Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HERCULES SEASON TWO BOX SET, 27 Jan 2004
By 
Ms. Jennifer Thrale (Newark, Nottinghamshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hercules: Legendary Journeys - Season 2 [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
I have already got Season One of Hercules and it's brilliant Season Two is even better. On the bonus disc they showed you how they filmed the scene where everybody is fighting the skeltons and how the finished scene looked in "ONCE A HERO", which was great. There are also bloopers and outakes, which had me rolling around with laughter, hopefully they'll be more of these included in further sets, fingers crossed. The audio and video comentary given by Kevin while he's watching certain episodes is something I really enjoy watching him do. Also included in the disc is an interview with Robert Tapart, which was interesting to watch, so all in all this is a must for any DVD collection. I have already pre-ordered Season 3 and can't wait to see what goodies are included in this set. What I like about Hercules is that it is so entertaining and for an hour you can forget about everything and escape into this fascinating world of Gods and Monsters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 24 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love these dvd's. watch them all the time. A lot cheaper than i found them else where. Well done Amazon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutly Brilliant, 24 Jun 2004
By 
M. Virgo (Cambridge, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hercules: Legendary Journeys - Season 2 [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
I owned series one and when i found series two just had to get ive loved the show ever since i first saw it. It has everything you could possibly want. Comody, Humour, Adventure, Action, Mythology everything. The actings is fabulous and so are the plot lines and absolute must for anybody who just wants to sit down for and hour and enjoy good fun tv.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Legendary, 13 Nov 2010
I loved watching Hercules the legendary journeys on tv when i was younger, but i always missed out on episodes, so i was ecstatically suprised when i found hercules on amazon for good prices on region 2!! yes i have bought the first season and second - and the covers are all in dutch but it said that on the site and i really don't care - not when i can still watch the whole two seasons in english. i love old programs and heck if i had to learn dutch to watch this i probably would lol everything provided on the site was brilliant and i am planning to keep buying the seasons until i have all of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars tv series, 1 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great adventure it's a pity I can't get the first 6 episodes of season 1. I have season 1 but the first 6 episodes are missing from the box set great tv series
A Wallace
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars hercules season 2, 2 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I chose this rating because it one of most enjoyable seasons so far.it was great
I would recommend this to anyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great boxset at a great price, 7 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm really glad I found this DVD boxset! I loved this series and searched everywhere for a Region 2 version. The only reason it didn't get 5 stars is because the box is in German - you can't get an English Region 2 version anywhere. But the episodes are available in English and the price was excellent. Really fast shipping too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hercules - born of a human mother and God for a father - Zeus ! Good Fantasy TV !, 25 Sep 2011
Hercules the Legendary Journeys Season 2 is HEROIC FANTASY ACTION on a scale rarely seen on TV. Kevin Sorbo fits the part supremely well. The action, the special effects, the humour and the more serious story lines, great stories, great acting, great scenery(New Zealand), all brilliant, and the 'cleavage quota'! Loads of atractive actresses, oh yes and Michael Hurst too ! No really Hurst is the perfect foil to Sorbo. Hurst is a very well respected actor in New Zealand, and should be world wide ! They are both - Sorbo & Hurst brilliant ! And there's guests every episode.

Destruction of Illusions (Gene Roddenberry's "Andromeda")Gene Roddenberry's "Andromeda": Broken PlacesTales of an Ancient Empire ( Abelar: Tales of an Ancient Empire )Paradox (2010) (Blu-Ray)Hercules: Legendary Journeys - Season 6 - Final [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Legendary Journeys continue!, 16 Jan 2007
By 
M. Snabel (Amsterdam, The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hercules: Legendary Journeys - Season 2 [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
The second season of the adventures of everyone's favourite half-god continues in much the same vein and at the same pace as the previous one, with Hercules and Iolaus battling gods, monsters and the occasional warlord in their usual, lighthearted way.

It's also nice to see some (albeit heavily amended) original stories from ancient Greek myth popping up, in episodes such as 'The Apple' and 'The Other Side', as well as some storylines of what would have happened after the original myth ended, like in 'All That Glitters', where we see how King Midas ended up, and 'Once A Hero' with a reunion of the Argonauts as they reprise their quest for the Golden Fleece. And between battles, Hercules also finds the time to invent things like surfing and the Olympian Games.

This season tends to be slighly "lighter" than the first one, going easy on the gore and the dark themes, and providing more broad entertainment for the whole family. Of course, there are still some major ethical lessons to learn, such as tolerance, honesty, trust, and letting go.

Favourite episodes in this season include: 'Mother Of All Monsters', in which Echidna tries to avenge the deaths of her monster children by Hercules' hands, and Hercules is for once the vulnerable one, and 'The Other Side', a particularly poignant episode in which Hercules has to rescue Persephone from the Underworld and is reunited with his late wife and children. Episodes 'The Apple' and especially 'King For A Day' are very special in a way that their star is not Hercules, but Iolaus. Michael Hurst proves here that his 'sidekick' character is capable of carrying an entire episode, which is pretty amazing for a show only in its second season.

The only real drawback about the season 2 episodes is the season finale, 'Cave Of Echoes', in which the series producers apparently ran out of money and in which we have to watch Hercules and Iolaus walking through a cave for almost the entire 45 minutes as they flash back to all the things they did this and last season, which gets quite boring though the actors clearly try to make the most of it.

More regular characters to the Hercules/Xena universe are introduced in this season, beginning with fan favourite Autolycus (the immensely funny and charming Bruce Campbell) in the season opening 'The King of Thieves'. Who we also meet for the first time are the inventor of fastfood drive-by, Falafel, and Hercules and Iolaus' good friend Jason, leader of the Argonauts. Lucy Lawless gets to reprise her role as Lyla the centaur's wife in 'Outcast' (Salmoneus and Hercules make an amusing comment of how she reminds them of someone they know), and Liddy Holloway appears as the third and final Alcmene. We also see more of the gods: Hades, Demeter, Persephone, Artemis, Athena, and of course everyone's favouite goddess Aphrodite, portrayed delightfully by Alexandra Tydings.

Another couple of fan favourites, the late, great Kevin Smith and the lovely Joel Tobeck, make their debuts to the series as Hercules' mortal half-brother Iphicles and King Beraus, respectively. Their better known characters Ares and Strife do not appear until next season, though.

The extras in this set are what almost made me rate this 4 instead of 5 stars, because the commentaries are rather thin on the ground, not as amusing or informative as the previous ones, and there was no Michael Hurst! However, the extra 'surprise' disc made up for that with a long interview with series Daddy Rob Tapert, and a 30-minute blooper reel of the entire series! This was great.

Perhaps not as good as Season 1, Season 2 still contains more than enough fun stuff to keep you entertained for hours on end. Any Herc fan should definitely add it to their collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hercules: Legendary Journeys - Season 2 [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
Used & New from: 5.74
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews