Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Variety is a plenty!
There is a variety of diffrent tracks on this album ranging from the pop '1000 Days' to the quite moving 'Hope'. I can only descirbe this album as being great listen for the people who like catchy tunes which you will be singing as you walk to working. Here is my rating of the tracks on the CD.
1. 1000 Days (9/10) Catchy Song and one you will listen to countless...
Published on 31 Aug. 2003 by theblinxwormtbw

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars What a let down
I already had the Anthology and was really impressed by its power and rock sound, when i was able to get my hands on their second album i jumped at the chance.

the album opens well with the first 5 songs which i must admit carry on from where anthology left off but then the quality seems to drop and thepower just dissappears, there are no more metal chords and...
Published on 16 Jun. 2007 by Reviewer of Flitwick


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Variety is a plenty!, 31 Aug. 2003
This review is from: Truant (Audio CD)
There is a variety of diffrent tracks on this album ranging from the pop '1000 Days' to the quite moving 'Hope'. I can only descirbe this album as being great listen for the people who like catchy tunes which you will be singing as you walk to working. Here is my rating of the tracks on the CD.
1. 1000 Days (9/10) Catchy Song and one you will listen to countless times.
2.Drifting Apart (6/10) This song is not one of the albums highlight and neither is it its let down. You might like it more than I did.
3.Quiet (8/10) I laughed at the lyrics the first time. No not that the lyrics are bad its just that they are funny and make the song very unique. I recommend you listen to this!
4.Glow (9/10) The upcoming single is a great one with catchy lyrics. "I'll be the switch she turns on, she'll be mine two"
5. These Days (10/10)Brilliant. A.A.F at its best! Watch the video it rules!
6.Sarah Wynn (5/10) First time you hear it you will think its great but compared to the rest its not very good. Skip it
7.Never Meant (8/10) Slow Jazzy style. Great!
8.Goodbye (7/10) Pretty Good! They should release this as a single.
9.Tia Lupe (8/10) Very spanish esque style music. Quite a change from the other songs on the album.
10.Rubber Mallet (4/10) This song grows on you. So probably I would give this a higher mark perhaps after a wekk of listening.
11. S.S Recognize (9/10) "Dont you reconise!?" Is one of the lyrics of this track. Pretty good. Reccomended. PARENTAL GUIDANCE for this one only one bad word.
12. Hope (10/10) "Hope is a thing im feeling today" Absolutly brillaint. Brilliant singing and lyrics. With a brilliant corus.
13 Words (uk bonus track!)(9/10) Surpisingly good for a bonus track. A great nu metal/rock track!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another blinder! Worth it for Glow and These Days alone!, 9 Sept. 2003
By 
S. Chippendale "mr_chippy" (South Tyneside, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Truant (Audio CD)
Like ANThology, they've put all the 'growers' at the end of the album so on first listen, the quality seems to teeter off towards the end. Although, with time, no doubt these tracks will end up alongside the likes of 'Calico' as personal favourites.
The stand-out tracks here by far are 'Glow' and 'These Days'. Most people should have already heard 'These Days', as it has aleady been released as a single. Glow, on the other hand, should be the second single, in my opinion. This is easily as uplifing as 'Movies', with (dare I say it!)... an even more infectious chorus, a bit like Green Day having a stab at Blind Melon's 'No Rain' while occasionally slipping into an acoustic version of 'Hitchin' A Ride'. Easily the best track (and album) I've heard yet this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much better than ANThology, 1 Oct. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Truant (Audio CD)
This album improves so much on the original ANThology album. Right from the start of 1000 days to the very end of Words it improves on practically everything that ANThology did so well first time round. 1000 days is a much better opening track, with probably the best song intro you will ever hear. for first time A.A.F fans buying this album as their first A.A.F album, the Aliens Ain't Farmers DVD is a good source of info, including that crash back in 2002 that almost killed Dryden.
A vast improvement of their debut, no questions asked.
I couldn't ask for anything more from the lads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The boys hit the right notes again, 8 Oct. 2012
By 
Mr. J. Ryden (In your mind, in the part you've forgotten about.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Truant (Audio CD)
AAF's debut album AnThology was a cracker (well, technically their second) and one which still gets a regular playing on my iPod. Tight and irreverent rock at a time when Nu Metal seemed to be the music du jour. Belatedly, by many years, i've finally managed to pick up their follow-up album Truant and, boy, is it also a cracker in very much the same mould.

I've already heard the more popular singles a la dub-style Never Meant, furiously rockin' These Days, and the irrepressibly funky Glow. Thankfully, there's more to Truant than these singles; as with Anthology there are an eclectic mix of styles here. Admittedly, I was rather underwhelmed with the opening track. I can see other reviewers have raved about 1000 days but they could have chose a better track to sock it to their listeners. But, hey, that's just me.

Drifting Apart comes on the heels of the opener; a proper rock tune with a Black Sabbath-esque riff end the ever-present AAF theme of relationships break-up. Sarah Wynn is a solid rock tune with another classic riff. Quiet is another belter that demands turning the volume up. Then you have Tia Lupe with an almost Latino feel. However, the standout track for me was SS Recognize, a bass-heavy, swaying and thundering rap-metal tune with brilliant nautical-themed lyrics: 'I'm getting scurvy bad'. Hope and Words are slightly weaker in comparison to the quality track laden middle-album. Still, a decent addition to the AAF discography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars What a let down, 16 Jun. 2007
This review is from: Truant (Audio CD)
I already had the Anthology and was really impressed by its power and rock sound, when i was able to get my hands on their second album i jumped at the chance.

the album opens well with the first 5 songs which i must admit carry on from where anthology left off but then the quality seems to drop and thepower just dissappears, there are no more metal chords and the lyrics fade a bit.

i was slightly dissapointed but this second album did have a very steep hill to climb and the DVD is worth a watch as it is filled with songs from the better first album.

This is a mediocre album with a half finished feel to it, the first five songs are woth a listen though and the DVD is ok.

If you you have the first album, dont buy this one and if you dont have an Alien Ant Farm album buy Anthology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars More of the same, 2 Oct. 2003
This review is from: Truant (Audio CD)
Alien Ant Farm created the huge hit 'smooth criminal' when they covered Micheal Jacksons hit. Unfortunately there aren't any stand out hits like that on this album, instead you get a well rounded and thoroughly enjoyable album. It is lighter and happier than their previous offering, yet keeps the rocking guitar hooks, and so never enters the dangerous waters of college rock that bands such as The Goo Goo Dolls strayed into.
Although I titled this review 'More of the same', and it is, this is not a bad thing when their previous album had so much potential. Unfortunately this potential has not yet been realised. If you liked ANThology, then get this too, you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good album with some great songs.... Get it for 'These Days' alone., 26 Dec. 2006
By 
Sammy G-Force "SGF" (Grays, Essex, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Truant (Audio CD)
Anthology was always going to be tough to follow for AAF and this album comes 2nd best to Anthology. however this album isn't poor it is a good album with some great songs, specifically 'these days' which is my favorite AAF song by a country mile and alone made me buy this album. the DVD that also comes with the album is great.

Would definately make a good addition to anyone's CD collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliANT! lol, 7 Jan. 2004
This review is from: Truant (Audio CD)
There really isn't much that needs saying about this CD. It's Alien Ant Farm. It's at time quirky, at times cheesy and at other times provides you heavy anthems that you will never forget. If you own ANThology you will know that that album was similar but i think that truANT follows much more after the songs like Wish. What more can i say, it's alien ant farm - It's a masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Tru(Ant)ly Good Album, 24 Aug. 2003
This review is from: Truant (Audio CD)
Alien ant Farms new album is every bit as good as their first.Songs such as the first single These Days are as catchy as the likes of movies and smooth criminal from the first album. whilst others are slower but equally catchy such as the brilliant Glow. Drydens voice is amazing and complements the style of the band perfectly Buy This Album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars truant, 30 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Truant (Audio CD)
came in excellent condition cd worked perfectly and the album is worth buying if you love alien ant farm or like the soft/pop rock genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Truant
Truant by Alien Ant Farm (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews