Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars short and sweet
i know this film is supposed to be a kid's film, but i love it and think it will appeal to anyone- old or young- who loves animated films. i hadn't seen it since i was about 5 years old but recently i started thinking about it again and i managed to buy my own copy. it's a sweet and funny little story about 3 friends (a mouse, a mole and a hedgehog) who have to find herbs...
Published on 23 Mar. 2007 by spyrofan

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars the copy was rubbish
i got a copy and it stopped and jumped asked for a replacement what they sent but again it stopped and jumped
Published 23 months ago by christine


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars short and sweet, 23 Mar. 2007
This review is from: Once Upon A Forest [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
i know this film is supposed to be a kid's film, but i love it and think it will appeal to anyone- old or young- who loves animated films. i hadn't seen it since i was about 5 years old but recently i started thinking about it again and i managed to buy my own copy. it's a sweet and funny little story about 3 friends (a mouse, a mole and a hedgehog) who have to find herbs to heal their friend (a badger) after she is poisoned by a gas spill. the film also doesn't get too cutesy or sentimental, and is at a satisfying length- just over an hour long. a small tip though, this is a kids film but very small children might find a couple of parts just a little bit scary, but there's nothing violent or overly scary so its nothing to worry about. i also think that the music score for this film is great, and i'm not normally one to pay attention to things like that. I'm not giving this film 5 stars to compare it with excellent films such as shrek or groundbreaking Disney films, but it deserves 5 stars in its own right and is a lot better than some of the other animated kiddy films out there....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable - With such a brilliant story and end song, 2 Jan. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Once Upon A Forest [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
The creators of An American Tail bring a movie that became an enjoyable fav of mine.

The story involves a group of animal furlings who set out to find some special plants to aid their sick friend who falls ill from dangerous gas caused by a tanker that's crashed into the forest of Dapplewood.

The end song "Once Upon a Time with Me" bought me nearly into tears after hearing it for the first time.
Only downside to this film is that i wish it would have gone on for a little longer, and like most animated films would start off
with families being separated or parents being killed off (As Michelle, a main character in the film, sadly had her parents dead) like most animated films like An American Tail, Land Before Time and The Lion King.

Still this is an enjoyable animated classic many will enjoy :)
4/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true kids video, 17 Feb. 2001
By A Customer
If your looking for a good kids video then this is a must for your collection. Its a good all round film, not too long and will keep the kids interested all the way through. Only one down side though its not currently available on DVD. The tape I have is now showing its age as it has been watched that many times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless., 10 July 2014
This review is from: Once Upon A Forest [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
Such a sweet little film that I loved from my childhood and was so excited to see available on DVD. It warms the heart with it's spirit and stories of friendship. A timeless piece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sweet Kids Film But Qutie Disturbing., 27 Feb. 2009
By 
This review is from: Once Upon A Forest [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
I remember having the video of this and Fern Gully when I was a child, loving their bittersweet stories of growning up and challenges among the way. I bought this on a good deal and watched today bringing back some memoies. The story is about three animals, Abigail, Russell and Egder, having their lesson horribly cut short when a gas leak spreads in their meadow town and leaves their friend Michelle in a serious coma. Forced to help, they must go to a another meadow and get the herbs needed to save her or she will die when the moon is full. Will the three get over their issues and work together? Though the drawings are lovely, shivering up your spine songs and loveable characters, the story itself is pretty disturbing. No way under eights would like the grown-up feel about it, the ending is pretty depressing and can make you think about what's happening in the world. You may think I'm werid to say that but I'm a thinker and when I see something like this, I feel the raw emotion for a long while. But in all, it's a sweet film that kids and adults will like for it's rare beauty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must for children to watch!, 27 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Once Upon A Forest [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
Bought this on dvd for my grandson as I have it in video form that his mum used to watch as a little girl. The little badger is called Michelle, my eldest daughters name. A wonderful story for little ones to enjoy. The owl is a little scary though! Everytime he comes he picks it up for me to put on. Timeless piece of animation!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars childhood memories, 2 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Once Upon A Forest [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
This was one of my favourite films as a child and now i can enjoy it all over again with my 3 children. The dvd arrived really quickly brand new sealed in the cellophane packaging as described. A brilliant buy for pocket money price :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars at last a once upon a time not dealing with fairies and witches., 9 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Once Upon A Forest [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
this was a great story for children and adults teaching us that all life has the right to be here. Disney could learn from this film and stop making so many movies with magic and dark characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars DVD Delight, 5 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Once Upon A Forest [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
I used to watch this with my daughter when she was small, and have decided to get a copy to watch with the grandchildren. Yes I admit this is also and excuse to watch it again because I loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It's a bit dark., 14 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Once Upon A Forest [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
Gas spill, parents die, friends set out to find ingredients to heal their poisoned friend who then gets adopted by a badger. I didn't like it my two year old watched it til the end though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Once Upon A Forest [DVD] [1993]
Once Upon A Forest [DVD] [1993] by Charles Grosvenor (DVD - 2003)
£4.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews