Customer Reviews


104 Reviews
5 star:
 (87)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


113 of 115 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why fear hell when you're already there?
Why fear hell when already there?
As if the Holy Roman Catholic Church hasn't had enough PR problems lately, now there's THE MAGDALENE SISTERS.
Based on a true story, this film follows the experiences of three young Irish woman thrust into a Magdalene Asylum, administered by the Catholic Church through the Sisters of Mercy (aka THE MAGDALENE SISTERS), for...
Published on 22 Oct 2003 by Joseph Haschka

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars magdalene sisters
only gave 3 stars as it was true to fact but it was an upsetting movie but l expect it went on and it must have been horrific to the girls and their families having no choice
Published 9 days ago by house elf


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars emotional, 16 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Magdalene Sisters [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
far better film than I thought had heard about it and was really glad I bought it one I could watch again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Magdalene Sisters, 9 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Magdalene Sisters [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
A very good story sad in parts very relevant to the catholic church today, regarding the scandal of child abuse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars nuns, 26 Aug 2012
By 
R. Cunningham - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Magdalene Sisters [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I was told about this film a few years ago and decided to buy it I was quite shocked at the treatment of the girls in it and it was supposed to be true It's a good film to watch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely sad - an excellent film, 6 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Magdalene Sisters [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I bought this film because of the good reviews.

It is such a sad film. Totally unbelievable just how cruel nuns and clergy can actually be.

To think these poor girls were sent to such a cruel, horrible place for no reason at all, apart from being an embarrassment to their parents.

Fantastic acting.

Well worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Magdalene Sisters - DVD, 24 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Magdalene Sisters [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I bought this as a present having seen it myself and loved it. Harrowing film, but worth a watch. Very happy about the delivery - came well within time, and as it was a present, was able to send it on time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Magadalene sister, 18 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Magdalene Sisters [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
This dvd is about the catholic church and how it treated unmarried mothers.Amazon was very quick off the mark as I received the dvd before the 5th day,and it was well packed.Again the price was excellent,thanks Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars true story, 23 Feb 2012
By 
jessica (cheshire uk) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Magdalene Sisters [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Very hard, unbelievable hard to believe how this used to happen story. Slow, but good, i enjoyed it.
As it was educational in our history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A revealing film about the cruelty of the Magdalene laundries, 13 Jan 2012
This review is from: The Magdalene Sisters [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Faith is one thing and its concrete manifestations are another. While religious theory all sounds good, it is shocking for many of us to find out what was done in the name of religious values, and this movie directed by Peter Mullan (also the director of Trainspotting) shows with no censorship the situation of the Magdalen laundries. These laundries were run by catholic nuns and were in theory designed to give fallen women (unwed mothers, raped girls, or simply girls perceived as temptresses) a chance to mend their sins and to work as well. The film reveals the psychological cruelty these girls endured at the hands of the nuns: being taunted, embarrassed, and even physically punished for what now seem like minor mistakes.

The film was a shock for me, because I could not believe that such things existed up until the beginning of the 90's. It goes to show that oppression is ever present, no matter the time and place.

This was to me a beautifully rendered film on cruelty and injustice, the acting was flawless and fully credible and it recreated the situations of the laundries so vividly that I at times couldn't watch the scenes because of their tragic nature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant film, 15 Dec 2011
By 
Mrs. Zoe S. Moore "Zoey M" (Coventry UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Magdalene Sisters [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Ordered this brilliant film after seeing most of it on TV. The item arrived quicky but unfortunately the casing was broken in the post, perhaps more bubble wrap should be used next time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent,but "scary", 21 Oct 2011
By 
readerman (West Midlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Magdalene Sisters [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
This is a well made and very well acted film.The fact that is drawn from the women's experiences is what I found "scary" I believe them but find that these conditions existed very frightening.As I fell is the case with several books and films on which I have commented,I will say,please watch it but keep it in the era and place in which the situation was allowed to exist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Magdalene Sisters [DVD] [2003]
The Magdalene Sisters [DVD] [2003] by Peter Mullan (DVD - 2003)
5.76
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews