Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Gear!
There is absolutely no doubt that Top Gear is one of the greatest shows on television. There are so many reasons for this that it would be impossible for me to write them all here, so I'll sum them up.
Firstly, this show is beautiful. As a camera operator, I can say that Top Gear has been a real inspiration to my work since the new style of the show started. The...
Published on 31 Jan 2005 by Beebee

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Almost a great highlights package
I'm not sure what I was expecting here, as it's been so long since I saw any episodes from the first two series of Top Gear! One thing to remember is that the show has evolved into the 'three funny blokes do blokey stuff with cars' show that I love today, but it wasn't always like that, even after the revival of the series.

This DVD focusses on JC's car reviews...
Published on 1 Jun 2011 by Peaksteve


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Gear!, 31 Jan 2005
This review is from: Top Gear - Back in the Fast Lane : Best of BBC Series 1 & 2 [DVD] (DVD)
There is absolutely no doubt that Top Gear is one of the greatest shows on television. There are so many reasons for this that it would be impossible for me to write them all here, so I'll sum them up.
Firstly, this show is beautiful. As a camera operator, I can say that Top Gear has been a real inspiration to my work since the new style of the show started. The articles on the show are always visually stunning, with fantastic soundtracks. This is a creative producer's dream.
Secondly, the show is hilarious. The producers knew that they had to get a wide audience without losing the 'boys toys' element of the programme, which is why so much silliness happens. But it's great, because every responsible driver on the road needs to let their hair down, and to see Richard Hammond destroy a caravan with gravity is a light-hearted stunt to make even the most stiff-upper-lipped driver chuckle.
Thirdly, the guests are great. Even if they're not particularly famous, the viewer warms to them instantly with the simple "Star In A Reasonably Priced Car" section. Seeing a famous person in a tight helmet driving a Liana round a track is humbling, even to Patrick Stewart (who was excellent). Jeremy Clarkson, whether you love him or hate him, is great with the guests and always gets a laugh.
And, my final point (for now), the combination of Clarkson, Hammond and May on a show dedicated to honouring great cars and laughing at bad ones is spot on. A show that brings together great presenters, interesting cars and tremendous production is a hard thing to achieve, but Top Gear does is perfectly.
Buy this DVD and immortalise this pristine show on your shelf; it's worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Almost a great highlights package, 1 Jun 2011
By 
Peaksteve (Halesowen, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Top Gear - Back in the Fast Lane : Best of BBC Series 1 & 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I'm not sure what I was expecting here, as it's been so long since I saw any episodes from the first two series of Top Gear! One thing to remember is that the show has evolved into the 'three funny blokes do blokey stuff with cars' show that I love today, but it wasn't always like that, even after the revival of the series.

This DVD focusses on JC's car reviews primarily, with some excellent edited highlights of his star interviews. There are a few features featuring Richard Hammond, too, but James May (who joined the team for series two) only features once, and the bloke he replaced (Jason Dawe) only shows up in a couple of studio shots, and doesn't say anything!

So, a decent enough DVD, but not necessarily a true reflection of the diverse features that were in the TV show, and it's certainly not going to be what you expect if you've watched Top Gear for the past three years or so but weren't a viewer back in 2002.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 4 Jan 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Top Gear - Back in the Fast Lane : Best of BBC Series 1 & 2 [DVD] (DVD)
We don't get Top Gear in Australia, so I was lucky enough to be sent this DVD for Christmas and it really is good stuff. Not like your usual car crap, these guys really have fun throwing fast, high priced cars around on the track coupled with that trademark British dry wit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what I had hoped for., 6 Mar 2010
This review is from: Top Gear - Back in the Fast Lane : Best of BBC Series 1 & 2 [DVD] (DVD)
When the BBC made this DVD they should have called it The Jeremy Clarkson Car Review Show. This is because the majority of the DVD focuses on Clarkson's car reviews with a few of Richard Hammond's car reviews thrown in and even less of the stuff that kept non car fans riveted to the show. I've got no problem with Clarkson's car reviews but there are just far too many on this DVD and not enough of the challenges or other features that made up the first two series. As for the third presenter of Top Gear he rarely features at all. In the first series Jason Dawe co-hosted the show with Clarkson and Hammond yet he is only briefly glimpsed in three very short studio shots in the entire DVD while his successor James May appears just once right near the end. A huge disappointment for the fans of the show that only enjoyed the manic non car review features.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Top Gear, 9 Feb 2011
By 
Ms. S. Ali - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top Gear - Back in the Fast Lane : Best of BBC Series 1 & 2 [DVD] (DVD)
As a Top Gear Fan this is not one of the best of the dvds they have out. Mostly showing cars on the track with their timings, and which cars are the best. There is no banter from the three stooges (which I love) and it was pretty boring, but the cars are good looking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I like Top gear, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top Gear - Back in the Fast Lane : Best of BBC Series 1 & 2 [DVD] (DVD)
It is very good program I watched a lots because I love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well i do!, 16 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top Gear - Back in the Fast Lane : Best of BBC Series 1 & 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Well i do! However the person i purchased them for wasn't so keen. He had seen most of them on "Dave", so maybe i got the choice wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars CLASSIC BBC SERIES, 18 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top Gear - Back in the Fast Lane : Best of BBC Series 1 & 2 [DVD] (DVD)
FIRST CLASS. NO ISSUES WITH THIS ITEM, AND A BARGAIN PRICE TO BOOT. WORTH EVERY PENNY OF THE POSTAGE. RECOMMENDED.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars top gear vids, 4 Jan 2012
This review is from: Top Gear - Back in the Fast Lane : Best of BBC Series 1 & 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I have rather a large collection of Top gear vids and they all follow the general manner of Topgear. If you're a fan you'll love them, if you're not a fan why are you considering buying a Topgear vid???
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Abbreviated hilarity at its best!, 8 Jun 2010
By 
Mike G "Mike G" (Sault Ste. Marie, MI) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Top Gear - Back in the Fast Lane : Best of BBC Series 1 & 2 [DVD] (DVD)
This combines the best "clips" from series 1 & 2. These are not the full segments, just snippets from, sometimes in random order. This video is side-splittingly funny regardless.
I will admit it is missing some key moments. One example is Hammond is test driving a Bowler and during the segment, proclaims "I am a driving God!" This made it in the video, Clarkson's and May's comments after the segment did not and their comments were funnier than Hammond's statement. This is a minor flaw in an otherwise hilarious watch.
For anybody with a sense of humour, this is a must own!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Top Gear - Back in the Fast Lane : Best of BBC Series 1 & 2 [DVD]
£5.45
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews