sequence of dances is very good. The copy is not properly restored.

Esta es la primera película de Fred y Rita. Hicieron dos. Para Columbia, por supuesto. La segunda está mejor. Fred se ve muy a gusto con Rita. Parece que de todas sus compañeras de baile está fue la mas agradable para él. Ella no era bailarina pero lo hacía muy bien. Y actuaba mejor que cualquiera otra de sus compañeras. Es que Rita poseía una energía tremenda. La música de Cole Porter está bien pero no se compara con la de Kern en la segunda película. La coreografía de Robert Alton es muy buena. A me me parece mejor que la usual de Hermes Pan. Lo único que desentona es ver a Fred en paños menores. Pero la película es muy buena y la secuencia de bailes es muy buena. La copia no está bien restaurada.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very nice, 6 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You'll Never Get Rich [DVD] [1941] [2003] (DVD)
A very enjoyable DVD! Much enjoyed by the elderly people where I work. A great talking point and lovely music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

You'll Never Get Rich [DVD] [1941] [2003]
You'll Never Get Rich [DVD] [1941] [2003] by Sidney Lanfield (DVD - 2003)
£3.01
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews