Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


298 of 304 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can use after studenthood!
I read one of the reviews on here saying that you couldn't use the software after you finished studying so I emailed Microsoft.
This was their answer.
Question:
I will be a student until July 2006, what will happen to my license after this time?
Answer:
I can confirm that you will remain licensed to use it after this date, even if you are no...
Published on 10 Mar. 2005 by tom1777

versus
78 of 78 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Office software for educational users - but sadly no PRO version anymore
This is a superb 'office' productivity package for home and business users. It has a full copies of Word, PowerPoint and Excel (plus Outlook for emails). As mentioned by other reviewers, very annoyingly MS Office Pro Student edition isn't available anymore, so if you also want the superb relational database Access and the very good desktop publisher Publisher you are...
Published on 3 Feb. 2006 by Charlie-CJ


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

78 of 78 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Office software for educational users - but sadly no PRO version anymore, 3 Feb. 2006
By 
Charlie-CJ (England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Microsoft Office Student & Teacher Edition 2003 (CD-ROM)
This is a superb 'office' productivity package for home and business users. It has a full copies of Word, PowerPoint and Excel (plus Outlook for emails). As mentioned by other reviewers, very annoyingly MS Office Pro Student edition isn't available anymore, so if you also want the superb relational database Access and the very good desktop publisher Publisher you are stuck with the full cost Office Pro. Otherwise anyone who is in full time education (yes even a 5 year old at Primary School) can buy this basic MS Office 2003 package. Main downside is that it is Windows XP or 2000 only. If you think that you only really need Word, have a look at MS Works Suite 2006 which includes a full copy of Word 2002 (not 2003 though), plus MS Works, MS Money, AutoRoute and Encarta standard 2006 - plus this suite also runs on Windows 98SE and ME, except Encarta 2006 (XP, 2000 only). It costs around the same price as MS Office Student at Amazon.

For basic home-office, if you have simple needs (or far more complex), do try out [...] - it's totally free to download and use from Sun, has basic compatibility with MS Office (it includes Writer, Calc, & DataBase, plus a `PowerPoint' style presenter and a full drawing package) and has all the main functionality of MS Office (you can buy OpenOffice as Star Office for manuals, better support etc. - but then you might well go for this student MS Office 2003 as it's not much more expensive). OpenOffice has complex user interface though, but of course it's free to download, try out and use, plus there is on-line help. There is also the cheap-as-chips Ability Office Pro at £40 from Amazon that is worth a look and includes a good database [see [...] where you can download a trial version to see if this software suits your needs before buying at Amazon]. These options will also run on Windows 98 SE & ME. However if you need guaranteed MS compatibility for everything and have XP then the choice is really only MS Office.

Note though that the university where I work (University College London) will sell any of their students a full copy of Microsoft Office Professional for £67 (via a Viglen online link) - so prospective students should check this out with their college. Office Pro adds the DataBase Access and the desktop publisher `Publisher'. There are often small discounts for other MS products (e.g. Encarta, Project, XP Pro). Also ask around, Uncle Fred may have a full licensed copy of an older version of MS Office Pro (e.g. 2000 or XP) going spare - I have both.

Nearly everyone, particularly business, expects you to use MS Office, and naturally only that can offer full compatibility with Office. So MS Office [Basic] Student Edition 2003 is highly recommended for top quality office software at a knock down price (I give 3* as no Student Office Pro version is offered any more). But do consider the other options I mention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


298 of 304 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can use after studenthood!, 10 Mar. 2005
This review is from: Microsoft Office Student & Teacher Edition 2003 (CD-ROM)
I read one of the reviews on here saying that you couldn't use the software after you finished studying so I emailed Microsoft.
This was their answer.
Question:
I will be a student until July 2006, what will happen to my license after this time?
Answer:
I can confirm that you will remain licensed to use it after this date, even if you are no longer a student. This is confirmed on this site, under the "pricing and ordering" section.
And this is the link
[...]
So if you don't mind only having Word, Excel, Outlook and PowerPoint this is great value!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


114 of 117 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value - includes cheap Access offer too, 21 Mar. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Microsoft Office Student & Teacher Edition 2003 (CD-ROM)
Having toiled with Office 95 on our home PC - kids moaning because they use 2000/2 at school and me struggling because we use 2002 at work, I decided to invest in the Student and Teacher version of Office 2003. Slightly concerned that there was no Access in the latest version. However, received the product wthin 3 days (even with the free delivery option) and installed it on home PC with no problems. Still allowed 2 more installs, so this will support the family as they grow into their own PCs for homework. Fantastic surprise in the case too - a voucher to claim MS Access for 30Euros - translated to £18.81 when I ordered it form the MS website. When combined with the Access offer, this is a great deal - all the major programmes from MS Office for under £120. Only slight problem, does not seem to have installed clip art in all its detail, but loads of images available on the MS website
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars better than any other version of office i've used., 13 Nov. 2003
This review is from: Microsoft Office Student & Teacher Edition 2003 (CD-ROM)
i've had several of the older incarnations of office over the years and this is by far the easiest to install, since hard drives are huge these days all you need to do is do a complete install. which means no faffing round with options and having to use the indecipherable system microsoft used on office 2000, and seemd to use on this version too. the programs are much faster loading than before, look better and are less clunky. and the dictionary on word automatically sets itself to uk english, not us english, saving me a few minutes. My only real beef was that the authentication system didnt seem to realise my internet connection was open and so i had to phone the 0800 number instead but other than that this package is brilliant, cheap and does what it says on the box. Its complex to use and a PITA. For anyone doing anything scientific excel is THE tool, its blindingly simple to use and makes doing statistical calculations so easy it will probably be outlawed by all universities in a few years for making things too easy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Where is Access?, 4 Nov. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Microsoft Office Student & Teacher Edition 2003 (CD-ROM)
I just bought this software, and was very pleased about the price! It does slightly bemuse me that there is no ID required to activate the software, surely anyone can buy it and just pretend to be a student, or does microsoft assume everyone in the world is honest?! It could do with having Access tho. This is a very useful program for us students! Also Publisher wouldnt go a miss, but I do understand you cant have everything!! Overall though, a good buy, and saves walking miles to use uni computers!! It is a platform that all schools and unis use, so buying Wordperfect of Lotus just becomes infuriating, as I have found some of my work to be specific to Excel for example. Definately the package to buy, so what are you waiting for?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


94 of 99 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Microsoft wakes up (at last), 7 Jun. 2004
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Office Student & Teacher Edition 2003 (CD-ROM)
Finally - MS have realised that most home users will not pay £450+ for a fully licensed version of Office (no matter how good it is) and that lots of us are either eligible students or have kids of school age and find MS Works an insult to our intelligence!This deal (with Access thrown in for an extra 30UKP is exceptional value - no trimmed functionality or other tricks and no licences that try to 'expire' on graduation or school leaving age.Welcome, Microsoft! to the planet the rest of us inhabit on a daily basis and congratulations on the smartest marketing decision you ever made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really Good + Easy to Register, 25 Feb. 2004
This review is from: Microsoft Office Student & Teacher Edition 2003 (CD-ROM)
Office Student Edition is a brilliant product as expected. My biggest surprise however was the ease at which the student edition is registered, software comes in pack and you simply need to call a free 0800 number or you can do it online (both ways are really quick and simple), Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


227 of 242 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most affordable price ever, plus great new features, 22 Oct. 2003
By 
This review is from: Microsoft Office Student & Teacher Edition 2003 (CD-ROM)
After 10 revisions of Office, you'd think they'd be hard put to come out with yet another release. Yet, Microsoft has managed to do just that, and make it worth a buy, too.
Especially if you're using Outlook 2000, you'll want to upgrade for Outlook 2003's spam and security features alone. Outlook 2003's secure-out-of-the-box settings make it near-impossible for viruses to spread, which means you're protected from the next Code Red or Welchia. Its junk mail filters have improved a lot over Outlook XP. And of course the biggest highlight is the drop-dead gorgeous interface: it's THE most productive interface ever for an email application. I feel the price you pay for Office 2003 is quickly recouped by the time you save reading email in Outlook alone.
Many of the changes made to Office 2003 impact large business users, such as Word's ability to edit XML, and Outlook's enhanced Exchange features. These features are not available or relevant for the home Student and Teacher market, but there's plenty else to like.
I have to present a good deal, so I liked PowerPoint's being able to burn slideshows to CD: a good, time-saving feature because you can pop in the CD on any Windows machine and expect it to play (PowerPoint burns a viewer onto the CD in case the machine doesn't have PowerPoint).
There's now a new Research Task Pane across the suite that makes the writing all those term reports and assignments so much faster. Sure, one could open up a zillion browser windows, but the Research pane consolidates the facts you need into one place, saving time. You get access to Encarta, an online translation service, and several other goodies; you can also add third party services.
Word now has a "Read" mode that makes it much easier to flip through a long document, two pages at a time, book-style. Teachers reading essays for grading will undoubtedly love this. You can also open two documents side-by-side and quickly see changes between them (Excel 2003 also offers this).
Finally, the price. At this price (which allows installation on up to three computers), it really doesn't get better than this. Considering the quality and feature-completeness of the Office suite, it steams past alternatives, all of which are either non-commercial, unsupported software, or commercial software at the same ballpark price.
Who's eligible to buy? Anyone with a school-going child or educator in the house. What's noteworthy is that unlike older "academic" editions of Office, you need not show ID to purchase this, and you can continue to use the software even when you're not a student anymore. You can also install it on up to 3 computers in your home, which makes it great for family use.
Cribs: Office 2003 needs Windows XP (or Windows 2000) to run; so all of you with Windows 98 or ME are out of luck. But you should be running XP anyway, it's far more stable and secure than 98 or ME could ever be. Much more seriously, the Access and OneNote programs are not included in this; this is a pity because I believe many teachers would have found Access useful. OneNote's exclusion is a mystery: surely everyone, especially students doing research, would benefit from a note-taking program?
Bottom-Line: if you care about being productive with your software, and run Office 2000 or an earlier version, you MUST upgrade to this. Heavy Office XP users will also see benefits, primarily while working through their email. And if you are, or know, a student or teacher who needs software to get her work done, don't think twice about buying this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome new release, 23 Oct. 2003
This review is from: Microsoft Office Student & Teacher Edition 2003 (CD-ROM)
I tried out Office 2003 on a friend#'s PC and ordered it for myself just now!! If there's a single reason to buy Office 2003, it's the new Outlook 2003. The screen-apperance and user interface are quite different, and makes e-mailing a different experience!! There are three different panes (for Outlook Today, mail and the mailbody) and the whole thing is nicely organised. I also found the new version a bit faster, especially the functionality that searches for messages.
At first glance, I didn't find major (visible) differences at least in Word 2003 and Excel 2003. But I know that XML-fans will be pleased with the new version(s).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Microsoft Office Student and Teacher 2003, 12 Jun. 2011
This review is from: Microsoft Office Student & Teacher Edition 2003 (CD-ROM)
Bought Microsoft Office Student and Teacher 2003 because I don't like 2007 and 2010. It arrived two days ago and I promptly installed it on my new Windows 7 laptop and am happy to say it installed within minutes and runs fine. At the time I also downloaded Office 2003 Service Pack 3 (SP3) from the Microsoft website. I downloaded Microsoft Office Compatibility Pack this morning but have removed it because it tried to run the pre-installed Microsoft Office 10 Starter whenever I opened a Word document. My computer's now happily running Word 2003 again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Microsoft Office Student & Teacher Edition 2003
Microsoft Office Student & Teacher Edition 2003 by Microsoft Software (Windows XP)
Used & New from: £33.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews