Customer Reviews


187 Reviews
5 star:
 (154)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


84 of 85 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Misdirections....
Simply put..... DO NOT WASH THESE!

My husband works for a man who used to run La Manoir Cookery School (for 6 years), and he said in no way shape or form wash these. To be the most effective you need to let the flour and natural grease build up (sounds nasty, but remember you sterilse these every time you bake your bread in effect).

Let your...
Published on 29 Oct. 2009 by A. Quayle

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars keeps the loves in a good shape, but the bread gets stuck in the ...
keeps the loves in a good shape, but the bread gets stuck in the little holes. i have used olive oil, and flour to stop it from falling between the holes, olive oil works best but it still happenes.
Published 1 day ago by Huntris


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

84 of 85 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Misdirections...., 29 Oct. 2009
By 
A. Quayle - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Swift Faringdon Collection Bakers Pride Non-Stick French Bread Pan Carbon Steel 39 cm x 16 cm x 2.5 cm (Kitchen & Home)
Simply put..... DO NOT WASH THESE!

My husband works for a man who used to run La Manoir Cookery School (for 6 years), and he said in no way shape or form wash these. To be the most effective you need to let the flour and natural grease build up (sounds nasty, but remember you sterilse these every time you bake your bread in effect).

Let your baguettes prove in these, then bake them, then simply wipe them down of excess flour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


113 of 115 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect French Baguettes., 13 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swift Faringdon Collection Bakers Pride Non-Stick French Bread Pan Carbon Steel 39 cm x 16 cm x 2.5 cm (Kitchen & Home)
I now have two of these, and they are both used weekly.

I make a 74% or higher French-bread dough, using an overnight poolish pre-ferment, and with the help of these baguette trays always turn out authentic classic French Bread Baguettes.

A few hints I've learnt:

Don't wash them after use; let cool and just with your hand scrape off any residue of the dough baked on, after a few uses you will then get even less sticking to them.

Don't over-load with dough, shape to the size before putting in the tray, and leave a little bit of space at each end before they undergo the final rise in the trays.

Cook hot, as hot as the oven will go, for at least the first 15 minutes, and during this time create steam within the oven (old roasting tray full of water in bottom of oven etc), to ensure a good oven-spring and crust texture (remove steam after 15 minutes though for full crust development).

Score each baguette using a lame (or suitable sharp knife), to get the typical Baguette appearance, this also helps in the oven spring of the baguettes (Score at end of final rise in trays, having first sprayed baguettes with water, and wet blade of knife during scoring, score quickly, and firmly to avoid snagging on the dough).

Add a small amount of rye flour (8% or less), to the dough, if you want a vaguette which keeps fresh slightly longer.

Once cooked, and cooled down, you can make garlic bread with the baguettes; cut baguettes appropiately, put in garlic butter, put in the trays, cover with tin foil, cook 15 - 20 minutes, then remove foil to allow to toast/chrisp up crust.

These baguette trays are excellent and at a decent price too, I expect they shall give years and years of regular use without failing.

As others have mentioned, do be sure to measure your oven's internal size; in my small domestic oven, I can just fit two of these baguette trays onto one shelf of the oven, which leaves the trays virtually touching both the sides and back/front of the oven.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars roypie, 7 April 2010
By 
Roy Evans "Roypie" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swift Faringdon Collection Bakers Pride Non-Stick French Bread Pan Carbon Steel 39 cm x 16 cm x 2.5 cm (Kitchen & Home)
Mix bread for french bread on Dough setting in machine, Turn out and roll into long cylindrical shapes and place in the tray. leave to rise for approx half hour and cook in hot oven 230 for 15 ti 18 mins.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Now my baguettes look the part, as well as taste the part!, 10 Jun. 2014
By 
Jersey Customer (Jersey, Channel Islands) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swift Faringdon Collection Bakers Pride Non-Stick French Bread Pan Carbon Steel 39 cm x 16 cm x 2.5 cm (Kitchen & Home)
First things first, buying this tin will NOT suddenly mean you miraculously get that French bread taste in your loaf! I've seen bad reviews given for this and/or similar items saying they think it's useless because they didn't get anything like French bread just because they shoved some ordinary white bread dough into it! Unfortunately, it takes more than that to get the best out of this baguette tin! I've included one recipe for baguette dough that I've found to be very good (especially if you want to part-bake rolls to freeze for later) below.

As for the tin, it's well-made, and fits perfectly inside an ordinary domestic 60cm wide oven. But, whatever you do, DON'T wash it, or even worse, put it in the dishwasher! Again, there are some poor reviews given by people who either did not read, or chose to ignore, the basic care instructions, but basically as long as you have a hot oven and have shaped the dough on a board sprinkled with flour (semolina is optional, but gives a great crust beneath the rolls) and also sprinkled some flour (or, better, semolina - see recipe below) into the tin before inserting the dough for its final prove, you shouldn't have any issues with the bread sticking to the tin. In fact, the more its used, but not washed, the better it becomes. Some people advise wiping the tin with a small amount of vegetable oil before putting back in the cupboard, but I haven't found this necessary - as long as the tin is completely dry before storing, and never washed, it shouldn't develop any rust spots.

My only complaint? I should have bought the large four loaf size! But I will be getting a second double loaf one to remedy that shortly!!

Anyway, as promised, here's the recipe - hopefully it make sense!

Ingredients:
450 gm bread flour, plus extra for dusting
2-1/2 tsp. active dry yeast
1-1/2 tsp. salt
375 ml, approx, lukewarm water (see method)
Fine semolina for sprinkling on the baking sheet

Method:
1. Use a stand mixer if you have one (it's quite sticky dough). Put flour in the bowl, and add yeast to one side and the salt to the
other (salt retards yeast, so don't mix them until the last minute).

2. Add about 325 ml of the water and start your mixer. Mix on medium-low speed for 1 minute.

3. With a rubber spatula, scrape the sides and bottom of the bowl and the dough hook; the dough should be very sticky - if it's
still a bit dry, add some or all of the remaining water (adding water to a dough is not an exact science - you may need a little
more/less depending on the flour you're using, the heat of your kitchen, the humidity in the air etc!).

4. Mix, scraping down the bowl and hook every 2 minutes, until the dough looks smooth and pulls away from the sides of the
bowl, about 6 minutes more.

5. Use a plastic dough scraper (if you have one) to turn out the dough on to a lightly floured board, then with floured fingers,
work around the dough to fold the edges into the middle. (This step isn't 'essential', but will mean that your dough rises with a
smooth surface with all the untidy folds underneath.)

6. Return the dough to the bowl, with the folded side underneath, cover with a clean tea towel or cling film, and leave to rise until
doubled in size (usually about 1-2 hours, but it won't hurt if it has risen, but you have to leave it for longer).

7. Turn out the risen dough on to your floured board again. Divide into two (for two larger baguettes which will fit this tin) or into
six if you want smaller, individual rolls - cook 2 on each side of the tin, and either leave two aside to shape, prove and either
part-cook or fully-cook after the first four have come out of the oven, or cook two of them 'free form' on a separate baking
sheet sprinkled with fine semolina following the timings below for small rolls)

8. Sprinkle some fine semolina on to your board, then shape your two large, or four small, baguettes into equal lengths (See
[...] for how to do this properly, or simply tuck under the edges
until you have a smooth surface and a 'baguette' shape for each piece!)

9. Sprinkle some more semolina into the tin, then place your shaped dough into it (leaving plenty of space around each one if
you are putting two on each side) and leave to prove, again until doubled in size.

10. Using a sharp razor blade, clean Stanley knife or thin, sharp kitchen knife, make 3 slashes diagonally along large
baguettes, or 2 slashes along smaller ones. Heat your oven to 220C (or the equivalent) and have a small spray bottle full
of water to hand. Give about 10 good squirts of water on the sides and bottom of the oven, then put in the bread and shut
the door.

11. Now you have a choice: Either a) part-cook for just 11 mins, then take out and cool completely before freezing (they will cook
from frozen in about 15 minutes at 200C). Or b) cook completely to eat straight away by cooking for around 30 minutes for
the big baguettes, or around 18 minutes for the small ones. Test for 'done-ness' by tapping the bottom of the rolls to see if
they sound hollow, then remove from the tin and leave to cool on a wire rack before eating.

Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A bit of the old french stick, 25 Jun. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swift Faringdon Collection Bakers Pride Non-Stick French Bread Pan Carbon Steel 39 cm x 16 cm x 2.5 cm (Kitchen & Home)
Works fine, get the quantity of dough right and you'll be churning out French sticks to your heart's content.

I noticed a comment that they go rusty. Hasn't happened to mine!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FRENCH TOAST, 5 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swift Faringdon Collection Bakers Pride Non-Stick French Bread Pan Carbon Steel 39 cm x 16 cm x 2.5 cm (Kitchen & Home)
OH WHAT A PIECE OF EQUIPMENT.
JUST LOVE MAKING MY OWN BREAD.
FRENCH STICK,GOOD CHEESE AND A GLASS OF
WINE WHO WOULD WANT MORE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent tins, 29 July 2010
This review is from: Swift Faringdon Collection Bakers Pride Non-Stick French Bread Pan Carbon Steel 39 cm x 16 cm x 2.5 cm (Kitchen & Home)
Perfect for large baguettes - no need to wash - just keep lightly oiled each time you use them. The person who put in dishwasher was daft........tip..slash the dough and put dough in a cold oven (in the tray) - tray of boiling water in bottom of oven - switch on to 200 degrees - job done in 20 mins.....occasional spray with water to get a crisp finish
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Baguettes and not flat bread, 14 Nov. 2011
By 
This review is from: Swift Faringdon Collection Bakers Pride Non-Stick French Bread Pan Carbon Steel 39 cm x 16 cm x 2.5 cm (Kitchen & Home)
Would definitely recommend this for anyone who wants a good finished baguette shape to their french loaves. Traditionally the french dough recipe is very "wet" and when proving the final shape I have found the dough to spread width-ways so that I ended up with a flat loaf rather than a roll.

I am extremely pleased with the results with this pan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another pan for artisan breads, 30 Aug. 2013
By 
R de Bulat (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swift Faringdon Collection Bakers Pride Non-Stick French Bread Pan Carbon Steel 39 cm x 16 cm x 2.5 cm (Kitchen & Home)
This is the second one of these I have bought having had success with one and wanting to bake more than two loaves at a time. Batons, proved on this bread pan forms little dimples on the base, much like commercially produced loaves and can form a lovely crust on the top if you prepare the dough well and add a bit of steam to the bake by throwing a cup of cold water onto a hot baking tray at the base of the oven, when you put your bread in to cook. Obviously, the key thing is to prepare the dough well - I usually do it 24 hours in advance and keep it in a bowl in the fridge with a light covering of olive oil and sealed with cling-film. Apologies for seeming to turn this review into a semi cookery lesson, but the point is that these pans are great if you make the right dough and then the results are impressive: other containers such as banetons and ordinary baking tins, are good too; this one is just different, but definitely worth getting if you enjoy making different kinds of artisan bread.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ideal for the home baker, 21 Aug. 2007
By 
Duncan (Aberdeenshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Swift Faringdon Collection Bakers Pride Non-Stick French Bread Pan Carbon Steel 39 cm x 16 cm x 2.5 cm (Kitchen & Home)
Being a large family of 9 and soon to be 10 of us, I bought two of these and ordered another two. Home-baked French Bread tastes magnifcent, brilliant for school packed lunches. The trays just fit our oven with a little bit of juggling (measure your oven before you buy), an ideal tool for the kitchen, they hold the shape of the bread perfectly, they can be used for home-made petit-pans, baguettes. They are worth the investment.

I've been looking for these for a long time, most places that I've been finding are in the USA and the trays are too big.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews