Customer Reviews


109 Reviews
5 star:
 (91)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Five Star Classic!
Probably the greatest adventure film ever made. From start to finish, it is quite simply superb. The most expensive film ever made at the time, and it shows it too. Wonderfully cast, Errol Flynn as Robin Hood; the beautiful Olivia de Havilland as Maid Marian; ably supported by Basil Rathbone as Sir Guy de Gisbourne and Claude Rains as the evil King John. It has...
Published on 5 Oct 2003 by E. A. Redfearn

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointment
Having had the DVD of this restoration for some time I had high hopes for the Blu Ray but am really really disappointed. I expected colours pinging off the screen, solid blacks, glorious reds and greens! But the movie is if anything of worse quality than the dvd, and the extras look like vhs quality. Had I only known.
Published 10 months ago by Mr. P. T. Bale


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Five Star Classic!, 5 Oct 2003
By 
E. A. Redfearn "eredfearn2" (Middlesbrough) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Probably the greatest adventure film ever made. From start to finish, it is quite simply superb. The most expensive film ever made at the time, and it shows it too. Wonderfully cast, Errol Flynn as Robin Hood; the beautiful Olivia de Havilland as Maid Marian; ably supported by Basil Rathbone as Sir Guy de Gisbourne and Claude Rains as the evil King John. It has everything; romance; fantastic set pieces; (the scene where Robin Hood is rescued from the gallows has to be seen to be believed,) and fight scenes which are superbly directed by Hungarian director Michael Curtiz. Even simple scenes where King Richard the Lionheart (well played by British actor Ian Hunter) who reveals himself to the outlaws in Sherwood Forest is very moving. And accompanied by a rousing music score by Austrian composer Erich Wolfgang Korngold. Movie makers can and should learn from this because everytime you see it, you learn something new. The updated Kevin Costner version is dull by comparison, mainly through Costner's lack of charisma. The Costner version showing Robin Hood asking his men to swear an oath to King Richard in the forest is painful to watch as it seems dull in comparison to the wonderful Errol Flynn version of the same scene which never fails to bring a lump to one's throat.
Picture quality is very good too, marvellous technicolor for its time. About time it was released on DVD though, with a digitally remastered soundtrack. It will be a must buy; cannot wait for that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The perfect swashbuckler plus great restoration and extras, 31 Mar 2006
By 
Amazon Customer (Bournemouth UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Adventures Of Robin Hood [DVD] [1938] (DVD)
This is a wonderful DVD for all lovers of this flawless version of Robin Hood.
For the first time they have managed to tame the highly over saturated Technicolor of the original film, and we can see it with a natural colour balance revealing masses of previously hidden detail. As a result all our favourite bits of the film are better that ever, the perfect cast of Errol Flynn, Olivia de Havilland, Basil Rathbone and Claude Raines, and the music of Korngold, the magnificent sets.
But it wasn't originally planned like this, and the excellent special features and commentary by Rudy Behlmer provide endless detail and fascinating facts. In addition there are light hearted extras,, two Robin Hood inspired Looney Tunes, two other shorts and a varied and not always relevant section called "Night at the movies 1938".
A wonderful re-issue of a wonderful film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


59 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gem in every sense of the word, 26 Jan 2004
By 
Marc Haegeman "Marc Haegeman" (Gent, Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Adventures Of Robin Hood [DVD] [1938] (DVD)
This double DVD-set is a gem in every sense of the word. Of course, the 1938 movie itself hardly needs an introduction anymore. It is by far the best screen adaptation of the legend of Robin Hood and his merry men ever made. Cast to perfection with Errol Flynn as Robin, Olivia De Havilland as Maid Marian, Basil Rathbone as the villain Guy de Gisbourne, Claude Rains as the scheming John Lackland, Alan Hale as Little John and a host of inimitable character actors, shot in awesome Technicolor, with a rousing score by Erich Wolfgang Korngold, and masterly directed by William Keighley and Michael Curtiz, it still stands as one of Warner Bros. finest moments.
For this DVD release picture and audio have been restored and digitally transferred, and I must say that the picture quality, sharpness and colour are simply mind-blowing and completely belying their age.
The special features spread over the first and second disc are all of great interest. Film historian Rudy Behlmer provides significant audio commentary to the movie. There is a documentary about the making of the movie, and features that will learn you everything about the cast, the crew, and even the figure of Robin Hood and his many movie adaptations. From the movie itself there are a few outtakes and bloopers. Not to be missed by anyone interested in Hollywood history is a revealing documentary about the development and fame of Technicolor (narrated by Angela Lansbury). And much more, turning this set into a surefire investment that will provide many hours of home movie pleasure.
In short: highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars BluRay More money less value, 6 Feb 2010
By 
A. Hagan "Allan" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The BluRay version is simply an upgraded version of the DVD however it appears to lack all the extras supplied with the DVD so looks great but another film industry rip off long live DRM!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superb, 16 Sep 2008
By 
Mr. R. Dunlop (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
just watched the blu ray version of this classic movie, and i must say for most part it looks positively stunning! considering its age it puts many modern films to shame! and with plenty of extras to keep most movie fans happy its a great example of what can be done with the extra space that blu ray discs have to offer.Th Adventures of Robin Hood [Blu-ray] [1938] [US Import] oh just to confirm the disc came from america and is region free playing without any problems on my playstation 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greate Movie, 14 Feb 2010
By 
In my opinion this is one of the best Robin Hood films made. For an old film the colour and picture quality is fantastic, Not very many old movies put on Blu-Ray are not much better in quality, but the quailty of this film on Blu-Ray makes the the colour and picture quality even better. This film is also multi-region. I would certinly recomend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbelieveable!, 10 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Have no fears, this Blu-ray is multi-region and will play on UK (Region 2) players. It was always a wonderful, colourful and exciting film and now it has been restored and issued in Blu-ray, it is nothing short of stunning. Arguably the best of all Robin Hood movies, including Costner and Crowe, it is hard to believe that this film was made in 1938!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the few old movies I actually like, 21 Jan 2004
By 
Ms. R. Mccombie (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Adventures Of Robin Hood [DVD] [1938] (DVD)
I have loved this film for as long as I can remember. I am notorious in our household for my prejudice (!) against old films, but this is one of the few I do actually love. Errol Flynn is very dashing and the ultimate Robin Hood in the same way that Colin Firth is the ultimate Mr Darcy. The film is brilliantly cast, with an excellent soundtrack and plenty of exciting action. The sets are realistic, and the acting is superb. What more can I say!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A blu-ray classic, 26 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The film itself, despite all its hammy theatrics and studio scenery, needs no introduction and will stand forever as a monument to classic Hollywood swashbucking at its best. Errol Flynn oozes charm and the villains ooze villainy.

As one of the very first films ever released in colour, few of us now will ever have seen it on release in the cinema. I myself had only ever seen it on the TV screen.

The Blu-ray issue of this timeless classic from Warners is therefore a revelation. For the first time many of us can experience something close to the qualtiy of the original technicolor print. More importantly it gives the lie to any who think that Blu-ray is only really suitable for the latest blockbusters. It isn't.

Despite the passage of time, and changing tastes and fortunes, this Blu-ray release is proof that you can blow the cobwebs off a classic and see it in all the freshness and glory of the original Technicolor process as it was seen by the original audiences all those years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Robin Hood of Nottingham, 7 Feb 2004
By 
C. Gilbert "comfychao" (Robin Hood Country) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Adventures Of Robin Hood [DVD] [1938] (DVD)
Swashbuckling 1938 adventure with that romance that we used to get on wet Sunday afternoons. This is in TECHNICOLOUR - hard to beleive it came out that early. This required the noisy camera the size of a washing machine to be kept in a huge lead lined soundproofed box weighing a few hundred weight. The film was shot with three films simultaneously. That said thay must have had some heavy engineering at Warner Brothers to take the moving shots across the crowds. The re-enhanced colour is spectacular and all of Lady Marion's cosis are obviously real silk. Rush out and get it (I mean log-on) before Yorkshiremen steal the whole lot. There are endless references to Nottingham to make us feel that Robin Hood is still our very own! (still the question of why the rebuilt castle is so un-castle like).
This is a spiffing good piece of old cinema - a must for granny too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Adventures Of Robin Hood  [DVD] [1938]
The Adventures Of Robin Hood [DVD] [1938] by William Keighley (DVD - 2004)
5.44
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews