Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ww1 seen from 2011
When You see film clips from WW1 You normally see them in black&white and with a "film-speed" too quick and funny looking. Men like ants crawling up from the trenches and running across the battlefield against the german machine guns, ra-ta-ta-ta, a bit like the Keystone Cops.

In these film-clips You have living colour, the speed is right, the pictures are...
Published on 16 Jan. 2011 by larsdeleuran

versus
41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Satisfactory
The First World War in Colour accomplishes all it says on the box, covering the Land Sea and Air War with no particular bells or whistles. As previous reviews suggest, the same footage is repeated several times over, and the shot of the guy carrying a wounded soldier through the trenches as he looks towards the camera is shown in every episode, sometimes two or three...
Published on 29 May 2008 by Mr Chairman


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Satisfactory, 29 May 2008
By 
Mr Chairman (Buckinghamshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: World War 1 In Colour - Complete TV Series [DVD] (DVD)
The First World War in Colour accomplishes all it says on the box, covering the Land Sea and Air War with no particular bells or whistles. As previous reviews suggest, the same footage is repeated several times over, and the shot of the guy carrying a wounded soldier through the trenches as he looks towards the camera is shown in every episode, sometimes two or three times an episode.

Branagh does a decent job with the narration, however, the best part of the series for me is seeing some of the old veterans telling their stories, in what was probably the last time they will ever appear on camera talking in depth of their experiences. Just seeing and hearing their tales of horror on its own makes the series worth watching, and it is primarily because of them I gave it a three Star rating, otherwise it would have been two.

The programme as expected does rely heavily on footage of the land war, and I was rather disappointed at the short space of time they dedicated to the Battle of Jutland in the Sea War programme. The same can be said of the BEF action in August 1914 at the start of the war, and as always the magnificent fighting retreat from Mons was almost totally ignored - arguably one of the greatest military actions in the history of the British Army.

So in conclusion the programme is certainly worth watching as an introduction to the Great War, but compared to the definitive BBC production in 1964 on the Great War, or the 1969 Thames TV production called the World at War, the First World War in Colour certainly falls a long way short of reaching these standards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ww1 seen from 2011, 16 Jan. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World War 1 In Colour - Complete TV Series [DVD] (DVD)
When You see film clips from WW1 You normally see them in black&white and with a "film-speed" too quick and funny looking. Men like ants crawling up from the trenches and running across the battlefield against the german machine guns, ra-ta-ta-ta, a bit like the Keystone Cops.

In these film-clips You have living colour, the speed is right, the pictures are enhanced and it's all just terrific right looking. It's like viewing a fine piece of drama from to day. The persons You watch is real living and dying persons. The whole thing goes from 2-dimensional to 3-dimensional, in any aspect.

Best damn thing about this terrible war i ever saw.

larsdeleuran
Jan 16th, 2011
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


87 of 99 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing, 22 Oct. 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World War 1 In Colour - Complete TV Series [DVD] (DVD)
The formula of using a famous actor to do a war documentary is a well tried one. Michael Redgrave and Judy Dench have done it very well for the First World War. Laurence Olivier did it superbly for the Second. Unfortunately Brannagh is a very pale imitation of any of these. Worse still is the commentary he is asked to read. This is a very shallow script. The idea of colorising the film is little more than a gimmick. The film editors have also committed the monumental error of reusing the same bits of film in different contexts thereby showing their very limited concern for historical reality. If you are interested in the First World War save your money and buy 'The Great War', '1914-1918 Total War/The Crucible' or even Richard Holmes' 'The Western Front'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Colour? accurate no, 6 Feb. 2010
By 
L. A. Camy "Eastender" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: World War 1 In Colour - Complete TV Series [DVD] (DVD)
I have not bought the box set for the simple reason that I watched it with eager anticipation on the television only to be totally disappointed. Who did the research on this programme? The whole point was to show it in colour and the colours were WRONG. The French did not wear blue trousers and kepis they were RED that is why they died in their hundreds of thousands in the first 2 years. Paintings show the Austrians frequently wore light blue and yet every Austrian was shown wearing very dark blue almost black. what is the point of a series with such errorsWorld War 1 In Colour - Complete TV Series [DVD] [2003]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


69 of 82 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Gimmicks triumph over content, 25 Sept. 2003
This review is from: World War 1 In Colour - Complete TV Series [DVD] (DVD)
As a history teacher, I eagerly awaited the launch of this series, but was chronically disappointed. Much of the footage is repeated between the episodes - it is clear that the team coloured in a battle scene, a "bored in the trenches" scene, a "flag waving" scene and all the rest of it - so that they could cut and paste it around the bland narrative. The gravitas with which Branagh speaks is laughable given the brain-dead script. I can't even use this with my 13 year olds. The only enlightening detail is that poison gas apparently turned everyone and everything fluorescent and psychedelic. Dire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 15 Jun. 2014
By 
Mr. M. R. Clarke "Blues Session" (Chertsey, Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World War 1 In Colour - Complete TV Series [DVD] (DVD)
Emotionally produced material that really brings home the waste of war and the huge loss of life on both sides... and for what? To have Europe plunged back into madness twenty years later. History should teach us so much.
Maybe our politicians should study History a little more...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect!, 25 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World War 1 In Colour - Complete TV Series [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD is very factual and presented well. I bought this for my dad for christmas (he loves learning about history) as my History teacher recommended it. It is brilliant and is great for those who love history and facts!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Colour brings the war to life, 23 Aug. 2004
By 
DF McCleland (Johannesburg, South Africa) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: World War 1 In Colour - Complete TV Series [DVD] (DVD)
By colourizing the film, the producers have brought WW1 to life. Being a child of the age of colour, I have always found black & white uninviting & unexciting. I believe that this series will set a trend just like the Britain at War in Colour has done.
However it was not only the colourizing that made the series, but the editorial policy of the series itself. It has a balance between personal interviews, diary extracts, opinions of experts & the commentary by the Narrator thereby keeping interest in the viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but not what it could have been., 23 Jun. 2014
By 
C. Johnson (Kwajalein,Marshall Islands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: World War 1 In Colour - Complete TV Series [DVD] (DVD)
I found seeing the clips in colour very intersting but have to agree with other reviewers that the colourisation is not as accurate as it should have been and the narration very shallow. If you have good knowledge of the First World War and have seen the clips before this can be an interesting documentary, *but* if your knowledge is not extensive you would do better to look elswhere. If you are going to buy one First War 1 documentary please do not make it this one. The 1964 BBC documentary is still the best there is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Simply terrible!, 22 May 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World War 1 In Colour - Complete TV Series [DVD] (DVD)
"If any one tells you that they weren't scared to go `over the top' then they're a liar!" That is the only line in this travesty of a TV show that you need to know and the producers seem to know this as it gets repeated and repeated until I switched off the TV. Do not waste your money on this dribble. It doesn't tell you anything new and is very bland, so bland that I never made it to disc two! The BBC's The Great War documentary is much better even if it is in black and white! One star is one star too many.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

World War 1 In Colour - Complete TV Series [DVD]
World War 1 In Colour - Complete TV Series [DVD] by Kenneth Branagh (DVD - 2003)
£9.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews