Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like glue
Yes, I'm stuck like glue to this album. As a Caribbean native, I can confirm that the Skits are well done, VERY realistic, VERY natural and VERY funny. One of the best features of the musical tracks is the RHYTHM of the rappin'/dubbing. The lyrics - not always easily comprehensible and well RUDE at times(!) - are also quite compelling - 'Like Glue', 'Jukin Punny'...
Published on 30 Aug 2003 by donnaM

versus
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sean Paul the album
In the words of Simon Cowell this is "distinctly average". This is one of those albums that has its moments of pure greatness and originality but then at other times you just want to throw a rock at your cd player so it will shut up. there are the true classics on this album such as "gimme the light", "like glue" and an excellent collaboration with Beyonce- "Baby Boy",...
Published on 7 Sep 2003 by s redding


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like glue, 30 Aug 2003
By 
donnaM (South Woodford, London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Yes, I'm stuck like glue to this album. As a Caribbean native, I can confirm that the Skits are well done, VERY realistic, VERY natural and VERY funny. One of the best features of the musical tracks is the RHYTHM of the rappin'/dubbing. The lyrics - not always easily comprehensible and well RUDE at times(!) - are also quite compelling - 'Like Glue', 'Jukin Punny'. Contrarily to other reviews, I could have listened to even MORE tracks! The duets with the ladies - 'I'm still in love with you'(let's not kid ourselves - that's a real situation!), 'International Affair' (great rhythm) and 'Can you do the work'(hilarious intro dialogue - VERY familiar!). I can assure you Sean Paul does this thing extremely well. If someone else begins the singing on the track - like Tony Toca 'Esa loca', I always find myself avidly listening for SP's entry and I am not disappointed. The mixing and the mix in the music styles is also cool - 'Shout(Street Respect)', 'Get Busy', also track 23. Just relax and enjoy listening and dancing - any way you want - to this album. Let that harsh but husky voice just wash over you. There is no question, it deserves ten gold stars, in MY book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Dancehall KING!!!!!!!!!!!!, 10 Nov 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Dutty Rock [New Version] (Audio CD)
WOWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWW i love this album so much!! whenever i hear it i can't stop dancing. i think this album is the best. i recommend it to anyone who liked his first 3 singles, because if you liked them, YOU are gonna love the album. well done SEAN PAUL!!! This is the type of album to bring out to mkae it big in europe!!! well donexxxxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sean Paul is the Caribbean flag for western mainstream, 25 Aug 2003
As a Trinidadian who used to club heavy back home and now living in quite rural England. Listening to this album at university is as authentic and nostalgic as talking to friends from home about the good old days.
Sean Paul is the 'real ting' and I proudly pound this album and listen to it on long train journeys instead of Shaggy.
"Gimme de Light", "Get Busy" and "Like Glue" are the authentic dancehall tracks on this album with a great reappearance of Punkie for those of you who remember "dem ol time tunes". As a HUGE fan of hip hop/R&B I'm only encouraged by the presence of Busta Rhymes with West Indian roots who pushes Sean Paul along with a 'dred' remix of Gimme de Light. I've noticed the complaints about the number of tracks but back home when there were house parties, we used to get a new cd which was an expensive thing and play it all night. This is like Tesco Economy cds where we can get more tracks in one album. In an ever iPod present culture, it doesn't serve to be a problem where the caliber-stand out tracks are easily filtered. Buy this cd and a bottle of rum, its worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dancehall experience, 20 Dec 2002
By 
Goker Goksel (Istanbul, Turkiye) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: SEAN PAUL / DUTTY ROCK (Audio CD)
I never knew about the dancehall genre before I had listened to "Gimme the light". I would probably name it as reggea. I listened to "gimme the light" on the radio. Then I listened to the samples at Amazon.co.uk. I loved the rhythm. "get busy", "shout", "like glue" are my other favorites. Other than dancehall, there are also some pure reggea like "punkie". You will like this album for sure. I had an open order when I found out about this album and immediately I added this to my order from amazon.co.uk. You will not be regretful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent., 16 Jun 2003
By 
PB (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The only thing wrong with this album is the number of tracks. But that's something that's easily fixed by using the "skip" button on your CD player.
The CD starts of with some superb tracks, and winds down (only a little) for the mid-section of duets. The music and Paul's style is so infectious you find yourself joining in (I am particularly pathetic at toasting, but that doesn't stop me).
The intro reminds you of the power of ska and the birth of punk -- but then gets right into the now with Dancehall Dutty Rock.
All of the tracks are great. Only the remixes towards the end start to plod. Busta Rhymes jumps on the Gimme the Light bandwagon. Tony Touch/Toca and the Neptunes join in with poor efforts, too. This just highlights to me how far behind Hip Hop has fallen -- it's so formulaic now that I find myself only listening to old school Hip Hop. On a CD full of nothing but love for gyals, g**ja and dancehall culture, Busta et al's yanking us back to the talk of 9s grates on the nerves.
Sean Paul is a big noise in the Hip Hop community right now and deservedly so because he brings a freshness to something which is starting to look old and outmoded with all the bling -- it's the Hip Hop presence on this album which is the only negative. Hip Hop is out of touch with the street now.
This album's a keeper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An amazing album from the prince of Dance Hall!,, 24 Jun 2007
By 
Sean Paul's "Dutty Rock" is one of the great dance hall albums that are out there. He continuously gave out hits throughout this whole album. Some of the end songs aren't as powerful as the songs at the beginning such as "Baby Boy", "Gimme The Light", "Get Busy", and "Concrete". His album is very good and definitely worth the cost. Sean Paul has outdone himself on his 2nd album which defiantly places him on the charts.

Sean Paul is Prince of the Dancehall because Beenie man has the "king" title already. This music originates from way back before rap/hip-hop even got started. Sean Paul had thrown some new flavor in there and makes a bangin' dance album. Some people don't like it because they can't understand him, but whose fault is that? People should realize that this music is rich in culture and if he sang it so that everyone could understand it he would be denying the heritage that made the music possible.

Probably this will help you out: almost every song on his album fades out with Sean still singing or the music still playing. I suggest looking up lyrics if you're really interested... or I wouldn't bother... Sean's voice is amazing and is fairly fun to listen to... most the music is upbeat... so if your looking for the sounds then this album is for you. Keep on bumpin' Sean Paul, and keep confusing the ignorant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sean Paul the album, 7 Sep 2003
This review is from: Dutty Rock [New Version] (Audio CD)
In the words of Simon Cowell this is "distinctly average". This is one of those albums that has its moments of pure greatness and originality but then at other times you just want to throw a rock at your cd player so it will shut up. there are the true classics on this album such as "gimme the light", "like glue" and an excellent collaboration with Beyonce- "Baby Boy", which kinda gives you hope for the rest of the album, but unfortunately not. If you are a hard core Sean Paul fan buy the album, if you only like what you've already heard then just buy the singles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dutty Yeh !!!, 12 Dec 2003
By 
Mr. S. J. Sehgal "Simon S" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dutty Rock [New Version] (Audio CD)
What can I say, this an AMAZING album. Basically every track will have u dancing or AT LEAST tapping your fingers. My favourite tracks on the album except for the released singles are, Top of the game which has a hip hop influence to it, Concrete, with a heavy bass line and Esa Loca "Esa Lo-o-ca"
They are just my favourite at the moment. The other songs are quality too.
The beats on this album alone will have u on your feet I'm telling you. Buy this album, you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GET BUSY AND BUY THIS, 3 Aug 2003
Sean Paul, king of the dancehall reggae world, delivers in style with his album 'Dutty Rock' which has spawned top20 single 'Gimme The Light', and monster smash hit 'Get Busy'. Being a mainly r'n'b guy I was cautious about this, but now he ranks as my favourite male artist.
Second single 'Get Busy' is easily the strongest on the album, filled with attitudes and a hypnotic funked-out beat. And next single 'Like Glue' wins the silver medal song-wise on the album. A very different affair from most of the album, it isn't a brash song, but Sean doesn't go soft - just listen to the lyrics!
'Top Of The Game' is a great track, possibly a future single, as is the superb 'Punkie'. Most of the tracks on this album are fantastic, but at times Sean does get a bit egotistical with his lyrics on his songs, and that detracts from the quality of the tracks. The prime example of this is 'I'm Still In Love With You' which is without doubt the worst song on the album.
That minor complaint aside, 'Dutty Rock' is a great (if perhaps overlong) album, and Sean Paul is not a talent who should be overlooked by fans of any musical genre. Quality.
p.s. the lyrics of some of the songs are included in the album, so don't worry if you can't understand some of it - you'll soon be able to!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars top album, 1 April 2008
By 
This review is from: Dutty Rock [New Version] (Audio CD)
top album recemend it to any one its a before you go out album the first time i heard it was about 4 years ago and never got board ov it. hope this has helped you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dutty Rock [New Version]
Dutty Rock [New Version] by Sean Paul (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews