Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Out of luck ???
The premise of this film is that some people can steal luck from others. The idea is bizarre but interesting, and the director (Juan Carlos Fresnadillo) and some great actors managed to make a great movie out of it.
The main character, Thomas (Leonardo Sbaraglia), the only survivor of a tragic crash that killed the other 236 passagers in the plane, is one of the...
Published on 24 Mar 2005 by M. B. Alcat

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars missed opportunity to make a classic
The idea is very interesting, but the execution is absolutely appalling. Feeble attempts at characterization,Shoddy, half-written ideas, poorly explained storyline,pretentiously scripted,then schizophrenically edited, with a director who has all the subtlety and suspense of a burglar throwing a brick through the window of a pensioner to announce his arrival. One star is...
Published 10 months ago by Tando


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Intacto, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Intacto [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Unusual and intriguing film. Well acted and different from the usual type of film. Thoroughly enjoyed it. Would recommend. Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Different and interesting, 3 Sep 2013
By 
T. J. Laven "tim" (Thailand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Intacto [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Do you want to be a little surprised? Do you want something a bit different - fun for those who are able to suspend belief for that short time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars "I don't love you anymore", 4 Aug 2013
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This Movie is fairly original in its premise; luck is real and like a commodity can be given, and sold to the point that one gambles for others' luck.

Samuel (Max von Sydow) a concentration camp survivor discovers the secret of luck and how it is obtained and used. His protégé Federico decides to leave and use his own luck in his own way. So Samuel dissen-lucks Federico with a quick hug, and a peck, sending him on his way.

So now Federico must find some luck and return for the showdown. Can he do it? We see what he must go through with a new found down-on -his-luck lucky person.

You have to pay attention at all times to this movie as whatever looks just incidental for ambience may just actually be part of the clues for the future or the past however you look at it. Also the pacing is just a tad off, however you will get used to it. There is a little bit of blood but nothing gratuitous. You may have to get used to the subtitles as a speech is just a tad too fast to assimilate without them.

If you have the opportunity a second viewing is worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic film, 30 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Intacto [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I loved this film, it has an intriguing and original plot, and is a well put together story. I love world cinema generally as the stories are usually much more interesting and complex than the Hollywood films we are presented with and this is definitely going in my top 10. It is a long time since I have been totally gripped by a story and had a genuine surprise at the end (I thought I'd guessed what would happen and happily I was wrong...) Love it, love it, love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Take a chance and add it to your DVD collection, 19 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Intacto [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Saw this film at the cinema when it first came out - a very clever and intriguing premise, and beautifully shot.
The plot works its way to the rather stunning climax - avoiding cliches to tie everything up in a beguiling "twist".
Love this movie from top to bottom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Intacto, 25 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Intacto [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Intacto is a film that I've wanted to see since it came out but managed to miss.
It's a film that's about luck and life chances - the idea that you could take other people's luck and
and add it to your own - and an awful lot more -
the scene in the darkened room with the giant flying insect is amazing
and the scene in the forest gobsmacking (literally and metaphorically).
And on top of that it is subtle enough to bear a number of interpretations...
good thing that I caught up with it then!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fed up with formulaic Hollywood films?, 24 Nov 2011
By 
G. Brooks "brooksy" (a Brit abroad) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Intacto [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I was, as the title above suggests, "Fed up with formulaic Hollywood films?" I read some reviews online and decided it was worth the risk, to try a subtitled foreign art film, at this price.

Not disappointed in the slightest. A weird but totally engrossing story with well rounded characters and a great script. Having seen it you will know why you have never won the lottery!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Worth watching., 15 Oct 2008
This was an very interesting and thought provoking and takes a while to figure out what is going on. The main topic being there are people gifted with luck and can increase theirs by stealing yours. It is worth watching because even though there are supposed lucky they lives dont seem that great??.

Drawbacks.
The film is partly in spoken spanish and english with subtitles in both. Not a problem for me as trying to learn spanish.
It plays on my computer but not on my DVD player so you need to make sure your DVD has multi region support.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars well worth a look, 12 Dec 2006
This review is from: Intacto [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
If you can't suspend your disbelief a little then this won't be for you but if you can it's an intriguing film. Well acted, always looks stylish and it has a beautiful soundtrack. An unusual and enjoyable thriller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 6 Sep 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Intacto [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Stunning, the plot and the whole concept of this film still whirls around in my mind to this day - 6 months after I saw it in the cinema. The film oozes with mystery and intrigue, is both stylish and taut and is one of the most origional films of the past decade. Max von Sydow is truely mesmerising. I urge you to see this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Intacto [DVD] [2003]
Intacto [DVD] [2003] by Juan Carlos Fresnadillo (DVD - 2003)
10.01
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews