Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What song is it you wanna hear?, 9 Mar 2006
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Free Bird/Tribute Tour [DVD] (DVD)
Skynyrd have always been my favourite band.
I was born too late to ever be able to see the original line-up perform live, so what better way to enjoy them than on DVD.
When my copy of this arrived, I sat down on a warm summer's day and didn't leave until the very last notes of Freebird had faded away with the audience's applause. I can't begin to explain how much I have enjoyed watching this DVD again and again. Every time I put it on I notice things I'd missed before. It's a brilliant film and even for someone who isn't a fan of the band this is a brilliant film. The interviews with the band and their associates are well filmed (with Artymus Pyles' beard filling half the screen!); the concert footage is magnificent.
The only quibble, and this has been mentioned before, is that there is no footage of Allen Collins playing his solo on Freebird. That, however, is a small price for being able to see my favourite band where they belong.
For those of you who really can't live without seeing that solo, the first volume of The Old Grey Whistle Test has a magnificent performance from the band with the solo in full.
Fly high Freebird!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beating the Stones at their own game!, 29 Nov 2003
By 
M.N. (Preston, Lancashire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Free Bird/Tribute Tour [DVD] (DVD)
Much of the footage on this DVD is taken from Lynyrd Skynyrd's appearance at the Knebworth festival in the UK in 1976 supporting the Rolling Stones. Now i've never seen any footage of the Stones playing this Gig, but judging by the crowd reaction to Skynyrd on this DVD, coupled with the absolutely blistering set they give, i would guess that they gave the Stones a run for their money that day.To keep this review short and sweet, for anyone who is already a Skynryd fan, you won't be dissapointed, for everyone else...if ever there was a band cut short in its prime, this is it, and the footage to prove it is on this DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what a band!!, 23 Jan 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Free Bird/Tribute Tour [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD is worth your money! It's great to see Collins, Gaines and Rossington in all their guitar glory. Pyle, Powell and Wilkeson are looking good too but this is all about Ronnie Van Zant. It's impossible to take your eyes off him. As Artimus says at one point - it's like he stalks the stage!! I can only imagine what these guys were like if they were performing live on front of you. Two downsides: there is precious little footage of Ronnie and Allen's Free Bird solo focuses more on the crowd but it's worth it just to see their reaction. But this is five stars all the way. Be good to yourself and buy this DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vintage Classic Skynyrd, 27 Jan 2006
By 
Tarkers (Wilts United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Free Bird/Tribute Tour [DVD] (DVD)
Was fortunate to see the great band in 1976 at Portsmouth Guildhall and that performance rates as possibly the best live performance off all the fifty-odd live gigs I went to during rocks heyday. This DVD captures the essence of the band with superb footage of their Knebworth performance. Footage from other gigs is great to see but its the Knebworth stuff that makes this worth every penny. The only thing that irks me is the Freebird recording as it is taken from a gig in the states and concentrates on the crowd more than the band. Why the Knebworth performance of Freebird was not used escapes me as the band were clearly on top form there. It would have been the icing on the cake !
But even so this is an absolute must for Skynyrd fans as this shows them at their peak as undoubtedly the most accomplished southern rock bands the States has ever produced.
Buy it...... it will not disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars lynyard Skynyard, 20 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Free Bird/Tribute Tour [DVD] (DVD)
fantastic DVD have watched it many times and don't tire of it. Good value for money. Lynyrd skynyrd are the best band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great pressy, 27 Aug 2013
By 
David H. Morris (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Free Bird/Tribute Tour [DVD] (DVD)
great price fantastic value and did the job i bought it for. I don't know what else you would expect really
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars die hard skynard fans will love this, 7 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Free Bird/Tribute Tour [DVD] (DVD)
I really liked the DVD part of L.S. on tour/Knebworth. I'm not a die hard fan but this film/gig was really good. I didn't watch much of the tribute to be honest as the voice over put me off greatly and I couldn't really get into watching a band imitate the band i had just watched, although very good of what little i saw of it. I don't think i wasted my money and I will watch the first part again i am sure of that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great DVD for all fans of vintage rock, 10 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Free Bird/Tribute Tour [DVD] (DVD)
Great DVD for all those like myself who because of their age, never got a chance to see one of the most talented rock bands of their generation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Aug 2014
By 
H. Price - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Free Bird/Tribute Tour [DVD] (DVD)
Husband loved it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Free Bird/Tribute Tour [DVD]
Free Bird/Tribute Tour [DVD] by Lynyrd Skynyrd (DVD - 2003)
£14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews