Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


215 of 217 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Maybe not the 'complete edition' but still great.
Having read other reviews who trashed this set for not including 'Return of the Pink Panther', while I agree that it's a shame we couldn't have the COMPLETE set as the box claims, 'Return' wasn't included for the simple reason that MGM do not own the rights to this film, as it was made by Lew Grade's ITC company and not by MGM/UA. Grade wanted to make a Clouseau...
Published on 29 Nov. 2003 by J. Taylor

versus
56 of 59 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some great comedy moments
Like everyone else I was disappointed to find that the Return of the Pink Panther was left out of this (you will find the explanation for this in another review). The Return is one of the better films (who can forget the sequence involving Clouseau's bungled break-in to Lady Litton's hotel room?) and I prize my VHS copy. Nevertheless this set is still worth buying - the...
Published on 9 Feb. 2004 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 318 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pink Panther Film Collection, 5 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A truly great film collection - I also bought the additional single dvd 'return of the pink panther' making it into a fantastic full collection. All for under £15!! Superb
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars no Return of Pink Panther??, 2 Jan. 2004
By 
This review is from: The Pink Panther Film Collection (5 Disc Box Set) [DVD] [1976] (DVD)
This is a great collection but my Dad was totally gutted when we both realised no Return of the Pink Panther was included, AND Trail Of The Pink Panther WAS included when all it is, are outakes from his previous movies, this was disappointing since it cost alot of money. I hope Return of the Pink Panther will be released on Region 2 DVD soon and also The Party which is another classic Peter Sellers movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars why no return?, 16 Jun. 2007
By 
N. Brown (California, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Pink Panther Film Collection (5 Disc Box Set) [DVD] [1976] (DVD)
Having been a life long fan of the genre, this box set entitled the complete collection is just short of the mark. Why the 'Return of the Pink Panther' is not included, which in my opinion has some of the most hilarious scenes of all the films is disappointing and rather makes a complete collection incomplete. Strangely the disks are unmarked, so jolly minutes are spent trying to decide which is which. A good box set and A shot in the Dark is still the most slick and rewarding. Leave out the Trail of the PP and put the Return back in and this would be a must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good collection let down by poor disc labelling, 12 Jan. 2010
By 
Dr. J. W. Martin "Doc Martin" (Staffordshire,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Pink Panther Film Collection (5 Disc Box Set) [DVD] [1976] (DVD)
I was given this set as a Christmas present (from my Amazon wish list). The films are exactly as I remember them, and very enjoyable, but the set is let down by the fact that the idiots who mastered it decided not to put meaningful titles on each DVD. In fact, there are NO titles on the DVDs, just pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Box set solution ?, 25 Feb. 2004
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pink Panther Film Collection (5 Disc Box Set) [DVD] [1976] (DVD)
I know this is a bit radical but here goes.....buy this box set, get the Region 1 Artisan "Return of the Pink Panther" (it IS widescreen but not anamorphic), chuck out the "Trail of the Pink Panther", move the last two films in the set over - hey presto, complete set !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 35 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars pink panther collection, 6 Jan. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Pink Panther Film Collection (5 Disc Box Set) [DVD] [1976] (DVD)
I agree with the other reviewers about the missing classic "Return of the Pink Panther". My children bought me the set as they thought it was the complete set.You can only imagine my dissappointment when we realised the best panther film was missing. Is there a reason for this? Was it produced by another Studio? What makes it worse is I cant get the Return of the Pink Panther on DvD anywhere and this ultimately leaves a bad taste with this collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Looks promising...., 19 Sept. 2003
By 
This review is from: The Pink Panther Film Collection (5 Disc Box Set) [DVD] [1976] (DVD)
but...why Trail of the Pink Panther and not Return of the Pink Panther (1975). Trail was made up of bits and pieces and in no way comparable to the earlier movies.
Return... was previously released on DVD but is no longer available and was quite a horrible transfer and fullscreen.
Still the other four movies are well worth the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What happened to the Return of the Pink Panther?, 20 Nov. 2003
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pink Panther Film Collection (5 Disc Box Set) [DVD] [1976] (DVD)
At last, I thought, the complete Pink Panther box set available to enjoy on DVD! I should have read more closely! This is not the complete set (and does not state that it is) as the Return of the Pink Panther is missing. I had presumed that when the box set was finally released it would contain all of the movies in this classic comedy series but alas one is missing. Oh well, I shall continue to enjoy that one on VHS for now. As for the films that are included... A triumph... This humour continues to age like a fine wine and I loved every minute. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Betraying your cherished memories?, 3 May 2005
By 
Andy Millward (Tiptree, Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pink Panther Film Collection (5 Disc Box Set) [DVD] [1976] (DVD)
Three things in life to avoid at all costs:
1) People whose ulterior motives cost you a stack of money (solicitors and accountants, for starters)
2) Cynical sequels of classic films made for absolutely no good reason whatsoever (viz: remake of the Pink Panter starring Steve Martin and Kevin Kline in roles made famous by Peter Sellers and Herbert Lom.)
3) Revisiting cherished films long after you first saw them.
Sadly, much of the Pink Panther oeuvre falls into the third category. Don't get me wrong, it's a huge pleasure to see this collection (albeit lackinng one critical component), particularly when it's been beautifully packaged with a range of documentaries and 6 PP cartoons (much to the delight of my kids!)
But it's like betraying your memory. It's never quite the same again as that moment of joy when you saw Sellers and his brilliant Wisdom-esque slapstick routine as the incomparable Inspector Clouseau.
In retrospect, the latter films seem well over the top and to have dated even more quickly than the first batch. Of these features, Shot in the Dark survives best, by virtue of being the best scripted and best executed. Sellers may have hated it, but he was little short of inspired throughout. Lom and Bert Kwouk in their respective first outings both succeed by virtue of being fresh and funny, where later their routines seemed as comfortable as an old pair of jeans. Notice the loving wit as Edwards has laced the films with nods to other films, including Some Like it Hot.
The other problem is, knowing as we now do the extent of Sellers' melancholy and lifelong search for a personal identity, it's easy to read echoes into the Pink Panther films, especially in view of the love-hate relationship between director and star. To his credit, Blake Edwards is very honest and open about the creative tension between the two in interviews recorded here, and maybe the films would not have been the same if the two had got on like a house on fire. The long gap in the series was caused by the seemingly inevitable decline in Sellers's fortunes to the point where he had to return to the Pink Panther to make a quick buck. Nonetheless,
I'd love to give these films five stars out of five, but ultimately they are films of their time and not genuine 5* all-time classics. But for all their flaws, you can't argue that the package now represents genuine value for money. Buy and try, but don't be too sad with the results.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 64 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Is this for Real?, 16 Nov. 2003
This review is from: The Pink Panther Film Collection (5 Disc Box Set) [DVD] [1976] (DVD)
OK so they do not claim that it is the 'complete' Pink Panther collection but you would make that assumption wouldn't you? I did, more fool me. Great to see these films on DVD in a collection but without Return of the Pink Panther it is not a true collection. The Trail... was a post Sellers' demise effort and should be the one that is left out if indeed any needed to be left out.
Maybe we can assume there is a good reason for The Return being missed but it prompts the question 'why then release a box set collection'...?
Sorry... disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 318 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Pink Panther Film Collection (5 Disc Box Set) [DVD] [1976]
£35.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews