Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Zip, Verve, Polish and Challenge
Neil Jordan has done it again! THE GOOD THIEF is another one of those truly excellent films that for some reason didn't make it in the theaters. Perhaps it takes too much concentration from an audience ready for a blowup blaster heist of a story. That is here, but it it is delivered in so sophisticated a manner that the actual casino caper is secondary to the quality of...
Published on 11 Sep 2003 by Grady Harp

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars I lost the plot.
The story is about a heist of sorts. In truth the film did not stay in my mind longer than five minutes. I found the plot convoluted and rather slow witted without much joy or subtlety. Nick Nulty acts as Nick Nulty always does - as he is good value for money I give it 3 stars.
Published 6 months ago by Leo Fender was a genius says -


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Zip, Verve, Polish and Challenge, 11 Sep 2003
By 
Grady Harp (Los Angeles, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Good Thief [DVD] (DVD)
Neil Jordan has done it again! THE GOOD THIEF is another one of those truly excellent films that for some reason didn't make it in the theaters. Perhaps it takes too much concentration from an audience ready for a blowup blaster heist of a story. That is here, but it it is delivered in so sophisticated a manner that the actual casino caper is secondary to the quality of the story, and characters who populate it. Set on the Riviera, Nick Nolte stars as a 'has been' con man who apparently decides to have one last fling - but to do so he has to shake his herion addiction and clean up his past a bit. This done, he encounters an assembled cast of characters that are each interesting and well acted, from a beautiful newcomer who plays the sole love interest to an arachnophobic body builder undergoing a sex change. The police are for once treated as interesting individuals instead of chumps, the plans for the heist are laid out in a spellbinding way, and the whole planned caper is photographed in stylish camerawork which includes mesmerizing freeze frames that keep you guessing and on the edge of your seat.
If you can figure out the ending before it happens then you will be among the few! Jordan paces this excellent film so well that it packs a wallop and all along the way he offers little asides that make you laugh and make you identify with the incredible assortment of people he has created and directed,
PS: Turn on the subtitles (English) before you start this film as there are so many varying accents in this melting pot on the Riviera that you may miss some great lines if you depend on your ears!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nick Nolte., 19 Jun 2013
By 
Mr. C. Burghard "Clive Burghard" (England's South Coast.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Good Thief [DVD] (DVD)
As a Nick Nolte Fan, I found this film enjoyable, being set in France was a refreshing change with so many films made only in Hollywood, the different back ground added to the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Film the Good Thief, 3 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Good Thief [DVD] (DVD)
top acting...
Recomend to people that like serious acting.
It would be nice with more films like this.

Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bob Le Flambeur, 15 Jan 2009
This review is from: The Good Thief [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I rented this movie 5 years ago, and i did not enjoy it. Having watched it again last year when i had the flu, i am glad i came down with flu !! After watching this little gem with said flu I realised i did not really appreciate it first time round.

It is a brilliant little heist movie with great cinematography by the famous Chris Menges, and a fine ost by Elliot Goldenthal (M.Mann's- Heat) - The director is using the same team as with 'Michael Collins'. However, the cast lets this movie down. Neil Jordan made a mistake by casting little known actors (apart from Nick Nolte and The English Patient's R.Fiennes); some of them struggle with the English language. Jordan shot this movie in the South of France. Had he located the movie to Las Vegas it would have been a hit. Based in France, with a cast of unkowns it never managed to make it into the Cinemas and went straight onto video. Shame.

The plot is far more intricate than the famous pretty-boy heist movie Oceans 11. This is director Neil Jordan at his great best.
Benny.

PS. Be sure to switch the sub titles on. The "good thief" is, as Bob tells Roger, his antagonist the policeman, "the man hanging on the cross next to Jesus who repented just before his death."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Style and Story, 16 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Good Thief [DVD] (DVD)
Did not expect this to be as good as it was and Nick Nolte was perfect for it. Plot told with great Style. Will make you look for more films from Neil Jordan and Nick Nolte
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars For Neil Jordan fans, 16 Mar 2014
By 
Mrs. G. M. Mitchell "GeminiGen" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Good Thief [DVD] (DVD)
I liked this movie but it is so long I almost just watched half of it. The film is original in the way Neil Jordan's films are original and the music is interesting, Leonard Cohen, Johnny Halliday and U2. One of the heist team changes gender and develops a fear of spiders. I was disappointed with the ending. The good thief was the one who died on the cross with Jesus and also Picasso is referred to as a good thief "because he steals styles from other artists".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I lost the plot., 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Good Thief [DVD] (DVD)
The story is about a heist of sorts. In truth the film did not stay in my mind longer than five minutes. I found the plot convoluted and rather slow witted without much joy or subtlety. Nick Nulty acts as Nick Nulty always does - as he is good value for money I give it 3 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing re-make, 24 May 2013
This review is from: The Good Thief [DVD] (DVD)
This is a largely disappointing re-make of a much better film. [ASIN:B000HEZ7JI Bob Le Flambeur [DVD]]] is a far superior film in almost every way -- better pace; better acting; better story (with a much superior ending) and, not least, much better sound-recording

I have to say that I found much of the photography in Jordan's version gimmicky and intrusive to the flow of the story. The desire for close group head-shots (presumably to emphasise conspiracy) is paricularly claustrophobic and contrived -- as are the juddering scene-completions. The characters lack the integrity and the sense of natural effortless style that characterised the original; instead Jordan's characters have to evidently work hard to establish some sense of personality. Even so several characters are mere ciphers (Philippe/Philippa for one) the "arachnophobic trans-sexual body-builder") and occupy positions of very little of value in the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Classy little Heist movie, 9 Sep 2011
This review is from: The Good Thief [DVD] (DVD)
While just falling short of a classic label The Good Thief is still a nice little film with Nolte on top form as the junkie gambler Bob. The action centres around a heist at a Casino in Monte Carlo as Bob must come up with a plan and also keep a detective with a grudge of his back. While lacking in any real action this movie does provide plenty of thrills as viewers try to figure out Bob's plan. A tidy film and definetely worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars ok, 22 Aug 2011
By 
Mr. N. P. Hayward "Moved2Review" (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Good Thief [DVD] (DVD)
The ending is a bit of a let down and there could have been a better twist, so the films ends without a satisfying conclusion, very gritty a lot of hard drug use as well, but nick nolte is excellent and delivers a fine performance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Good Thief [DVD]
The Good Thief [DVD] by Ralph Fiennes (DVD - 2003)
2.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews