Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An epic journey
Welcome to the new Hybrid.
This is Morning sci-fi, and things have gotten deeper, darker and more sophisticated.
The introduction of frontman vocalist Adam Taylor has helped set a new tone, as have guest appearances by New order bassist Peter Hook, and singer Kirsty Hawkshaw.
All in all, It's easy to tell where Hybrid (Mike Truman & Chris Healings) are...
Published on 5 April 2005

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars it's nothing on wide angle
I waited a long time for this album, and to be fair i was a bit disappointed, these set of songs didn't captivate me the way wide angle's did. There is a noticeable absence here of previously regular vocalist Julee Cruise, a main contributor to their songs. I find the songs on here just aren't as interesting or charismatic as they were on the last album. The melodies on...
Published on 27 Sept. 2003 by K. Taylor


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An epic journey, 5 April 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Morning Sci-Fi (Audio CD)
Welcome to the new Hybrid.
This is Morning sci-fi, and things have gotten deeper, darker and more sophisticated.
The introduction of frontman vocalist Adam Taylor has helped set a new tone, as have guest appearances by New order bassist Peter Hook, and singer Kirsty Hawkshaw.
All in all, It's easy to tell where Hybrid (Mike Truman & Chris Healings) are going. They are maturing musically into a band that can tackle anything and everything they set themselves to do. Morning sci-fi is proof of that...
The album opens with 'Lights go down knives come out' (a hidden track, do a reverse scan from the start of track 01 and you'll find it)
Here, hybrid craft up a deep film score atmosphere to set the tone of the album, the Hermitage string orchestra rise and drop with harsh emotion giving way to a haunting trumpet outro.
Next is 'This is what it means' U.S producer John Creamer mumbles and goes on about his dreams within music, While Hybrid drop a reversed euphoric guitar behind the subdued voice- by now the atmospheric tone has been set, and it's time for Hybrid to explode ...It's time to head 'True to form'...
it's this track that really show's the new face of Hybrid- Dark swooping synths, make way for Adam Taylor's emotional vocal work. As the beats kick in, the noises and sound FX get more intense and along with Peter Hook's stealthy basslines, creating a sound that is driving, gritty and emotionally vivid, and then the strings drop in- and here they are dark, sweeping and very mean, on the whole 'True to form' is a brilliant opener into the world and depths of what Morning sci-fi is all about.
keeping the intensity is 'Know your enemy' probably the toughest track on the album, violent heavy breakbeat pound's away with military precision, making way for deep and moving melodies. the chaotic FX and robotic noises further enhance this track into some futuristic and (very explosive) war zone.
Now it's time for the album to slow down with 'Marrakech' deep downtempo beats accompany the Middle-Eastern inspired noises, heavy guitar pounces and epic sweeping choral sounds, after the breakdown, things get even darker with some very twisted and angry synth lines. Still on the downtempo tip is 'I'm still awake' Adam Taylor returns with a brilliant vocal performance over powerful synth and piano chord progressions. Although Not quite as dark as the previous tracks, it does still however keep that haunting sci-fi-esque atmosphere.
The intense energy returns with 'Visible noise' over deep atmospherics, a pounding house beat get's more complex by the minute as it progresses into a tearing dancefloor monster, after the haunting breakdown the drum's return on the breakbeat tip, as the atmospherics merge into 'we are in control' Hybrid take a backseat ride. whirling guitars and piano create an upbeat and highly energetic atmosphere that would suit an old classic sci-fi theme perfectly. Then things get really dark with an angry robotic vocal, which rumbles over moody synth and guitar lines. the opening guitars return again and maintain that 'Doctor Who' or 'Back to the future' type theme. It's obvious Hybrid wanted to have a very playful song on the album that broke up the intense darkness of the other tracks, and 'We are in control' pulls it off perfectly.
They have had their fun and now the Hybrid boys are getting deep and emotional again with 'Higher than a skyscraper' the Hermitage string orchestra return for a haunting and epic performance alongside Peter Hook's bass work and deep gritty beats, The emotion and intensity of this song reach an unstoppable level as the track hit's it's peak, and then things come back down to earth, leaving the listener breathless.
As the haunting outro fades, the subtle acoustic melodies of 'Steal you away' fade in. Taylor returns again with a mighty performance that works the strings, guitar and atmospherics to great effect, His voice hit's an incredible peak near the end of the song where his sustaining is extraordinary.
the sci-fi vista's of 'Gravastar' make an entrance next, a deep house beat with tribal touches give way to an amazing and complex atmosphere. As the groove get's more intense, outerwordly moans and effected orchestral swoops accompany the twisted melodies.
As the melody lines drop, things slowly get bigger until 'Out of the dark' drops like a bomb. High powered breakbeat rolls along over haunting keyboard lines and moody hushed whispers. as the beats and acid lines drop, Adam Taylor makes his last appearance with an epic performance. Dark sweeping synths drop and rise with his voice until a mindblowing instrumental outro of synths and guitar takes you way... the energy here is fast paced and very huge.
Kirsty Hawkshaw brings the album to a suitable close with the emotional 'Blackout' The Hermitage orchestra entwine with Hawkshaw's deep and sad melodies to create an amazing finale. Her final whisper 'and the light's go out...' ends the album on a truly amazing level.
All in all, Morning sci-fi is an album that is remarkable, creating a deep and haunting twilight journey that is explained in each individual track.
Where as 'Wide angle' was quite extreme in it's scale, Morning sci-fi show's off the new matured Hybrid sound- slower, yet still extreme in places, but in a new form.
Overall it's a piece of music quite unlike anything else, and is one of the most incredible things you will ever hear.
What also makes Morning sci-fi so brilliant is the bonus DVD. It's packed with everything from interviews, True to form and out of the dark live, recording the strings in Russia for Wide Angle, and the awesome feature length Moby/Hybrid tour documentary, there is even a hidden Easter egg (actually a soundtrack version of Higher than a skyscraper)
all in all,
Experience Morning sci-fi.
you'll never look at music the same way again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good morning..., 29 Jun. 2005
This review is from: Morning Sci-Fi (Audio CD)
Hybrid, the Wales based electronic duo, strive to surpass their groundbreaking 1999 release Wide Angle, with Morning Sci-Fi, and in so doing, they ultimately shatter the bar instead of merely clearing it. Hybrid has become famous in the electronic community for their skillful and lush atmosphere and sweeping cinematic orchestrations, all smoothed over solid breakbeats. They continue this formula with renewed vigor, adding layer upon layer of the thick stuff, whilst drawing in various collaborators to add depth and in some way, sonic clarity. Hybrid is so thick with sound and beautiful and massive arrangements- for which the word epic doesn't begin to cover- that the appearance of organic instruments and heartbreakingly vulnerable vocals makes this record entirely human. What results is, for lack of a better word, a sonic journey. The tracks flow like a DJ set, woven together by reverbs and sound effects, giving the slight feeling (as the songs fade in and assemble for the listener) that the tunes are being manually dragged from distant corners of the universe. An impressive effort, and one that belongs in the collection of any electronic/downtempo, and even classical enthusiast. In addition, the bonus dvd included in this edition, while seemingly short, is of a good relative length when one considers that the package is sold for barely over the normal admission price. A solid purchase overall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What's the story, Morning Sci-Fi...?, 20 Sept. 2003
This review is from: Morning Sci-Fi (Audio CD)
Well, i had high expectations. After their phenomenal debut album 'Wide angle' and a wealth of fantastic remixes and productions, i have been counting down the days until the release of this, the second LP from Swansea boys Mike Truman and Chris Healings. Their music is unique, a groundbreaking fusion of wall-shaking beats-and-breaks, sublime vocals and powerful symphonic string elements, which provides a work-out for your sound-system as well as your ears. So how does this album shape up? Well, from the moment you press play, it doesn't disappoint.
The twisted, vocal intro of 'This Is What's It's About' leads a darker edge to the proceedings. You know from the first few moments that this album is different beast entirely to 'Wide Angle'. The second track, 'True To Form', showcases both the vocals of new frontman Adam Taylor and the formidible bass skills of the legendary Peter Hook of New Order. The next few tracks continue to expand, highlights for me include the rapid double-bass kick of 'Visible Noise', The creepy soundscape of 'Gravastar' and the balls-out intensity of 'Higher Than a Skyscraper', the culmonation of Hooky's basslines, classic Hybrid breaky madness, and the epic scope of The Hermitage String Orchestra of St Petersburg, all of which results in a sound that is more than the sum of it's parts, virtually impossible for me to convey in mere words, and a delight for lovers of 'Wide Angle's orchestral gems. A special mention must go out to the penultimate track, 'Out of the Dark'. I won't try to explain this for newcomers to the Hybrid sound... but for those who know what i mean, this is this album's 'If I Survive'...!
I was only unimpressed by the track 'We Are In Control', which seemed both a little tacky and didn't have the sort of quality melody i have come to expect from a Hybrid production. all in all, though, this is an excellent album, which will merit many repeat plays. The quirky, B-moviesque sci-fi sound effects make for a characterful record, and the new additions to the group will not disappoint. Although i would not rate this as highly as the first album, i think repeat plays and time to grow to love this second venture will add to it's impact. Add in to the package a superb bonus DVD with live footage and exclusive remixes of tracks, and there is little reason why this album does not deserve a place in your collection. If you Haven't heard Hybrid's sound before, you could do a lot worse than take a chance on this. If you're already a fan, well, you'll already be in the process of getting this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Incredible Re-Imagining, 21 Jan. 2004
By 
Kesh (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Morning Sci-Fi (Audio CD)
For me, the vast majority of 2003 will be remembered as a shocker in terms of dance music. Nothing of any substantial quality was released - except for Hybrid's Morning Sci-Fi, and Lamb's Between Darkness and Wonder.
The signature stamp on Hybrid's previous offering was the string arrangement; a faultless, beautiful marriage of classical and contemporary, it was a bolt of lightning in a trance scene which already showed signs of faltering. Morning Sci-Fi is nothing like its predecessor, and it doesn't need to be. Hybrid have transcended the idea of piling strings into everything, which, in my opinion, would have forever cast them as 'that gimmicky band with the strings'. But no sir, they weren't going down that route.
The whole album has the darkness and brooding of Massive Attack's Mezzanine, but where the Massive tend to plod along at an eerily slow pace, Hybrid menacingly build their music from achingly slow to blisteringly energetic. Every track serves as a lesson to those who wish to write music people will take notice to. What I was blindsided by was how much the CD made me sit up and listen to what was going on. The layers are simple enough - strings, bass, vocals and guitar - but they form a seething mass of music which grabs you by the throat and won't let go.
True To Form introduces the vocal effort of Adam Taylor, a major plus on the long-player. Taylor captures the quiet desperation which seems to be woven into the fabric of this music, and gives it a haunting voice. The instrumental tracks cope magnificently without him, however, and yield the high-point of the album - We Are In Control - a six minute cacophony of disco beats and robotic voices that makes your ears bleed.
If you are looking for the old Hybrid, I'm afraid they are no more. But a band which could so easily have succumbed to the string gimmick have re-imagined themselves in the most incredible way possible. And Morning Sci-Fi is the proof.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars it's nothing on wide angle, 27 Sept. 2003
By 
K. Taylor (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Morning Sci-Fi (Audio CD)
I waited a long time for this album, and to be fair i was a bit disappointed, these set of songs didn't captivate me the way wide angle's did. There is a noticeable absence here of previously regular vocalist Julee Cruise, a main contributor to their songs. I find the songs on here just aren't as interesting or charismatic as they were on the last album. The melodies on "I'm still awake" just don't work musically for me, i'm afraid. That track and true to form are both vocally orientated songs which i feel just don't grip me enough. I just press skip from now on.
I'm not saying this is a bad album, there are some great tracks on here.. for me they only start on track 7- we are in control.. a wonderfully anthemic slice of punchy breaks.. that's what hybrids all about. "Out of the dark" is explosive, and i'nm also keen on "steal you away"..
Overall though, this album isn't a patch on wide angle.. First time hybrid listeners buy that instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another innovative outing from hybrid, 18 Sept. 2003
By 
Mr. Harvey T. K. Koh (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Morning Sci-Fi (Audio CD)
I had been looking forward to this album for some weeks and it has not disappointed! Hybrid have moved on from their sound on Wider Angle: this is a lot more grown-up and self-assured stuff. And very well done.
A lot of people will have heard the Peter Hook single already ("True To Form") and that's a pretty good introduction to the rest of the album. Solid break grooves, a unique sonic character and of course faultless production run through this album, from the exotic transport of "Marrakech" to the quirky progressions of "We Are In Control". And if you liked the lush orchestral passages of old stuff like Finished Symphony, don't worry: they kept the Russian orchestra so there's moody strings a-plenty!
The mood is definitely darker and mellower than on Wider Angle, and I guess this is a combination of Hybrid getting more self-assured and more "serious," in addition to obviously taking a no-brainer reading of dance music zeitgeist! One certainly does get the impression that they were thinking a lot more about what would be interesting and fun to do this time around, rather than what obvious crowd-pleasing hooks need to go in to sell in the mainstream. And it works a treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbeatable, 8 Jun. 2006
This review is from: Morning Sci-Fi (Audio CD)
Morning Sci-Fi is quite simply the most emotive, powerful, multi-layered musical joyride I have ever heard. Many electronic albums - Orbital, Underworld's first two albums, Sasha's GU series, have glimpses of pathos and wonder that four piece rock bands would not even dream about, yet none produce these feelings with such thrilling regulatory as Hybrid do on this, their second album. In fact the only thing that comes remotely close is Hybrid's debut, Wide Angle.

Roll on the new album lads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Different direction, attention to detail still there, 28 May 2004
This review is from: Morning Sci-Fi (Audio CD)
This album takes time to grow if you're a fan of Wide Angle but oh boy is it worth it. A definite moving on, sounding more like "Remix And Additional Production By..." than Wider Angle.
The sound they achieved in production might be described as less shiny but this is a good thing. This sounds more solid. Sorry I can't describe it any other way.
Not quite so many thundering tracks but it has some, in the form of Out Of The Dark and Gravastar. The trademark strings are also here but they're more subtle. The vocals are actually really really well judged too, no glitches to be found (unlike on If I Survive).
Groups have to move on and Hybrid have. This only increases my respect for them as they've done something different and pulled it off again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Morning Glory, 31 Oct. 2003
By 
Mr. Abbas Rana "abbas_rana" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Morning Sci-Fi (Audio CD)
There are scores of dance artists out there, how do you decide which of them are genuinely good and which aren't? Dedicated dance fans will have far too many albums to probably appreciate them all and some will have been purchased through cross-references, name-dropping and because the artist was cool at the time. Unfortunately, Hybrid's first album 'Wide Angle' will be one of these albums and that is a great shame. The record is immaculately produced and the sounds are originally-tweaked and finely-tuned as you would get on a Leftfield or early Prodigy record. Do yourself a favour, brush out your copy and give it a listen and get a copy of this follow-up 'Morning Sci-Fi' because Hybrid continue to please.
Peter Hook appears on 'True to Form' and the irrepressible New Order bass sound sits comfortably over slow-burning vocals and pleasant (if mediocre) beats. The released singles 'Know Your Enemy' and 'Visible Noise' are on the album too and the latter is a no nonsense dance track full of clean and purified beats. Hybrid get all Eastern on 'Marrakesh' where Arabic sounds are drawn out over deep basslines. Yet the album gets even better with 'I'm Still Awake' where moody vocals are laced over wonderfully haunting sounds and it's track like these which distinguish Hybrid from other dance acts out there.
Things get catchier on track seven, 'We Are In Control' and there's even time for a twanging guitar here. The characteristic Hybrid strings return on the gorgeous 'Gravastar' and the glorious sounding 'Higher Than A Skyscraper'. This is really good stuff and if you miss the perfection and high-quality production of Leftfield then Hybrid are an ideal substitution though they are more melodic and less dark. 'Black Out' is the last track and the only one with female vocals. It's a relative disapointment in an album which is a strong follow-up record. Hybrid don't really do media but that doesn't mean that their music isn't accessible. One of the dance records of the year no doubt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the wait!, 18 Nov. 2003
This review is from: Morning Sci-Fi (Audio CD)
Ignore the reviews that slate this album for being unimaginative. It is definitely not unimaginative, it is different. If it were a carbon copy of Wide Angle what would be the point? This is darker, harder and has more of a break beat feel than Wide Angle. Hybrid are progressing and I find that this album gets better and better with repeat listening. "Gravastar" and "Out of the Dark" are stand-out tracks for me. If you like Adam Freeland and Tipper the latter 7 tracks are more in this style. Hybrid still have that beautifully polished sound, and this album needs to be listened to loud. Had the hairs on the back of my neck standing up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Morning Sci-Fi
Morning Sci-Fi by Hybrid (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews