Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars incense and peppermints
Quintessence offered a blend of Hare Khrishna Chant,droning sitar. jazz flute and some fine rock jamming. 'In Blissful Company' is their first album and perhaps their best. The sense of a more innocent age and the smell of incense prevades the album.
I've always condidered this a brillant record, but its often dismissed as a mere 'product of its time' in much the...
Published on 5 May 2004 by daeviddavies

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars in blissful company
played it twice not as good as i remember back in the seventies but is apassable album to have on the shelf
Published 19 months ago by Mr P R Hutton


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars incense and peppermints, 5 May 2004
This review is from: In Blissful Company (Audio CD)
Quintessence offered a blend of Hare Khrishna Chant,droning sitar. jazz flute and some fine rock jamming. 'In Blissful Company' is their first album and perhaps their best. The sense of a more innocent age and the smell of incense prevades the album.
I've always condidered this a brillant record, but its often dismissed as a mere 'product of its time' in much the same way the Incredible String Band have been. (Not that Quintessence sound anything like ISB, but would sit well next to 5000 Spirts).
One of those albums that should feature in those 'top 50 greatest ever' list but never does. Maybe this re-issue will get the album the credit it deserves.
Repertoire Records have done a fine job on the packaging for this re-issue, so a good excuse for some people to replace their vinyl.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Krishna conciousness never got any better than this, 11 Jun. 2012
This review is from: In Blissful Company (Audio CD)
Live they were a force. For the reviewer who thought they were boring. Being at three of their live gigs, the sheer goodness of them lifted the spirits even of a 14 year old who thought he was a cynic in training. The music had enough rock and interesting mixes of instruments Raja Ram's flute, the vocals and the guitarist-to make for absorbing listening. Unlike other bands of that era who were good live, this first album did not dissapoint. OK fading out on a vacuum cleaner was a bit naff. But Giants and the haunting Pearl and bird stand out. The bonus tracks dont add but it is a damn good and stands on its own feet. They were a genuinely living the life collective that spilled into the music. still like some on the mantras and chants. Buy it and enjoy that soaring feel good spirit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Remember the Country Club ?, 9 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Blissful Company (MP3 Download)
I saw this band live at the Country Club on Haverstock Hill, back in the day, they impressed me then & still do. This Album is a classic if you like a mix of Indo jazz fusion, i think that's what we called it. Money well spent, i highly reccomend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blissful!, 8 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Blissful Company (MP3 Download)
I loved Quintessence in the 70s so I'm very pleased to be able to listen to them again. This is a beautiful album t
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Till you came along my life was nothing but an empty shell, 11 Jan. 2006
By 
Junglies (Morrisville, NC United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: In Blissful Company (Audio CD)
I have had this album for quite some time but never really got round to reviewing it, along with all of the other albums I have been buying but I am sure many readers will understand where I am coming from there. I have been prompted to revisit the album as it is almost a year since the third Quintessence album was reissued in England, 'Dive Deep' and there is some expectation that the remaining albums will appear shortly.
In the ferment of social change and exploration which went on in the Western industrialised countries during the 1961 to say 1977, period - an arbitrary date which includes the revival of so called punk rock, the bands reflected the changes which were taking place rather than drove those changes. While many conservative people were concerned and opposed those changes, young people in particular embraced them wholeheartedly and while many did not fully particpate in the music or drugs arena they fled with sometimes wild abandon into the more hedonistic aspects of change particularly sexuality and lifestyle choices.
Much of the music of the period was fundamentally blues based and at it's heart was concerns with feelings and relationships in a basic sortof way but in any event it encouraged people to dance and interact often in a merely phyical way. Crucially the booming music scene brought many bands into being playing this music, often denigrated by social conservatives and providing fuel for the counter-social revolution which is continuing to gather pace today.
Quintessence in a way epitomises the conflict which many people felt through experiencing these changes. While established churches had no answers to many questions, the consumption of drugs and alcohol generally in the young population wereb major causes of alienation and anomie acting as an impetus to seek something more from life. Quintessence aimed to bring about a natural high through their combination of eastern and western influences in their music which could on occasion produce feelings similar to ecstatic achievement largely without drugs and a religious aspect, through Hinduism, to bring peace to inner turmoil.
The tracks here are a snapshot of the early years and although the playing and singing are of reasonable quality they do not reflect the energy and emotion of the live performances. Much like the Grateful Dead the on-stage performances were a vtal and energising experience and much cherished by a large following in Britain. The additional track is not the best recording but for the fans it is a little something given the dearth of additional material on bootlegs and tapes.
The success of this album allowed the band to invest in live recordings which formed the core of the second, and in my view best album, Quintessence, allowing a better picture of this band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Blissful Company (Audio CD)
new product as described thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In Blissful Company, 1 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Blissful Company (MP3 Download)
Bought this to replace my vinyl copy. In the 1970s' this was a classic album. They were a brilliant group
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very special band, 3 Jun. 2014
This review is from: In Blissful Company (Audio CD)
"Good evening. This concert is dedicated to our lord Jesus Christ. This song is about the river goddess, Gungamai". I'll never forget that, the way they used to start their gigs. They were way my favourite band of the time (not just my favourite, but Neil of The Young Ones too). Their first LP is perhaps more studio orientated than the later ones but it meant the songs came over very well. The cover was among the most elaborate ever made, can't see how you could reproduce that with a CD. If you were part of the 60s but can't remember it, this is the CD for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars That age still amazes me due to its own artistic creativity and imagination and this album is a good example of that, 7 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Blissful Company (Audio CD)
I listened to the album as I did for the first time back in the beginnning of the 70's in my youth, it seems as fresh as it did by then.
That age still amazes me due to its own artistic creativity and imagination and this album is a good example of that.
I miss those days and this album works like a time machine taking me back to a limitless time of revolution and change...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars in blissful company, 18 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Blissful Company (Audio CD)
played it twice not as good as i remember back in the seventies but is apassable album to have on the shelf
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

In Blissful Company
In Blissful Company by Quintessence (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews