Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best music DVD....ever
To me, Coldplay have never been the sort of band who ride on their live reputation in the same way that the likes of Oasis, The Darkness, Radiohead et al have done in the past. They’ve always been about what they put on record, which has always been majestic and, in most cases, spine-tinglingly brilliant. It’s because of this that I bought this DVD with a...
Published on 14 Nov 2003 by stevenperryman

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars bootleg quality visuals are not arty.....
I won`t question the performance I saw 12 of these performances on this tour here and in the states..I will question this mediocre video..I thought Rush had made mistakes with the Rio video but here we have conclusive proof once again that some artist simply dont care or understand how to make a live video work..At least on the rush video you can see the band and hear...
Published on 25 Aug 2004


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best music DVD....ever, 14 Nov 2003
This review is from: Coldplay - Live 2003 (Special Edition) + Live CD [DVD] (DVD)
To me, Coldplay have never been the sort of band who ride on their live reputation in the same way that the likes of Oasis, The Darkness, Radiohead et al have done in the past. They’ve always been about what they put on record, which has always been majestic and, in most cases, spine-tinglingly brilliant. It’s because of this that I bought this DVD with a slight hint of trepidation, especially having never seen them live in the flesh. I needn’t have worried.
What you see here is a band at the peak of their powers, renewed with the sort of confidence that only playing together over a series of months can bring. While some of their songs will always work live (One I Love, Yellow, God Put a Smile on My Face, Politik) it’s the songs that should never work that really stand out. A Rush of Blood to the Head is slow and brooding on record, yet here it’s fanned out into a spiky, creepy anthem. While See You Soon is so simple and direct in its delivery, few in the audience or watching at home could fail to be moved by it.
And to top it all you get multi-angle technology on some songs, a brand new Coldplay song (Moses) to keep you going, a 40-minute documentary and a live CD album. As music DVD’s go, this is the benchmark on which all others should be measured.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 31 Jan 2005
By 
James Kennedy Howarth "jkh24" (leeds uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live 2003 [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
I am an avid fan of coldplay. i haveboth of their albums and i think thy are brilliant. So when i first heard about this dvd i thought i had to buy it. unlike some other live albums which are disapointing this is BRILLIANT. Each song is a classic even the new ones previously unreleased on the albums are classics already.
When the crowd sing on 'trouble' it makes the hairs on your neck stand up, and of course when they do tracks like 'yellow' and 'clocks' and 'the scientist' you know that this is a special band and that you made the right choice in buying this dvd.
i am already looking forwardto coldplays new album!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Coldplay come of age, 5 Dec 2003
By 
Mr. M. Doyle "MarcoPolo" (Barnsley) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Coldplay - Live 2003 (Special Edition) + Live CD [DVD] (DVD)
You can't knock Coldplay can you ? They come onto the scene with one of the best debut albums in years and you expect them to disappear into the ether after a year or two. But no, they back this up with A Rush of Blood to the Head - an album that is up there with the very best in music today (or any day for that matter). But you haven't experienced Coldplay until you have watched them live and with the added extra of a Live CD, you would be foolish not to buy this special DVD pack which is terrific value for something that you will play and play and play. The piano, the guitars, the quality vocals of iconic Chris Martin, the atmosphere ...they are all captured on the DVD, and with multi-angle features you choose where you want to see it from. Buy this if you don't ever buy anything again. But don't just settle with the DVD, get the special edition - its well worth the extra couple of pounds to buy a CD that would cost 10 on its own. Right, get the DVD player on ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There getting better you know..., 8 Dec 2003
By 
matthewjd (Teeside, England) - See all my reviews
Coldplay must make other bands simple break down and cry. After the fantastic success of 'Parachutes' and argubly the best indie album since OK Computer, in Rush of Blood to the Head. It's followed by a massive world-wide tour which is captured on this very DVD.
The main feature is obviously the live gig in Sydney, where they play a 17 amazing songs including Yellow, Trouble, In My Place, Clocks, The Scientist, Politic, Don't Panic, etc. and includes the 'new' track Moses. It also shows Chris Martin weird and wonderful dancing and even the shy Jonny politly 'getting down' in the corner. Will's power behind the drums is very evident and Guy just simply looks very cool, like he could do it all day, every day.
This is what i came to expect, after seeing them live in person and on tv. But what impressed me was the notable additional features, the individual camera angle's for some songs (as seen on the screens behind them whilst playing). The 40 minute tour diary, which gives a great insight into just how Coldplay coped with the demanding schedule on their tour which includes sights and sounds from Madrid, London and America. It included some good personal thoughts from the band, along with cat rescues and geography teachers.
The Live CD is great too, with the same tracks however theres only 11 from the 17. Theres even a picture gallery on.
All in all, great, fantastic and well worth the money. It's directed brilliantly and keeps the true exitment of Coldplay's live performance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC!, 11 Nov 2003
This review is from: Coldplay - Live 2003 (Special Edition) + Live CD [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD/CD will serve as a reminder of how good Coldplay are live to those who have been lucky enough to see them, and for all others it will show you what you missed! Simply put Coldplay are possibly the best live act around at the moment, and this DVD demonstrates this fact abley. 'Moses'is a great new track, it's just a pity we have to wait another two years for anything new. Buy this in the meantime - you won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it!!!!!!, 8 Dec 2003
I'm a coldplay fan, and i really enjoyed this dvd! I thought it was excellent value, as it includes not only the concert, and a 40 minute documentry of the tour, but a live cd too!
The only problem I did have with it though, was the fact that on some of the more upbeat tracks, the camera work was way over the top and I did feel a tad giddy!
But there are alternative camera angles on some of the songs.
All in all, I would definitely recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth It, 9 Aug 2004
By 
Lewiz (Loughborough) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Coldplay - Live 2003 (Special Edition) + Live CD [DVD] (DVD)
Wow. This is a great DVD for everyone, whether you enjoy the emergetic, or the melodic side of Coldplay, the DVD and CD is great!
The DVD supports 2 camera angles, and not only has the concert on it, it also has the tour diary, which is a welcome extra.
This alone is worth the price, but the CD is the other part of the deal. It doesn't feature all the songs on the DVD, but covers all the nescessary ones. The CD also has an interesting dark side! if you play it on your PC (and perhaps DVD player i dont know), there is also a photo album! It didnt play in my Sony CD mp3 walkman, but does in most other sound systems.
This is a must-have for all coldplay fans, I had my doubts about it before it came, but it's definitely worth it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top DVD!, 5 Feb 2005
This review is from: Live 2003 [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
This DVD is great, the tracks are great and the band is great! It also has a worthwhile extras section that follows the band around on their 2003 tour. Well worth the money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars communial experience, 26 April 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Coldplay - Live 2003 (Special Edition) + Live CD [DVD] (DVD)
I'm not an rabid fan. I feel no need to buy singles for albums i alreadyhave. If the music industry survived on people like me artists would betaking a major paycut( which might not be bad for some psuedo artists).That being said, buying this album was the best thing i've done in awhile. The DVD was pure magic.There was something intimate about it. Theinterviews and footage of the band felt intimate and unrehearsed. Genuineis the best word to describe the experience and thats saying a whole lotin a world where PR and image reign supreme. The two new tracks are worththier weight in gold. Chris Martin's vocal's and lyricals are on point asalways. Gratious, creative, existential, fabulousnes and because of thatworth every hard earned cent. Hell, I might even pay for overpricednosebleeds the next time they come around these parts!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a buy!, 13 July 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Live 2003 [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Just go ahead and buy it! I thoroughly enjoyed this concert and felt that DVD captured the performance and the atmosphere very well. We watched Coldplay live in concert a few weeks ago at Crystal Palace (which was an open air concert) and felt slightly disappointed. After watching this on DVD we could only wish the concert we attended had half the atmosphere... This is a great buy for Coldplay fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Coldplay  - Live 2003 (Special Edition) + Live CD [DVD]
4.22
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews