Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


68 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic 70's sitcom
Long overdue re-release of the hilarious 70's comedy. Deemed offensive but insults are traded equally and Eddie always ends up being made a total fool of. Rudolph Walker is great here as he is in the Thin Blue Line and Eastenders.
Also includes the unseen pilot episode with a different actress playing Eddie's wife Joan. Let's hope all the other series are reissued...
Published on 30 Dec 2003

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars love thy neibour review
this was funny in my youth, but because of the way society has changed over the years it is not the same, but nice to bring back memories
Published 10 months ago by busdriverlynda


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

68 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic 70's sitcom, 30 Dec 2003
By A Customer
Long overdue re-release of the hilarious 70's comedy. Deemed offensive but insults are traded equally and Eddie always ends up being made a total fool of. Rudolph Walker is great here as he is in the Thin Blue Line and Eastenders.
Also includes the unseen pilot episode with a different actress playing Eddie's wife Joan. Let's hope all the other series are reissued too.
If you find this sort of comedy offensive then stick with that Jasper Carrott sitcom on BBC1. It is a very 70's comedy (from the sets to the references) and very un-PC, but if you can live with thay you are guarranteed a laugh from one of the UK's most watched comedies of it's day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 58 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Love Thy Neighbour Series 1, 16 Jun 2004
In this world gone mad, where a blackboard is now a chalkboard and a whiteboard is a dryboard, we are slowly becoming a country that has lost the ability to laugh at itself.
In a multi-cultural society, the one thing that should bring us all together is the ability to be able to laugh about ourselves and eachother
The politically correct brigade amongst us are bound to say that this programme is nothing more than racist claptrap, but the fact is that both lead characters give as much as they get.
This is no more than un-pc and racist than 'Till Death do us part, where Warren Mitchell dispells Tony Booth for being a scouser.
The main point about the whole series is that it is funny. Eddie Booth (Jack Smethurst) inveitably comes off worst and it is funny to see his bigoted views become his downfall.
With classic one liners this situation comedy delivers on all levels, so whack it in the DVD player and give it a whirl
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Honkey Tonkey, 9 Jan 2004
By 
mr s riley (st helens, merseyside United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This show was a classic first time around and its about time it was released on DVD.
Fantastic one liners and don't forget the actors in the show are black and white !!
You must watch this show with an open frame of mind , grab a few beers , invite the neighbours in and prepare for comedy,
Fantastic !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IMPORTANT INFO ON LOVE THY NEIGHBOUR DVDS - please read, 27 April 2007
By 
P. D. gray "ChaplinFan" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
There are currently 3 boxsets of LOVE THY NEIGHBOUR seasons 1...3 released by Pegasus but they have mucked up the amount of episodes on the second and third one to the buyers advantage. Heres the details

SEASON 1 set - All 7 episodes plus bonus unbroadcast pilot episode

SEASON 2 set - All 6 episodes plus first 4 episodes from SEASON 3

SEASON 3 set - LAST 2 episodes from SEASON 3 plus all 8 episodes SEASON 4 (Season 4 had 8 episodes, 7 normal length and one extended...all included here).

So as you can see, if you buy these 3 season sets you are also getting season 4, crazy the way Pegasus has named the sets but I think its because they initially released the first 2 sets and didnt intend a third so bunged some season 3 episodes on the third one. When they realised they were selling well and should do a third set, they called it SEASON 3 but since most of those episodes were put on series 2 as bonus they put all of season 4 on as well.

It NOW makes sense that we are going to get (from a different company I believe) seasons 5 onwards released on dvd....so dont go BUT WHERES SEASON 4 when you look through the amazon listings, its on the season 3 set! hope this info proves useful, it all confused me until I got my facts straight using a comedy reference book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Seventies Period Piece, 2 April 2009
By 
Jervis - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Love Thy Neighbour certainly lacks the sophistication associated with many of the comedies that are typically regarded as classics - and especially those also from the seventies which are associated with the BBC, yet despite the series appearing stereotypical in so many ways, and not least where racial discrimination is concerned, there is an awful lot here to enjoy.

Pretty much all the episodes in series one are very well written where often the racial taunts are very much evenly split between Eddie (the white neighbour) and Bill (the black neighbour) meaning that Bill very much gives as good as he got. Yet beneath it all there was always an underlying feeling that those two were really the best of friends whatever the implications of their disagreements may have been (and it wasn't always just about race) and it's this sort of unusual comradeship which adds no end to the charm of the series in a way that more recent (and often more abrasive) comedies never quite manage to find, however politically correct they strive to be. The show consequently has an endearing charm.

I'm from the generation who viewed this series first time round and it didn't really cross my mind that it could ever be deemed seriously offensive back then, despite some pretty strong racist overtones, although rewatching these episodes many years later can at times seem a little shocking because many of the racist themes would never seem fit to be allowed on tv these days. However, i still find the show exceedingly funny in pretty much every respect, although i won't deny members of racial minority groups may see things a little differently, especially if overexposure to the show should influence some impressionable (young) minds. The persistant name calling does seem like something we've grown well away from since those days (certainly to a degree) and does seem initially very disturbing in the context of what we've come to expect these days. The show has consequently dated far more than many of its contempories from that time period.

At the end of the day, and despite everything (and including arguably a touch of naivety with regards to the consequences of the theme of the writing at times), Love Thy Neighbour remains a great classic comedy. The only difference being it may not be repeated too often on tv - all the more reason to by this DVD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the PC Front Line, 21 Aug 2008
By 
Bigoted white socialist gets black next door neighbours in the most un-pc sit-com ever aired on British television.

Still controversial today, 'Love Thy Neighbour' would be indefensible if it wasn't so funny. The writers go to great pains to make sure that the black guy usually gets the upper hand in the juvenile pranks and schemes that 'snowflake' thinks up, but there is an invective incongeniality to some of the confrontations.

Whether you'll be offended by this depends on whether you think childish phrases like 'nig-nog' and 'white honky' are acceptable in a 'comedy' context.

What's really interesting is; the two protagonists are at each others throats virtually the whole time - except when they're trying to put one over on their wives. If there's a darts competition, a booze-up or a football match on the horizon and their wives are trying to put the mockers on it, they're suddenly the best of friends. This cynically suggests that the writers are of the depressing (but probably true) opinion that the gap between the races is nowhere near the chasm that exists between the sexes. But that's another series.

In short, 'Love Thy Neighbour' is naïve, archaic, sexist, horrendously stereotypical and rude. It's of it's time (1972 -1976) and rightly or wrongly commanded huge audiences when it was first broadcast. We used to sit down as a family to watch it, it was all innocent and accepted. But times change and it was left out in the cold, castigated and reviled as the champion bete noir of the 80's PC brigade.
Now it's 'retro'. We've come full circle, it sneaks out on dvd, rising from the grave like a vampire. (a useful analogy seeing as the movie version was produced by Hammer Films!) We can laugh now, but in an ironic, post-modern sense.

And 'Love Thy Neighbour' is really funny, whichever way you look at it. The white guy is an absolute buffoon (he's a bit proto-Al Bundy, to tell the truth) and the black fella is obviously his better in every sense, but is driven to distraction and despair by his infantile antics.
So if you're after a chuckle and aren't bothered about the baggage, on you go, but if you're stuck on the politics - leave well alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CLASSIC UN PC, 26 Jun 2008
This review is from: Love Thy Neighbour [DVD] (DVD)
What more can i say,
Classic real life of how we really are.
The one thing i can say about the 70s TV is it was at least honest real life humor.
Today the p.c correct try to fool us in to thinking that is all behind us and we dont think like this anymore or ever WRONG!!! isnt it better to laugh at ourselves than deny our differences?.
Black comedians have no problem still laughing at the differences of real people and real life.
Anyway it was good to see this classic 70s hit that was one of the most watched of all tv sitcoms of its day but seems to have been lost from memory like some a bad act from our past.
Eddie & Joan booth live next door too bill and barbie who happen to be west indian and thats where the fun starts.
The wifes are the best of friends and the husbands fight like too kids.

Rudolph walker who plays Bill goes on to play in lots of other shows and films up until the last thing i saw him in was ben eltons the thin blue line with rowan atkinson but and the actress that plays joan the last things i saw who in was probably in the 80s .
jack smethhurst and the actress who plays barbie ive never seen them in anything else.
But great to have another classic 70s spin off film to add to my collection.
Great service from my mates at amazon uk to a gratefull ex pat to the USA.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars more non-pc goings on from Eddie Booth, 18 Mar 2007
By 
E. Dale "elained2" (W. Yorks, England UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This follows on from Series 1...when Bill and Barbie hold an housewarming party, Eddie tries to stop his wife from going but as usual she sides with the new neighbours so in a fit of pique Eddie complains to the police about the noise from the party, contains the full series plus 2 bonus episodes... another very tongue-in-cheek look at racism in the 1970s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent entertainment RELEASED as it should be !!, 20 July 2006
By 
Mr. P. J. R. LEWIS (Llandudno N Wales) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
With all the nonsense of Political Correctness it is high time that CLASSIC 70ies series such as this should be released so that those too young to remember them can make their own mind up.

Im 43 so i can remember the hilarious days when name calling was seen as funny in a comedy atmosphere.

How many people realise that there is an episode of another classic 70ies series The Professionals that has never seen a tv airing but is available on DVD.This episode titled KLANSMEN makes Love thy Neighbour seem like family entertainment,even i was taken aback at how racist it was compared to the other 56 episodes,but thankfully it has been released and we can make our own minds up.

CENSORSHIP is an ugly word,but when it comes to classic comedy sense should prevail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Political correctness....Who cares, just have a good laugh, 7 Oct 2007
By 
Fatboy (Cumbria, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sadly this program would most likely not be shown now due to this countries crazy political correctness. Watching it was like a breath of fresh air compared to the crap sterile stuff we have now, this was made when people did not have to watch every word that they said so as not to heaven forbid 'offend someone', this show is full of classic one liners, this is comedy at its best and like I have said it is like a breath of fresh air. A MUST BUY in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Love Thy Neighbour: Series 1 - Episodes 3 And 4 [DVD]
£1.72
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews