Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Two Wonderful People, 20 Nov. 2006
This review is from: Re-Foc (Audio CD)
I was lucky enough to see these two when they were starting out, opening in a near-empty nightclub in Dublin, and busking on Dublin's streets. I was blown away by the skill and the heart they demonstrated in their playing, and rememember thinking how unjust it was and how under-appreciated these fantastic muscians were. It gives me such hope that through sheer peserverance and hard work these guys have worked themselves up from obscurity to deserved recognition, and also at how they have kept their warmth, sense of fun, and excitement in their playing.

I don't think that this album does justice to their staggering live perfomances, but I strongly recommend anyone buy it, (in particular if you are a guitarist yourself). It will be enough to convince you to see them live if you get the chance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For every discernable music appreciator, 16 Sept. 2005
This review is from: Re-Foc (Audio CD)
If a new listener, Diem will probably capture you first, as it is quite easy to catch the hooks.
But every track deserves its place on this album, with the instrumentation and skill up to top knotch these Mexicans are truly blessed with fast fingers.
Of course half the compositons are based around Metallica's well balanced riffs, yet it's what the two guitarists take from that band to make their own is the key factor. I have heard Rodrigo and Gabriela play Wish You Were Here, Stairway to Heaven, One, Orion etc, yet how they turn these songs to their style is amazing.
Sangre y Ritmo is infected with superbly mixed chords, while Foc is their trademark track; featuring frenetic and fast guitar playing - described by the pair as "crazy."
Even if you listen to this album and say "It's too Spanish," give it another while to grow on you and make you realise that really, there is no genre available yet to describe the music. It isn't Spanish, it isn't flamenco, it isn't rock, it isn't jazz, it isn't post anything, and it hasn't been done before.
They also can't read muisc!
And I've seen them 4 times!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How annoying!, 28 April 2006
By 
Mr. G. Simpson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Re-Foc (Audio CD)
This has to be the worst music ever to put on when your trying to concentrate on something else! as soon as it starts i sit back, stare out the window, and listen in awe to two amazing musicians. I only come around again at the end of the song and think "dammit not again! I'll never get this work done." in other words amazing, buy it. in fact buy all their cds!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The real thing, 27 Aug. 2010
By 
This review is from: Re-Foc (Audio CD)
This is an excellent introduction to Rodrigo Y Gabriela's music.It has a certain cultural authenticity.
The CD and cover were in perfect condition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Intro Album, 8 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Re-foc (MP3 Download)
Really fascinating mix of influences played on acoustic guitars..some flamenco, jazz, metal all mixed into a very listenable album. Only problem is - can't tell who is Rodrigo and who is Gabriela! They should have mixed it so each person's role is clearer or their guitars sounded more different. But overall, excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Re-Foc, re-Genius!, 26 Nov. 2007
By 
A. Windsor "andywindy" (Tolvaddon, CORNWALL) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Re-Foc (Audio CD)
Why have you not already bought this cd? OK you're looking to see how good the reviews are, stop wasting time and buy it NOW.
These two young people are simply stunning, and if you have ever suffered from the slightest amount of pain in your fingers, watch Gabriela's masterclass on youtube! It'll make you wince.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not just more of the same but better, 15 Oct. 2014
By 
NewSteve50 (Birmingham UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Re-Foc (Audio CD)
They have never been off my most played list since I heard Stairway to Heaven on world music selection on long haul. This is only my second album but I chose carefully. Not too samey and different enough to confirm them as unique masters of their style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Real music for the soul, 14 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Re-Foc (Audio CD)
This music is superb!!!! Its exactly what I need whilst we are cursed to live in interesting times.
You will praise the day you bought this, as its music that really lifts the soul.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good CD, 7 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Re-Foc (Audio CD)
It's the second of their album I have it's quite good guitar saxophone etc. I think it will stand the test of time, the CD is in my nice to listen to occasionally pile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning! Stunning!, 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Re-Foc (Audio CD)
Another classic from Rodriguez and Gabriela, carefully selected pieces that just shine with new music and talent, a refreshing new sound! Go out and buy it now!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Re-Foc
Re-Foc by Rodrigo y Gabriela (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews