Customer Reviews


112 Reviews
5 star:
 (92)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


59 of 61 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars glamorous but not a granny
After watching Mrs. Caldicot's cabbage war, I was reminded how versatile an actress we have in Pauline Collins! The story centres around a married 'non person' who suddenly finds freedom after a rather peculiar end meets her husband. Put into a 'rest home' by her weak minded son and manipulative daughter-in-law, she spends a short time in drug induced oblivion...
Published on 19 Mar 2004

versus
19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars glamorous but not a granny
After watching Mrs. Caldicot's cabbage war, I was reminded how versatile an actress we have in Pauline Collins! The story centres around a married 'non person' who suddenly finds freedom after a rather peculiar end meets her husband. Put into a 'rest home' by her weak minded son and manipulative daughter-in-law, she spends a short time in drug induced oblivion...
Published on 19 Mar 2004 by Dawn M


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

59 of 61 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars glamorous but not a granny, 19 Mar 2004
By A Customer
After watching Mrs. Caldicot's cabbage war, I was reminded how versatile an actress we have in Pauline Collins! The story centres around a married 'non person' who suddenly finds freedom after a rather peculiar end meets her husband. Put into a 'rest home' by her weak minded son and manipulative daughter-in-law, she spends a short time in drug induced oblivion.
Eventually wakened by a sense of betrayal and longed for freedom, she finally begins to see her surroundings as they really are. Staff at the rest home are tranquilising virtually every resident to keep them quiet, prevent falls and therefore reduce staff overtime! Even the manager of the rest home (John Alderton) is reaping dividends in terms of Matron's very special kind of TLC.
The film does touch on a nerve ... the process of growing old with dignity. It makes you wonder if you might eventually end up in a similar predicament, eating cabbage seven days a week!
Reminiscent of Shirley Valentine,with essence of One Flew over the Cuckoo's Nest, the central character demonstrates the human ability to adapt and emerge stronger without recrimination.
Pauline Collins yet again adds her own very special something to this film, and gets a gorgeous man to boot.
Glamourous? Always. Granny? Never.
Dawn M
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A heartwarming surprise, 7 Feb 2005
By A Customer
I watched this film one saturday afternoon when nothing else was on the TV. What a brilliant surprise! Pauline Collins was fantastic in her role as downtrodden Mrs Caldicot and made me laugh and cry throughout the whole film. I would reccommend this film to anyone of any age, it's flawless!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars glamorous but not a granny, 19 Mar 2004
By 
Dawn M (Orpington, Kent United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
After watching Mrs. Caldicot's cabbage war, I was reminded how versatile an actress we have in Pauline Collins! The story centres around a married 'non person' who suddenly finds freedom after a rather peculiar end meets her husband. Put into a 'rest home' by her weak minded son and manipulative daughter-in-law, she spends a short time in drug induced oblivion.
Eventually wakened by a sense of betrayal and longed for freedom, she finally begins to see her surroundings as they really are. Staff at the rest home are tranquilising virtually every resident to keep them quiet, prevent falls and therefore reduce staff overtime! Even the manager of the rest home (John Alderton) is reaping dividends in terms of Matron's very special kind of TLC.
The film does touch on a nerve ... the process of growing old with dignity. It makes you wonder if you might eventually end up in a similar predicament, eating cabbage seven days a week!
Reminiscent of Shirley Valentine,with essence of One Flew over the Cuckoo's Nest, the central character demonstrates the human ability to adapt and emerge stronger without recrimination.
Pauline Collins yet again adds her own very special something to this film, and gets a gorgeous man to boot.
Glamourous? Always. Granny? Never.
Dawn M
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 56 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A hidden gem!, 18 Oct 2005
By A Customer
I first heard of this film a few years ago, when during the seasonal holidays, it was put on television. Although it was not Christmasy in the slightest, it most certainly was a heart warming, fussy film. After her finest hour of heroine, Shirley Valintine, Pauline Collins returns, as an OAP, who is unfairly placed in an poorly run nursing home, by her manipulative son and social climbing wife. The film is all very tame-don't expect all the signs of a Tarintino, but this film is just marvellous. Poignant, humerous, happy, sad, warm...whatever you want to call this film, all you need to know, it is an appropriate and highly entertaining, Watch it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 25 May 2009
By 
There is no doubt about it,Pauline Collins shines in this film. She is one of those actors that can capture the audience and hold them there right 'til the end.....and this is just what she does in this film. It's funny,it's sad and it will definitely pull on your heart-strings. If you thought she was good in Shirley Valentine,you just wait 'til you see this one!!!
FANTASTIC! No other word for it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Why don't you just walk out?", 10 Jan 2004
By 
Jennifer Litchfield (Auckland, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
Mrs Caldicot's Cabbage War didn't reap the acclaim and appreciation it deserved upon its cinematic release, which is a shame because it is an enjoyable and comfortable comedy, but it also touches some raw nerves over the treatment of our senior citizens. Even though many audiences will not be able to identify with the aged protagonists, it doesn't take very long before the viewer is rooting for the 'Wrinkly Revolution', as the oldies thumb their noses at the mean-spirited authorities.
The leader of the backlash is Thelma Caldicot - a downtrodden housewife who is prematurely dumped in a retirement home by her money-hungry son and daughter-in-law. 'Twilight Years' is run by an obsequious manager and an iron-fisted matron, whose goals are to keep the profits rolling in, and the patients doped up and stuffed full of boiled cabbage. Thelma rebels against this and rallies the rest home residents into a large-scale escape, which becomes national news.
There are some lovely character roles; in particular the totally over-the-top rest home management duo, who well deserve whatever just desserts befall them. But was it really necessary to give them a sex scene? Additionally, the love interest for Thelma seems a trifle contrived, and doesn't add to the story at all. Where the narrative really works is when it questions our perceptions of what "old" and "past it" really mean, and that the uncomfortable and embarrassing truth is that it is easier to stuff elderly and confused people full of tranquilisers than it is to genuinely help them. Unfortunately, many of these moving scenes are marred by the overly sentimental score. The bouncy theme tune however is perfect for an occasionally outrageous, very funny, very British comedy that will leave the viewer with a pleasant and upbeat aftertaste.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comedy Drama, 9 April 2009
By 
Eileen Tilston "weird sister" (Chester U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an excellent Comedy drama, British at its best. It has everything some sad bits, an awful Son and Daughter in law and a greedy retirement home manager but Pauline Collins shines through she is funny and very loveable and the rest of the old dears in the home are pretty special. I enjoyed this film so much, I must have now watched it half a dozen times. We need more British films. Buy this you wont be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mrs Caldicot's Cabbage War, 19 Aug 2013
By 
Mrs. Jean E. Robinson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mrs Caldicot's Cabbage War [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD was a pleasure to watch with plenty of known British actors in, a big plus in my eyes was that there was no bad language in it so it appealed to me and my husband. We wish there were many more of this calibre, without having to block one's ears to the profanity which seems to be a feature of many of todays films
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mrs Caldicot's Cabbage war, 22 July 2013
By 
Mrs. P. R. Greenfield (Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mrs Caldicot's Cabbage War [DVD] (DVD)
Pauline Collins never fails to please.
A great actress and a very good film.
How true it seems to be of so many homes until someone actually helps the residents
Very impressed with this dvd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars British Comedy At Its Finest!, 10 Mar 2009
By 
H. D. Doel (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A gentle British comedy with laughs and tears along the way. I really recommend this film. It leaves you wondering just how true it all is. See the residents of the care home fight back against the system. Sit back, relax with a glass of wine and prepare to laugh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mrs Caldicot's Cabbage War [DVD]
Mrs Caldicot's Cabbage War [DVD] by Peter capaldi (DVD - 2003)
10.97
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews