Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blackball
A Modern British classic based on a true story about the dangerous and exiting world of lawn bowls on the mean streets of Torquay. Paul Kaye (Dennis Pennis)turns the world of bowls upside down when his style of play upsets the "old guard" at the local rink. Throw in a little love interest (Alice Evans), and a pushy agent (Vince Vaughan) and you have a platform for fast...
Published on 7 Feb 2009 by Nigel Bevan

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Someone owes Steve Martin an apology...
It's richly ironic that a comedian perhaps best known for triggering a fit of clinical depression in Steve Martin by asking him why he wasn't funny anymore should himself be so horrendously unfunny onscreen, but Paul Kaye certainly proves that's the case with the irredeemably dismal Blackball. A poor actor and a worse comic, his bowls ace from the wrong side of the tracks...
Published on 19 Nov 2009 by Trevor Willsmer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Someone owes Steve Martin an apology..., 19 Nov 2009
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Blackball [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
It's richly ironic that a comedian perhaps best known for triggering a fit of clinical depression in Steve Martin by asking him why he wasn't funny anymore should himself be so horrendously unfunny onscreen, but Paul Kaye certainly proves that's the case with the irredeemably dismal Blackball. A poor actor and a worse comic, his bowls ace from the wrong side of the tracks is one of the most horribly misconceived characters in years, so utterly charmless, repugnant and phenomenally unlikeable that you can only sympathise with the film's nominal villains and hope that one of them will bash the obnoxious bore repeatedly over the head with a bowling ball until his legs stop twitching. Yes, this is a film that actually has the power to make you side with Daily Mail reading snobs...

The story follows a predictably formulaic route - Kaye's bad boy of British bowls falls foul of the old farts who rule the sport, becomes a media sensation thanks to a ruthless agent's media machinations and lets success go to his head before redeeming himself and yada yada yada. Except in this case he actually seems slightly LESS obnoxious when at the height of his success and egomania than he is in the rest of the film. Vince Vaughn gives the film what little energy it has as his agent, James Cromwell adds a modicum of class as his professional rival and prospective father-in-law while Alice Evans characterisation consists almost entirely of looking awkwardly to one side or the other whenever he says anything, though not rolling her eyes in contempt at her co-star was probably such a titanic effort that you can't really hold it against her. If you really feel the need for a good comedy about bowls, check out Aussie flick Crackerjack instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blackball, 7 Feb 2009
By 
This review is from: Blackball [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
A Modern British classic based on a true story about the dangerous and exiting world of lawn bowls on the mean streets of Torquay. Paul Kaye (Dennis Pennis)turns the world of bowls upside down when his style of play upsets the "old guard" at the local rink. Throw in a little love interest (Alice Evans), and a pushy agent (Vince Vaughan) and you have a platform for fast paced comedy and some wonderful cameos from people such as Vic Reeves, Johnny Vegas and Imelda Staunton and best of all the great Bernard Cribbins. Will we beat the old enemy, Australia ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars dvd, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blackball [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
comedy, I like playing bowls and watched this before on tv told a friend about it and he asked me to order it and he loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A cracking good yarn., 29 Mar 2014
By 
GUSR19 "JimE" (Chicago, IL USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
OK, I am not and never have been into bowls, but this film portraying making it into a great spectator sport is really a funny thing to watch. It's even more amazing that the most British (to foreigners) co-star is an American ! Well worth watching :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars light hearted nonsense, 2 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blackball [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Whilst the bowling action is all a bit far fetched there is a good British cast and you will get a good laugh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars good but not great, 16 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blackball [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Bought this as a Christmas present for the father in law as he is a keen bowler, and its really unusual to find any films about green bowls, however it was just as well we watched it first as there is quite a bit of swearing and although we found it funny we felt it a bit too near the mark for an older generation player. A typical uk made film funny in parts and a great watch for a younger player but don't buy for the more senior generation unless they have a wicked sense of humour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars best d v d yet, 15 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blackball [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
it was really good fun to watch and we all enjoyed it good for all ages I had never seen it my son had and he loved watching again with me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bought it for a friend, 9 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blackball [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
This was a joke present for a friend who plays bowls so wasn't sure what it would be like but it turned out ok and was a pretty funny film. Definitely worth a look - even if you don't like bowls!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Could be any club, 7 Oct 2013
By 
Dmmason "Domas" (Devon UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blackball [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Excellent quality and entertainment but don't be put off if considering taking up bowling!(real bowlers don't practice on rough ground).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Blackball dvd, 14 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blackball [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
This is one of the funniest films i've seen in a long while. My partner said he saw it years ago, but i'd never heard of it. Glad i bought it though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blackball [DVD] [2003]
Blackball [DVD] [2003] by Mel Smith (DVD - 2004)
9.94
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews