Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kitt's 'big romance' materialises
David Kitt's third album is very easy listening. The lyrics are simple but catchy. The album as a whole is more upbeat than his previous two records, inspired by his new found love. The presence of a band gives a new dimension to Kittser's music but for me it diminishes his strength - his acoustic performance. When god made acoustic guitar music he made David Kitt. He has...
Published on 26 Feb. 2004 by IAN MC MULLAN

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars back to square one?
With two exquisite CDs of melancholic acoustic musings under his belt, Irish singer / songwriter David Kitt has found love and gone all chirpy. His earlier releases had an experimental electronic feel, and by contrast Square One's songs are musically and lyrically conventional, with a definite country feel to several tracks. It is clear from song titles like "Your...
Published on 4 Dec. 2004 by jallanr


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kitt's 'big romance' materialises, 26 Feb. 2004
By 
IAN MC MULLAN (ANTRIM, ANTRIM Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Square 1 (Audio CD)
David Kitt's third album is very easy listening. The lyrics are simple but catchy. The album as a whole is more upbeat than his previous two records, inspired by his new found love. The presence of a band gives a new dimension to Kittser's music but for me it diminishes his strength - his acoustic performance. When god made acoustic guitar music he made David Kitt. He has without doubt the best acoustic set played live anywhere. Before buying this album i would first buy Big Romance which is the best album i have ever heard. Relax and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of my Favourite Albums...but I scratch my head...., 19 July 2011
This review is from: Square 1 (Audio CD)
Why some reviews don't rate this album is beyond me as I think this is David Kitts best album...by far. It is a crying shame that he has not had commercial success across the pond with most of his following being in Ireland and why no one has taken his career and shouted about him from the rooftops has me scratching my head in berwilderment. David Kitt is one o the finest musicians to have come out of Ireland and had he had proper marketing and more pro-active PR he would have gone onto greater and better things.
I hold Mr Kitt in great esteem and would one day like to make it to one of his live gigs...alas...most are in Ireland. 10/10 for David Kitt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars back to square one?, 4 Dec. 2004
This review is from: Square 1 (Audio CD)
With two exquisite CDs of melancholic acoustic musings under his belt, Irish singer / songwriter David Kitt has found love and gone all chirpy. His earlier releases had an experimental electronic feel, and by contrast Square One's songs are musically and lyrically conventional, with a definite country feel to several tracks. It is clear from song titles like "Your Smiling Face" and "Dance With You" that the man is smitten. Unfortunately this seems to have turned his brain, as well as his heart, to mush and much of the album is awash with standard issue love-song clichés. Square One is undeniably easy on the ear and it's hard not to be carried along by the exuberance of songs like "Me and My Love" but it's still something of a disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gliding through life, 29 Mar. 2004
This review is from: Square 1 (Audio CD)
He must have been smiling throughout the writing and recording of this album. I just couldnt imagine not having a beaming smile after listening to this album. I randomly bought his albums without ever hearing his stuff before and I'm so glad I did, just as chuffed as he seems to be with his own life. Glad, happy and content. He must have found love between this and The Big Romance because it clearly shows.
This is just such a happy and nice album, you can't help but want what he's got in terms of happiness.
I'm turning too soppy now!
You should give Nicolai Dunger a go if you like this album especially "Eventide".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Kitt, 31 Aug. 2004
By 
McF (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Square 1 (Audio CD)
Hold the phone, what a great album! Anyone who says that this isn't classic Kitt surely can't be a fan. Smooth, dreamy and totally relaxing throughout; I couldn't find anything to fault. The Big Romance has its moments of genius, including my favourite Kitt track of all time, Step Outside In The Morning Light. But Square 1 keeps you completely absorbed all the way until you reach the exceptional last song Hold Me Close.
Brilliant, what more can I say. BUY IT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars so so beautiful, 27 Jan. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Square 1 (Audio CD)
I defy anyone to listen to this album and not feel their lives have been improved. It's like watching Amelie or Etre et Avoir. It is very hard not to smile and view the world in a nicer light after listening to it. You can hear the happiness in his voice and yet musically it still retains the leftfield slant of his previous albums. House Of Trains has some of the most heart wrenching lyrics in it and Your Smiling Face is a perfect song for those long evenings when your own loved one is away.. and then play it to them when they return to show them how you feel. I keep seeing him compared to Damien Rice and David Grey.. i have yet to work out why apart from being male and playing a guitar he has nothing in common with their souless music. This is soul in the very sense of the word. Perfect. buy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great album!!!!!!!, 22 April 2007
By 
Elliott J. M. Leishman (Brighton, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Square 1 (Audio CD)
i prefer this album to the big romance the other reviews i feel don't do it justice. i have been into david kitt for good 4 maybe 3 years now and own everything he has ever realsed and i have never got bored of playing his stuff and especially this album. it has classic songs on it like tonic, black box walts which is a lovely instrumental and house with trains and hold me close. the album has a very romantic feel to it (as does most of his stuff) it sends you back to a twilight summer with your first love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What is this guy on?, 14 May 2004
This review is from: Square 1 (Audio CD)
I have been a great lover of David Kitt since the early days of him startin out on the scene and I really loved his last two albums.I love his voice and catchy rhythms which can sometime seem almost hypnotic.
All I can say is that Square 1 doesnt even deserve to be turned into an ash tray. This is meandering nonsense,songs that start from nothing,go through a bad patch and get worse.
I was so disappointed when I heard it,total rubbish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars just brilliant, 9 Jan. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Square 1 (Audio CD)
This is just a great album. It's so beautiful and warm and just plain BRILLIANT. Every song has something unique and special. David Kitt just get's better and better. It's such a nice album, gentle and special. I read on his website that it's an album to fall in love and fall in love with. I can't agree more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, but not my 'Big Romance', 19 Dec. 2003
By 
Aaron Coulter (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Square 1 (Audio CD)
David Kitt has the great ability to be a consistent singer/songwriter, as his 3 main albums have shown. Square 1 is a strong mixture of folk music. The only downside is the first track 'I'm in love with a girl'. It is about 30 seconds long and it is not like David Kitt to write such a bland song. Overall, it is a very good cd and is worth buying if you are a fan of David Kitt
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Square 1
Square 1 by David Kitt (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews