Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TOUGH AT THE TOP
With Uncle Junior under house arrest, Tony is now the boss - beset by would-be contenders and treachery from within. Panic attacks continue, necessitating further visits to psychiatrist Jennifer - she in consequence resorting to drink and herself in need of therapy.

13 more compelling episodes (three with commentaries). Again powerful scripts and...
Published on 29 Dec. 2010 by Mr. D. L. Rees

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Getting dated I reckon
I've watched S1 and S2 now and that's as far as I'm interested in going really. With what has happened in tele dramas in the past few years this had a very dated feel.
Published 16 months ago by William Johns


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TOUGH AT THE TOP, 29 Dec. 2010
By 
Mr. D. L. Rees "LEE DAVID" (DORSET) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Sopranos : Complete HBO Season 2 [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
With Uncle Junior under house arrest, Tony is now the boss - beset by would-be contenders and treachery from within. Panic attacks continue, necessitating further visits to psychiatrist Jennifer - she in consequence resorting to drink and herself in need of therapy.

13 more compelling episodes (three with commentaries). Again powerful scripts and performances. Intentionally the series is at times hard to watch, the humour helping enormously. (The writing attracted James Gandolfini by making him laugh so much.) Contrasts abound. Inside the family - grace before meals; preparations for son Anthony's Confirmation, daughter Meadow's Graduation. Elsewhere - car-jacking, extortion, baseball bat beatings, killings. Tony has no problem reconciling religion with his way of life. Hell is for other people, not for him - he but a soldier, following a code.

Season 2 grabs the attention and will not let go. Members of the Mafia are so amazed at its authenticity, they are convinced some of their number snitched. Such is revealed in modest but fascinating bonuses. For what greater praise could the producers ask!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Television perfection, 8 Jan. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sopranos : Complete HBO Season 2 [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
I usually watch sci-fi series and a lot of retro television. I watched The Sopranos series 1 a couple of years ago, and thoroughly enjoyed it. Have just finished series 2 over about 7 nights. Wow. It may be about gangsters, but this does not stop it being one of the most well-observed character pieces to appear on television. The series is consistently written opening various story threads which are all neatly concluded. The vision to create, write and produce such a series is absolute genius and faultless teamwork so rarely seen over a period of time.

The acting is top notch and the casting is nothing short of inspired, both of which are crucial to deliver the exceptional dialogue that really sets this programme apart. It is very heavy on swearing, but uses swear words in original ways. Because it is character driven, the pace of the series is slow therefore adding realism. Whilst a hard-hitting mobster drama, there are plenty of light moments, comedy, black comedy and surrealism.

With literally thousands to choose from this has to be the best season of any series I have seen. To pick some recent comparisons. Seasons 1,2 and 3 of Lost are very easy to get into, engaging, thought provoking, mostly to a very high standard with the potential to be a little ground-breaking at times. These four/five categories combined eliminate all bar a handful of programmes, but the description fits The Sopranos too. So many good series arrive from the US these days, but, like Tony Soprano himself, this series will be a tough act to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tongue in cheek Godfather, 4 Oct. 2009
By 
C M. Reid "Christine Reid" (Kingston, Moray, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sopranos : Complete HBO Season 2 [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
Late comer to the Sopranos, can't believe what we were missing. Brilliant series 1 and 2 to date, looking forward to the rest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does it get any better??????????, 14 Mar. 2004
By 
This review is from: The Sopranos : Complete HBO Season 2 [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
When I bought the first series of the Sopranos I watched it with an eagle eye as I thought it couldn't be as good as everyone had told me. It was better and so it was with this new found confidence that my girlfriend Bex bought me Season 2. I thought that nothing could match the brilliance of the first season but this just makes the first season seem average if thats possible? The storylines are better and the characters have more depth. We realise that Tony cannot live without Dr Melfi and that he has a new found enemy who wants his old patch back. This feud is the series high point as Tony struggles with his life and his profession.I was disappointed in the fact that Tony's truggle with his mother was toned down as he hardly speaks to her during the whole series.Apart from that though the series is stellar and I can't wait to get my hands on season 3. I was just wondering ..... does anybody else realise that Paulie Walnuts a.k.a Tony Sirico is the best character bar Tony on the show. If you don't realise yet then you sure will when you watch this series as he is involved in the funniest scene on tv in a long time. Happy viewing to all you wannabe Don's out there. Grazi
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's a Family Thing..., 3 April 2004
This review is from: The Sopranos : Complete HBO Season 2 [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
The Sopranos is one of HBO's greatest achievements (although I admit that I think it lost some of its momentum and spark with seasons three and four). When I first saw the show, I was hooked. I'd watch anywhere from three to four episodes a day. One of the great things about first watching this show on DVD was that I could watch any number of episodes instead of just watching one per week.
"The Sopranos: The Complete Second Season" has to be my favourite season. As much as I love the first one, this was when things were really funny, intense, dramatic and involving. The season doesn't let us down when it comes to Tony having more problems than ever before. Both in his Mafia Family and his immediate family, Tony can never get a break. His wife gives him grief while his kids keep doing things that upset him. And don't get me started on his ill mother and self-centered sister. Life isn't much better in his Mafia Family when the brother of Jackie is released from prison and is giving Tony a hard time both personally and professionally. Not to mention that his long time friend, Big P. comes back from a long hiatus when he was first suspected of turning rat to the Feds. All of this leads to one incredible and unpredictable season that showcases the show like none other.
For me, this was the most entertaining season of them all. I loved the characters, the constantly changing storylines, and the personal and business life of Tony Soprano, which is superbly balanced in this season. There's still the much appreciated humor in these episodes that were found lacking in the next two seasons. It doesn't feel like a soap opera, but a more enhanced look into the Mafia world. There's plenty of action as well as dramatic storylines that will make everybody happy for the most part.
This season comes in a set of four discs, totaling at 13 episodes. The great thing about the show is that it is presented to us in a widescreen format that is enhanced for widescreen TVs. This really makes the show that more effective because you feel like you're actually watching a movie rather than a show on cable. The picture and sound quality is great and really shows. There are some nice little extras, such as featurettes, brief previews and recaps of episodes, web-links and more.
"The Sopranos: The Complete Second Season" is a bundle of laughs, suspense, drama, action and surprises. You're always on your toes and you never know what's coming next. One thing's for sure; this is the most unpredictable season out of the four seasons (the fifth one looks pretty promising thus far). While you'll want to start with the first season if you've never seen the show before, you'll know that you will have something special to look forward to once you get to the second season. In my opinion, this is where Sopranos is flawlessly at its best. -Michael Crane
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It was a very good year..., 3 April 2011
This review is from: The Sopranos : Complete HBO Season 2 [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
At the beginning of the second season, Jackie's brother Richie Aprile is released from prison and proves to be uncontrollable in the business arena; he also starts a relationship with Tony's sister Janice, who has arrived from Seattle. Tony's friend "Big Pussy" returns to New Jersey after a conspicuous absence. So the scene is set for fresh conflict as The Sopranos takes another step on the route to perfection achieved in later seasons.

The Sopranos is so compelling because the majority of the characters are people of questionable morals who deprive themselves of nothing. They want it, they take it, they feel that impulse, they act on it- they are erratic, unpredictable and often dangerous. The dramatization of Tony's struggles between the two families makes for intoxicating television. With plenty of twists, subplots and the potentially disappointing disappearance of more than a few major characters, The Sopranos has managed to remain fresh and innovative while paying respect to its growing legion of fans. Season two is a step up in quality from season one and I can't recommend it highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another triumph, 9 Sept. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sopranos : Complete HBO Season 2 [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
Would series 2 be a let-down after the triumph that was the first series? We did wonder, but reassured by the comments here, we bought it then watched it at the rate of two episodes per night (we would have made it more, but real life kept getting in the way!) How is it possible to sustain the high standards? Did they have the modern- day Shakespeare working on the scripts?

I would never have believed you if you had told me that I would be gripped by a long-running series about a very violent Mafia boss, a series with graphic scenes of killing. Normally I run a mile from that genre, and there is the main reason that I have discovered The Sopranos so late.

Series 3 should be with us in a day or two, so our withdrawal symptoms will not last too long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even better than series 1, 14 Dec. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Sopranos : Complete HBO Season 2 [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
If you are looking at this review, you probably already have the first season. All I can tell you is that the second season is as good, if not better, than the first.
There are some major plot developments. Livia and Tonys uncle hatch a plan that can have murderous consequences for Tony. Carmela is doing all in her power, and I mean all, to help Meadow get into a good college. In her own sweet way, Carmela can be just as scary as Tony. Janice (Aida Tuturro), Tonys sister, comes back home, wreaks havoc, marries the former mob boss' jailbird brother, and then leaves town with a bang. One of Tonys best friends becomes a snitch for the Feds. No wonder Tony continues to have anxiety attacks and still needs to see his psychiatrist, Dr. Melfi.
The writing continues to be intelligent, and the story lines are as well thought out and engrossing as ever. I have watched the entire first, second, and third seasons and am eagerly awaiting the fourth season. I absolutely love this series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Badda Bing!, 17 Nov. 2014
The Sopranos season 2, is Sopranos at it's best and perhaps, is the best season of television drama so far put out there. Now many can say that The Wire is better (In my opinion the overall quality of The Wire as a show is better then The Sopranos), or that Breaking Bad, or Mad Men is better (There are some valid arguements to be made), but for me, season 2 is as close to perfect as we are going to get.

With two new antagonists taking centre stage, Tony's sister Janice (Aida Turturro) returns to New Jersey after many years away to 'take care' of their mother Livia (Nancy Marchand) following the events of season 1 (Aida was brought in due to Nancy's ailing health). We also get Richie Aprile (David Proval), an old school mafiosi, being released from prison after serving a substanial sentance, who has found many changes in how things are done.

Every episode is a winner as we get a slow build of tension, leading up to the episodes 'The Knight in White Satin Armour' and 'Funhouse' which you will just not be able to let go. However there are numerous other great episodes and guest stars, such as Robert Patrick playing the role of an old school mate of Tony's with a very serious gambling problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tony takes over, 26 May 2013
By 
Mrs. E. Bambridge-sutton (Solar System) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Sopranos : Complete HBO Season 2 [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
This would have been four stars or even three if not for the brilliant second half, for most of the first half was unremarkable, save episode three.

This series sees Tony take over from Junior, his uncle, who is under house arrest. It also sees the introduction of two new characters. Janice Soprano, Tony's older sister, comes to visit, to look after his mother's affair's now Tony has disowned her. Tony's dead friend Jackie has an older brother, Richie, who comes out of prison in episode three, and is very messed up. He brings a menacing edge to Tony's mob, and eventually continue's a relationship with Janice he had before he went to prison.

This season has a more artistic feel to it, and more closely studies characterisation over mob deals, which some people may complain about by i find much more interesting. Tony's relationship with Carmella is more closely explored, although his therapy sessions gradually gets worse because of Jennifer's growing fear of Tony. She eventually resorts to alchahol.

This is even better than the brilliant season one. Buy it!

Best episodes "Toodle-F***ing-oo" "D-Girl" "From Where to Eternity" and "Funhouse"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Sopranos : Complete HBO Season 2 [1999] [DVD]
The Sopranos : Complete HBO Season 2 [1999] [DVD] by James Gandolfini (DVD - 2003)
£13.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews