Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Argent live
I bought this album when it was first released and the album is completely worn out with use and i am planning to buy it in cd form to recapture memories and to enjoy these tracks again. It was the band that got me interested in live music with this album.
Published on 27 Mar 2006 by Jean Gilbert Babagee

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Progressive technoflash - has its moments.
A stop gap album following the departure of guitarist and the bands most commercially orientated member Russ Ballard,ENCORE suffers more from the technological restraints of the period rather than any musical shortcomings. Featuring all of the groups classic tunes, the album veers from progressive technoflash to hard driving rock'n'roll in one exhilarating swoop, but its...
Published on 29 Nov 2000 by lyndon@noon91.freeserve.co.uk


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Argent live, 27 Mar 2006
This review is from: Encore (Audio CD)
I bought this album when it was first released and the album is completely worn out with use and i am planning to buy it in cd form to recapture memories and to enjoy these tracks again. It was the band that got me interested in live music with this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On stage LIVE, 7 Dec 2006
By 
G. G. Saunders "Rock Dr." (West Sussex .UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Encore (Audio CD)
Argent were one of those bands that made good albums that sold always better abroad than over here UK, along with TYA they were constantly on the road, this has captured them at the height of there game. and I for one remember seein em live in the early 70`s and the sold out tours just say it all! this is hard rock,prog rock and dam fine rock. A great introduction to Argent!If you are feeling curious check out,Russ Ballards solo work ,He always hits the spot!To think he wrote `god gave rock and roll to you`, since you`ve been gone`..slightly overlooked I`d say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Progressive technoflash - has its moments., 29 Nov 2000
This review is from: ENCORE-LIVE IN CONCERT (Audio CD)
A stop gap album following the departure of guitarist and the bands most commercially orientated member Russ Ballard,ENCORE suffers more from the technological restraints of the period rather than any musical shortcomings. Featuring all of the groups classic tunes, the album veers from progressive technoflash to hard driving rock'n'roll in one exhilarating swoop, but its very diversity eventually sowed the seeds of the bands demise. Argent were one of the seventies most original and underated acts, displaying musical sensibilites far beyond the grasp of their peers. As a live attraction they were simply awesome and although this recording has its moments it doesn't really capture the vocal and instrumetal subtleties for which they were renowned. Great for completists, but for newcomers to the band may I recommend the mystical beauty RING OF HANDS as a starting point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Live Album I Own!, 1 July 2009
By 
Joy Andis "Angel Joy" (Ware, UK and Sedona AZ) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Encore (Audio CD)
Never having had the chance to see Argent 'live', acquiring this album was the next best thing. It is a treat to hear the extended version of "Hold Your Head Up" with all the many and varied riffs in the organ solo.
Everyone seems to be in top form here, not missing a beat, or note.
Even though never recorded by Argent, the song "I Don't Believe in Miracles" which Russ wrote and was recorded by Colin Blunstone is performed here, making it extra special.

All the songs that are included here comprise a live rendition of a 'best of'of Argent's musical legacy. What many people may not realize, unless they were there, was how much hype, and over the top exposure some lesser deserving artists recieved in this time. What Argent proved, is that one didn't need a gimmick to have a high quality band, and the end result in a decade that prized the hype and gimmicktry was a lack of deserved appreciation.
Because many of these recordings have stood the test of time, they have been lovingly remastered and re-released, and so many younger people now have a chance to hear this, for the first time. I for one was not dissapointed then, and I am sure the younger fans are not dissapointed now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Live Album, 14 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Encore (Audio CD)
I really didn't know Argent very well prior to buying this apart from the two big UK hit singles. This album though has been a revelation. It is superb. Why I or my friends weren't listening to this band back in the Seventies I cannot imagine. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 14 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Encore (Audio CD)
A classic Progressive Rock album. A very underated live album. Deserves to have been a lot more successful than it was. Have a listen and see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I was THERE !!!, 30 Dec 2011
Bought the singles, all the albums and then saw them live on their farewell "ENCORE" tour (I was just old enough to get entrance to the Swansea Top Rank Club).

The album is a fantastic and accurate recording of a great live act.
Seriously under rated at the time.
Saw them recently in Royal Leamington Spa - THEY'VE STILL GOT IT !!!

Great compilation of their repertoire in the best environment ie LIVE !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Remastered, 6 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Encore (Audio CD)
Love this live concert,i used to have the LP and eagerly popped in the CD to listen.Unfortunately not great quality, sounds just like the vinyl dont expect to much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 32 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unexceptionally mediocre, 18 July 2004
By 
Gavin Wilson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Encore (Audio CD)
As evidenced by this album, Argent were a sort of poor man's ELP, with a little more electric guitar and substantially more vocal harmonies. The trouble is that they were primarily a studio band. This album -- a double live LP -- was given mediocre reviews even on its initial release. The sound quality has not improved with the transfer to CD. The drums sound particularly tinny. Even though Argent are playing to a home crowd on many of the tracks -- at the City Hall, St Albans -- there seems to be little or no interplay with the audience. I can remember that venue staging wrestling tournaments that were more exciting -- although there was probably slightly more improvisation in an Argent concert.
If you want a much better live album, which is far better recorded, with much better drumming, get ELP's WELCOME BACK MY FRIENDS, which was recorded around the same era.
The only good reason for getting this album is because Argent's IN DEEP album has been deleted. That contains the studio versions of 'It's Only Money' parts 1 and 2, which are infinitely superior. They are both good tunes. Unfortunately you also get 'God Gave Rock and Roll to You', which has always sounded ponderous to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Encore
Encore by Argent (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews