Customer Reviews


301 Reviews
5 star:
 (205)
4 star:
 (39)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (34)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Absolute bargain
I have bought 3 of these machines, two for the kiddies bedrooms
and one for the living room. They are excellent and will play
just about anything you can throw at it. OK they are'nt the
prettiest DVD players on the market, but they dont look awful either.Playback quality appears to be excellent, although I can only compare this to my only previous DVD...
Published on 6 Oct 2003 by Replicant

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Region 2 Problems
At first I was pretty impressed with this item... as it says it does play all kinds of formats. Mainly I wanted it for USA DVD's which I have since purchased and it handles these with no probs whatsoever. What I find vaguely annoying is that it freezes from time to time on playback for a few seconds and also that it has a real problem playing quality Region 2 discs which...
Published on 26 May 2004


‹ Previous | 1 231 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Absolute bargain, 6 Oct 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yamada DVD 5520 Multi-region DVD Player (Electronics)
I have bought 3 of these machines, two for the kiddies bedrooms
and one for the living room. They are excellent and will play
just about anything you can throw at it. OK they are'nt the
prettiest DVD players on the market, but they dont look awful either.Playback quality appears to be excellent, although I can only compare this to my only previous DVD player which was by 'Cyberhome' - it is also much quieter in operation.
Playing an MP3 disk is simplicity itself, with an easy to navigate on screen menu.It gives you control over a lot of audio/video settings, and the audio sounds great thru my hifi (dolby digital). At £40 this is an absolute bargain and an ideal
Xmas prezzie. One gripe - it comes with 2 lots of RCA phono leads
but no scart lead !! - but it is £40...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How to solve a scart problem, 24 Oct 2003
This review is from: Yamada DVD 5520 Multi-region DVD Player (Electronics)
I have recently purchased three of the Yamada DVD 5520 players and friends have purchased a further two. I see from the customer feedback that a lot of players are being returned to you when a little note would solve most of the problems.
Power light not working - thurns out this is a standby light and not a power light so it will be off in normal operation.
Sound but no picture - setting needs to be changed on the dvd player. This is difficult as you can not see the picture but just turn the dvd player on and wait for the no disc indicator on screen. Then press the following on the remote.
Setup,right,right,down,play,up,up,up,down,play,setup. Then picture will appear immediately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value - can't be beaten!, 13 Nov 2003
By 
Kev Drummond (Farncombe, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Yamada DVD 5520 Multi-region DVD Player (Electronics)
If you want a good DVD player that is inexpensive, then you can't beat this. I previously had a Yelo DVD player that cost just short of £200 and it lasted less than 18 months and no longer works at all, and did not play all my DVD's that I have bought during holidays abroad. This one however, plays the lot with no fuss, very easy to use and the picture quality perfectly fine for the average tele. The way I see it, for 40 quid, if it lasts a year and I have to buy a new one, then it's still a lot better value than spending a lot more for one that lasts 18 months for 5 time the price!
I say, buy this player!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good value bot not without faults, 23 Oct 2003
This review is from: Yamada DVD 5520 Multi-region DVD Player (Electronics)
Really very good player for this money (<40GBP). It plays all the formats I have in my library (CD, MP3, VCD, SVCD, DVD, CD-R,CD-RW, Kodak Picture CD(JPEG)) and even more. It doesn't play only DivX. At the back it has connectors to 5.1 Dolby Digital, stereo, digital out, S-Video out, SCART, composite video - simply saying all you would like to have. The quality of picture is good. I can only complain about subtitles which are being displayed quite wobbly (they move up and down a line). The sound is very good (I use just my stereo). Remote very handy. Setting up player was also and easy job. The standby led is too bright but it doesn't matter really. The player loads DVDs quite slowly about 10-15s (not a big deal though). It handles both PAL and NTSC. You can use both wide and full screen TV.
In one word very good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


66 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent DVD - Does exactly what it says on the tin., 3 Sep 2003
This review is from: Yamada DVD 5520 Multi-region DVD Player (Electronics)
We ordered this DVD to replace our multi-region SONY DVP NS300. The Sony has been nothing but trouble but this Yamada DVD is excellent. Multi-region straight from the box we have now watched region 1, region 2, PAL and even NTSC onto an old PAL TV, including DVD-R copies, plus it even plays badly scratched DVDs which the SONY does not even recognise! Picture quality is excellent and there are plenty of toys, angles, zoom 2x-32x speed etc.
No scart lead provided but you probably have several already and if not you can buy one. The box contains an AV lead (3 phono to 3 phono) plus two, yes two double phono leads for connecting to your stereo.. A reasonable grey remote and even two AAA batteries. There are digital co-ax and optical outputs plus Component Video (3 leads), a scart socket, S-video and Digital Audio 5.1 Channels for connection to surround sound or conventional stereo outputs all via phono plugs.
This is an excellent slimline player at an incredible price. I would highly recommend it. I hope it will last forever but at this price who cares. We ordered online on Friday evening and received the box via Parcelforce at 08.45 Monday. Well done Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy one!!!!, 2 Sep 2003
By 
This review is from: Yamada DVD 5520 Multi-region DVD Player (Electronics)
I recently purchased one of these players and what an excellent piece of equipment it is. Very simple to set up and use, giving superb playback through all outputs (scart, video-s and even through the co-ax). The machine handled all disc formats I tried, DVD, SVCD, VCD without any problem and the MP3 player gives a fine sound too, with clear onscreen menus to select folders etc. This has to my best purchase of the year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Low price, high quality., 10 Sep 2003
By 
Dr Nick "Dr Nick" (Sheffield, S Yorks United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yamada DVD 5520 Multi-region DVD Player (Electronics)
Bought it after a friend recommended it, and haven't been disappointed.
Does all the things it's supposed to very well, excellent picture quality, pretty straightforward to use, although I did have to fiddle with the display a bit to get the colour right, and my photo CD's are a hit with the kids!
And with a variety of connection options including SCART, digital RCA and optical, as well as other speakers, it should please anyone.
NB: Doesn't include a SCART cable, but does come with a triple RCA cable and 2 more sets of audio RCA cables for extra speakers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cheap, but will make you cheerful, 2 Sep 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Yamada DVD 5520 Multi-region DVD Player (Electronics)
This DVD player might appear basic, but has many of the advanced features you'll find on machines costing 4 times the price. The picture quality is good, and a nice onscreen menu system keeps you informed of what is going on. The fact that it plays back a multitude of formats, including MP3 CDs and Kodak Picture CDs makes it ideal for people who don't have a computer but want to see their digitised photos or listen to their son's band etc.
The remote control is nice and tactile, with responsive rubber buttons, and the instructions I haven't even opened! Batteries come with the remote control, as do composite cables - although life is easier if you buy a scart cable at the same time.
The actual machine itself is very slimline and doesn't look "cheap" at all, the fact that the product branding suggests "Yamaha" seemed a little bit of a cheap shot initially, but don't let it put you off - the DVD player looks and works nicely.
I wouldn't necessarily have this as my primary player, but as a present for aging technophobes it's ideal and a nice way to dvd-enable your family!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for the money, 17 Oct 2003
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yamada DVD 5520 Multi-region DVD Player (Electronics)
I was a little dubious before ordering, the bad reviews put me off, but i ordered one as a xmas gift, and checked it out before sending... and i was rather impressed. it played all region disks and VCDs no problem, and i tried a CDR with a mixture of MP3s, .jpgs and .avi files all mixed up in different folders and it played all of them brilliantly, with an easy to use layout, even shows thumbnails of the pics so you can find what youre after easily.
picture and sound arent as good as my pioneer player, but as this is £300+ cheaper... a bargain
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big Features Machine for Little Money, 2 Sep 2003
By 
Amazon Customer "Bobby Martini" (The Great British Countryside) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yamada DVD 5520 Multi-region DVD Player (Electronics)
The first thing you notice when opening the box is how slimline and 'expensive' looking it is. Fortunately, not only does it look good, it performs good aswell. This player will play just about any disc you put in it - and play it well. DVD playback is as good as I have seen from a much more costly player. Colours are vivid, flesh tones well defined and, whereas some cheaper players struggle with dark scenes, this player copes with them very well. Sound is excellent when plugged through your TV thanks to the Virtual Surround option and features many different equaliser options(hall, bathroom, arena etc) but is even better when pumped through your Dolby 5.1 or DTS setup. Shove in a CD or CD-R/CD-RW and you might as well sell your Hi-Fi. Sound is fab. Same goes for MP3 discs. They also sound excellent. Only downside for me with the MP3 discs is that there is a short delay from one track to another. Not normally a problem with most albums but can be a bit annoying when listening to 'mix' albums (Ministry of Sound etc). This, however is a small gripe considering how cheap this machine is. The other great performance of this player is when you put in a Photo CD. I burned a CD today of holiday pix taken on a digital camera, pictures from the internet, scanned pictures and other odds & sodds. This machine handled all of them brilliantly. It displays them to there maximum full screen potential without making them losing the resolution (as long as they are not too tiny) and you can choose different transition effects. VCD's and SVCD's play great although I haven't tried many but what I have got were fine. Overall this is a great machine for the money. A few 'purists' out there may scoff but in my personal opinion it is great value for money. Oh, I forgot to mention - IT'S MULTI REGION TOO - but you don't have to do any hacks or anything else. It just recognises what region it is and loads it up just as fast as Region 2. NB - the manual states that is a Region 2 machine only - ignore this!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 231 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews