Customer Reviews


122 Reviews
5 star:
 (103)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The perfect swashbuckler plus great restoration and extras
This is a wonderful DVD for all lovers of this flawless version of Robin Hood.
For the first time they have managed to tame the highly over saturated Technicolor of the original film, and we can see it with a natural colour balance revealing masses of previously hidden detail. As a result all our favourite bits of the film are better that ever, the perfect cast of...
Published on 31 Mar 2006 by Amazon Customer

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointment
Having had the DVD of this restoration for some time I had high hopes for the Blu Ray but am really really disappointed. I expected colours pinging off the screen, solid blacks, glorious reds and greens! But the movie is if anything of worse quality than the dvd, and the extras look like vhs quality. Had I only known.
Published 15 months ago by Mr. P. T. Bale


‹ Previous | 19 10 11 12 13 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The bold rascal himself, 10 Dec 2009
By 
David Evans (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great classic film, I have gone from VC recorded from TV to purchased official VC to DVD and finally blu-ray and the picture quality has improved drastically on each occasion but the blu-ray version is quite unbelievable for such an old but classic film. Best Robin Hood film ever made.

My only criticism which prevented an award of 5 stars is that it took weeks to arrive and came all the way from Canada!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Must See, 5 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Adventures Of Robin Hood [DVD] [1938] (DVD)
The master of adventure pictures,no other Robin Hood has come close,but Sir Guy wins my affection as a truly evil thuggish-,fill in the blank.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The real thing, 15 Jun 2010
By 
JPM Beelen "DjiePie" (Boskoop, Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Adventures Of Robin Hood [DVD] [1938] (DVD)
Together with the Disney version of Robin Hood these are the two version of this story I like the most.
Every other attempt to attempt can't beat these versions.

The Adventures Of Robin Hood [DVD] [1938]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Errol Flynn at his best ., 27 Jan 2008
This review is from: The Adventures Of Robin Hood [DVD] [1938] (DVD)
A true classic film . This part was made for Errol Flynn , and he is supported by fine performances by Basil Rathbone, Claude Rains , and Olivia de Havilland . This film should be in the collection of any self respecting film buff . Cracking stuff ! .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Robin Hood, 27 Nov 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Adventures Of Robin Hood [DVD] [1938] (DVD)
The is a true swashbuckling classic. I have seen it many times and have never tired.
Errol Flynn and Olivia de Havilland create a unique magic. They both exude an aura that is slightly sexy buy highly refined. Director Michael Curtiz constructs exciting visually grand scenes, which became classics in their day and have shown their longevity. A highly entertaining film, exhilarating based on a archetypal plot. Highly recommended and very entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
one of the best robin hood film of all times.enjoy it every times i watch it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true childrens book made into a film for all.., 1 Jan 2010
By 
B. H. Welling "Book Excalibur" (Avon England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Adventures Of Robin Hood [DVD] [1938] (DVD)
The only film of Robin Hood that was true to the book,many films have been made with an up to date story,but many a little bit over the top with to many special effects.It is a childrens book that when any one reads it and sees it on film,can relate back to ones childhood.The quality of the film is superb and it can be shown to children without the fear of to much violence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars warner brother classic, 27 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I initally hesitated at buying robin hood in blu ray but have not been disappointed. Warner Bros have done an excellent job remastering this classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Film, 10 Aug 2010
By 
John Collins - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Adventures Of Robin Hood [DVD] [1938] (DVD)
A great film. 70 years old now (!) and seems a little dated at times, but that by no means is a bad thing.
One of a very few number of films I could watch several times.
We watched it with a Spanish student, so the Spanish sub titles were a boon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars timeless classic, 6 Aug 2010
By 
Mr. J. Lewis - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Adventures Of Robin Hood [DVD] [1938] (DVD)
This is the definitive Robin Hood with a brilliant cast, and in 72 years never bettered, highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 19 10 11 12 13 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Adventures Of Robin Hood  [DVD] [1938]
The Adventures Of Robin Hood [DVD] [1938] by William Keighley (DVD - 2004)
£5.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews