Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Two classic albums from 1969
Peggy mixes contemporary material with older songs on these two album, but whatever she sings, she does it her way brilliantly.
The first album, Natural woman, contains covers of All of a sudden my heart sings (Kathryn Grayson - from the movie Anchors aweigh), Don't smoke in bed (Billie Holiday), Can I change my mind (Tyrone Davis), Dock of the bay (Otis Redding),...
Published on 3 May 2005 by Peter Durward Harris

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A complete change of tempo
I bought it to get the song 'is that all there is'. Sadly the remainder of the recording is not what I expected
Published 13 months ago by J. Cameron


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Two classic albums from 1969, 3 May 2005
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: A Natural Woman/Is That All There Is? (Audio CD)
Peggy mixes contemporary material with older songs on these two album, but whatever she sings, she does it her way brilliantly.
The first album, Natural woman, contains covers of All of a sudden my heart sings (Kathryn Grayson - from the movie Anchors aweigh), Don't smoke in bed (Billie Holiday), Can I change my mind (Tyrone Davis), Dock of the bay (Otis Redding), You make me feel like a natural woman (Aretha Franklin), Everyday people (Sly and the family Stone), Please send me someone to love (Percy Mayfield), Spinning wheel (Blood sweat and tears) and I think it's gonna rain today (Randy Newman). May of these are classic songs but Peggy's often-different interpretations bring a freshness to them.
Peggy also contributed a song of her own, Lean on me, which you must not confuse with the famous Bill Withers song of the same title. The only other song here, Living is dying without you, is also excellent though I'm not sure who first recorded it.
The second album, Is that all there is, yielded an unexpected American hit for Peggy. It deserved to be a big hit, of course, but Peggy had long since ceased to be a major force on the singles charts so this one came as a huge surprise. Maybe the song connected with the young people of the day in a way that Peggy's other singles didn't.
Possibly the success of the single created pressure for a quick album release - if so, this would explain the inclusion of songs that Peggy had recorded previously, such as I'm a woman, Something stupid and Don't smoke in bed, though at least some of them are re-recordings. Nevertheless, this is also a fine album. It includes covers of Love story (Randy Newman), Me and my shadow (Whispering Jack Smith), My old flame (Guy Lombardo), Brother love's travelling salvation show (Neil Diamond), Something (George Harrison) and Johnny (a gender-adapted version of the Randy Newman song, Linda).
While these are not the strongest albums ever recorded by Peggy Lee, they are both of an extremely high quality. Collecting all of Peggy's albums can be an expensive business assuming you can actually find them all, but this twofer is well worth the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Don't explain, 9 Dec. 2014
By 
GlynLuke (York UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Natural Woman/Is That All There Is? (Audio CD)
Peggy Lee was always her own woman, as well being one of the most compelling popular singers of the twentieth century, with a smoky voice and a sassy way with a lyric that was all her own.
These two Capitol LPs from 1969 on one 76-minute disc contain twenty-five tracks in a style that mixes a thoroughly modern sensibility - on songs like Tyrone Davis's very fine soul hit Baby Can I Change My Mind, the Blood Sweat & Tears number Spinning Wheel, Randy Newman's Love Story and his now much-covered I Think It's Gonna Rain Today, Something and Somethin' Stupid - and the occasional standard such as Me and My Shadow, Don't Smoke in Bed, and Billie Holiday's Don't Explain.
Even Otis Redding's Dock of the Bay sounds authentic, such is Lee's sheer class and commitment to her material.
The title track of the first of the two LPs suits her down to the ground, since a Natural Woman is exactly what Peggy was, while the astonishing Is That All There Is must by now count as a classic.
Peggy Lee had a disarming way with a song, sounding both vulnerable and intensely 'feminine', as well as nobody's fool, that foggy-day voice seductive and sometimes world-weary, softly saucy, both girlish and fiercely a woman. She even sings Leiber & Stoller's terrific song I'm a Woman, to superb effect.
An unusual Peggy Lee collection, but as essential as almost anything this great lady recorded.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!, 2 Feb. 2004
This review is from: A Natural Woman/Is That All There Is? (Audio CD)
Kinda jazzy, very sassy, everyone should have a copy of this - be it to listen to in the car or in the home. You'll sing along, and so will everyone around you too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another side of Peggy, 21 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Natural Woman/Is That All There Is? (Audio CD)
While I enjoyed much of this CD of Peggy Lee's work I felt that a more morose side of this singer was highlighted. It was however interesting to hear some lesser known songs. The sound quality was good and I feel that I know a little more of Peggy Lee's repertoire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Natural Woman That All Their is, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Natural Woman/Is That All There Is? (Audio CD)
A good album of Peggy Lee's Hits and not so big hits. Her version of Sitting On The Dock Of The Bay, good and other songs sung by different artists Peggy Lee makes pleasurable tolisten to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars nostalga, 2 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Natural Woman/Is That All There Is? (Audio CD)
just what i expected and a welcome edition to my love of music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Peggy Lee, 13 Mar. 2014
By 
B. Harper (Brian) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Natural Woman/Is That All There Is? (Audio CD)
What a wonderful singer!Great songs to listen to.The song "That All There Is?" is a wonderful reditioning by Peggy Lee
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 6 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Natural Woman/Is That All There Is? (Audio CD)
Quality CD. Very good price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A complete change of tempo, 1 April 2014
By 
J. Cameron "James Cameron" (Belfast Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Natural Woman/Is That All There Is? (Audio CD)
I bought it to get the song 'is that all there is'. Sadly the remainder of the recording is not what I expected
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars excellentie, 17 Feb. 2004
This review is from: A Natural Woman/Is That All There Is? (Audio CD)
Before the world gets strung out on cool. And the world thinks that Nora Jones Just turned up a century ago.Just think And listen cause people have been singing like this for some time, not always in places you might think to look. I first heard peggy lee in AfTER HOURS and after that became a fan, so hearing this for the first time I hope you listen and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Natural Woman/Is That All There Is?
A Natural Woman/Is That All There Is? by Peggy Lee (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews